We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room of my dreams”
Review of Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel New York
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Loved thia fantastic converted hotel, it was charming and I had a great room - 207. It was huge, came with a real fireplace and a separate living area. Bathroom was starkly white, but again, plently of space. I would definately come back again, the only dilemma would be if I were to try another room or back to 207.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karamelcoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,258)
There are newer reviews for Hotel New York
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

413 - 419 of 1,258 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stayed here for a few nights. Hotel New York seems to be the former cruise /port terminal of the "Holland America Line" cruise comapny.
We loved the property: old, stylish and classy and we loved the location... overlooking the river with all its activity.
Rooms were nice and large enough. Complete with all the amenities you may expect in such a hotel. Breakfast was good and so were the High Tea and dinner we had in the restaurant downstairs. Always very busy in the restaurant and better to reserve a table even though you are a hotel guest. It is a quiet popular restaurant also for non-hotel guests! Prices are normal/average for dutch standards.
Around the building you will find a few other establishments to chill, or have lunch and/or dinner or just for a drink!

There is a water taxi stop just in front of the hotel, which brings you in no-time to the other side of Rotterdam, let's call that city center for only 8 Euros (I think it was) per person/ow. But no problems with traffic jams and it was good fun! Location of the hotel is still rotterdam Center but no shops in the neighberhood, but therefore you just take the water taxi.
It was great to be in this hotel.

Recommended: holiday makers, buss. travelers, families, groups, disable guests etc. etc.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank DACHALADACHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Wonderful building in great location. The Hotel New York is definitely something special. The room was individual and it was just a pleasure to walk up the metal staircase each day (there is a lift BTW!). Very atmospheric. We loved it.

There are (nearly) always some negatives and the weakness at the New York was that although the restaurant space is fantastic, the food fails to match up. Perhaps our expectations were too high.

The overall experience was an extremely positive one - topped off by being excellent value for money. If we are ever in Rotterdam again, we will definitely come back! No question about that.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tagesthemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Unique hotel. Lots of history. Certainly not boring. Rooms have the wow factor. Amazing building.
Stayed in room 113. Very big room, with massive windows overlooking the water.
Would recommend .

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank read_review_first
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We stayed here for a short trip. The hotel is very nice, excellent breakfast, good restaurant, nice views over the city and river. Take a taxi boat to go to the center. It is cheap and funny. Staff is a bit young and not that allert, but overall friendly. Rooms are great! Take the corner ones. The views are amazing!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris_Utrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Nicely restored with a flair for historical touches. Clean room with comfortable beds. Within walking distance of some restaurants or catch local transportation into center of city. Good location which is proably nice with good weather.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaineiacGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

I would have to Been in this place in it's heyday, it oozes class and comfort from days gone by. I will say two things the place and rooms are a adventure in itself which is good. Trying to get to a friends room I felt like I was in fort boyard up and down steps, ducking and weaving..... Found it...
The breakfast was good but I was not impressed with my dinner (steak and scrimp) but to their defense I was told afterwards they are know for their fish... We then went for desert in Humpfreys down the street. The hotel is great, I can highly recommend it

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silentshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
nhow Rotterdam
#6 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,578 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#4 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,225 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cool
Hilton Rotterdam
Hilton Rotterdam
#3 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,342 reviews
SS Rotterdam
#9 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,883 reviews
Suite Hotel Pincoffs
#1 of 52 in Rotterdam
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New York

Address: Koninginnenhoofd 1, 3072 AD Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rotterdam
#4 Business Hotel in Rotterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Rotterdam
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rotterdam
#9 Green Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range: £91 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel New York is located in the beautiful former headquarters of the Holland America Line, situated on the banks of the river Maas in Rotterdam in The Netherlands.A visit to Hotel New York is both a journey into the past and into the future. The nostalgic building symbolizes the departure of many emigrants with hope and tension of their new homeland.The agitated history is still touchable in the building: many pictures and suitcases of the emigrants, as well as the 6 former board rooms are keeping the history alive.Hotel New York has 72 exceptional hotel rooms, 7 unique halls and meeting rooms. The ground floor features a large café-restaurant, where 400 guests can enjoy an extensive or simple a-la-carte meal in any price category from early in the morning until late at night. High ceilings, colourful lights, sturdy nautical elements and robust tubes and pillars provide a maritime and industrial atmosphere, where everyone feels at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Hotel
New York Rotterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing