We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to eat injera (Ethiopian food)”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Viva Afrika

Viva Afrika
Reserve with
Viva Afrika is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #262 of 1,000 Restaurants in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Oude Westen
NL
Level Contributor
71 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great place to eat injera (Ethiopian food)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

I like to come here when I'm missing Ethiopian food and the injera, the spicy sauces and vegetables. The family from the north loves it because its so different.
Its an informal place, simple decor, nice people and great value for money.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank underwatergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    34
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great culinary experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

Hubby an I went to this place after stumbling across it on the Internet. As much as the pictures of the various dishes teased us we were not prepared for the amazing taste this would turn out to be. It was probably one of the best place we have eaten in by miles for months. The decor is bright and joyful, the waiters are friendly and the food is just so great. We were visiting Rotterdam and will keep this place in our radar each time we visit back. Highly recommend a visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cater M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“just great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

Great food. Not too expensive.
Very kind service. Very nice atmosphere.
Africa should be like this, one beautiful day.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank bLueDinosaurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow
Level Contributor
102 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Typical African restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

Great African food various stews eaten with traditional African bread NOT cutlery. Good list of african Mongozo beers which you can drink out of coconut shells. Service is friendly & helpful for those not familar with African food.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnClementHarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
81 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food non existent service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

Interesting cusine but poor service. You need to go to waiters to ask for service.
I was at the nieuwe binnenweg outlet.
It was also empty on a friday night. If you looking for a place to talk and african cusine and not bothered by poor service, this could be the place.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeslieNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Viva Afrika also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Viva Afrika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing