We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Viva Afrika

Viva Afrika
Reserve with
Viva Afrika is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #263 of 999 Restaurants in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Oude Westen
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

I was visiting the restaurant with my friends.
Very good food combined with the African atmosphere was something that I was looking for. We were not waiting long before getting a menu. Service was very good and our food arrived quickly. It was served on a big plate, mixed meat was hot and spicy. You eat with your hands so it was important to clean our hands before - small cleaning tissues were supplied as well!

If someone wants to spend nice evening in a good atmosphere and traditional African food this is definitely a place to visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank skolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    34
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scudman
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Now I know how Haile Gebrselassie gets his energy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

This was my first time eating Ethiopian food. I was very impressed with the quality and taste of the food and the service was friendly. The Enjera was delicious. It was a perfect nutritious meal to eat two days before the Rotterdam Marathon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scudman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NL
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great place to eat injera (Ethiopian food)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

I like to come here when I'm missing Ethiopian food and the injera, the spicy sauces and vegetables. The family from the north loves it because its so different.
Its an informal place, simple decor, nice people and great value for money.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank underwatergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great culinary experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

Hubby an I went to this place after stumbling across it on the Internet. As much as the pictures of the various dishes teased us we were not prepared for the amazing taste this would turn out to be. It was probably one of the best place we have eaten in by miles for months. The decor is bright and joyful, the waiters are friendly and the food is just so great. We were visiting Rotterdam and will keep this place in our radar each time we visit back. Highly recommend a visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cater M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“just great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

Great food. Not too expensive.
Very kind service. Very nice atmosphere.
Africa should be like this, one beautiful day.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank bLueDinosaurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Viva Afrika also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Viva Afrika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing