We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't look any further. It ain't gonna be much better in The Netherlands!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel New York
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Oegstgeest, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
109 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Don't look any further. It ain't gonna be much better in The Netherlands!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We knew the restaurant, but never stayed in the hotel. We can recommend it to anyone. The rooms are good, the atmosphere is great, the staff is nice, breakfast and restaurant are good and the location is superb. Visit the museum district by boat taxi, walk to Katendrecht and the SS Rotterdam over the new walking bridge. This is the best place and location for any visit to Rotterdam. Out of the city (shopping) center, in the heart of the new cultural district, so you are prevented from spoiling hours with unattended shopping. Instead you are in the middle of cultural events and institutions. For families: the hotel doesn't have connecting rooms, but the family rooms with two double beds are very appropriate for a family of four. Don't miss this when you visit The Netherlands!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Theo1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    620
    400
    57
    25
    6
See reviews for
164
504
27
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

We enjoyed our stay in the restaurant and hotel until we tried to order a bottle of wine in our room. We were denied room service, as per the hotels policy we were not allowed to have other hotel guests over in our room. We understand the hotel wants to prevent loud room parties at night, however, it should have been clear to the staff that we just wanted to have a quiet last drink after the hotel bar had closed (at 1am, quite early in my opinion). When trying to explain our situation we were baffled by the extremely rude response of the staff, who told us to " listen and shut up". Very bad service, even for Dutch standards.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anonymous189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham
Level Contributor
92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Highly recommended to anyone staying in Rotterdam, its like sleeping and eating in a museum but with the most fab rooms! All decorated to a high and unusual standard, extremely comfortable and the restaurant is great for food and service, no need to go anywhere else!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorisandthehoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

Beautiful location, Beautiful building. Very friendly and professional staff. My room was amazing, with the best view to the river. Facilities as restaurant, bar, shops are beautiful decorated. Perfect combination between marine, navy style and modern design.

Room Tip: River view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank titina13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

Stayed at the hotel for two nights. Loved the old elements they kept throughout the building. They have a huge restaurant area. Room was well furnished, bit dark with sparse or not very bright lighting and no view. But that did not matter as it was foggy as hell anyway. Other more expensive rooms of my colleagues were apparentely very large. Liked the place and would definitely recommend for private stay as well. Not cheap, but because of the history of the place, it is indeed a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giggi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
477 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

Hotel New York is one of my favourite places to eat and drink something. I guess you either love or hate this place that is always buzzling with people. Personally I must say that I likevthe ambiance, the (new) bar area, the shops, the barber shop, and most of all... the seafood! The year the euro was introduced, we had dinner here with a group of friends on new year's eve and we still have good memories of that night. We have stayed here on several occassions and the rooms are great. In the summer, the waterfront terrace and outside bar are great. The location is superb. The service in the restaurant... ranging from good to bad. The waiters and waitresses are always students. Last week Sunday we had brunch and one order only came when one of us had already finished. The only reason for me not to give an Excellent scoring.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeKokkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

Due to a business congress, I have spent 3 nights in this fantastic hotel. Really great atmosphere as the hotel was the former headquarters a shipping company. The atmosphere is created by combining both old elements (miniature ships and memorabilia) with modern comfort. The rooms are small but very trendy. Sleep quality is one of the best I have ever experienced

If you go to Rotterdam and like a hotel near the river that is truly reminding you to the old time shipping habbits, this is the hotel for you.

A real gem in Rotterdam!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FCWaregem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
nhow Rotterdam
#8 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#4 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Suite Hotel Pincoffs
#1 of 52 in Rotterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
SS Rotterdam
#10 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
Cool
Hilton Rotterdam
Hilton Rotterdam
#3 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New York

Property: Hotel New York
Address: Koninginnenhoofd 1, 3072 AD Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rotterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Rotterdam
#4 Business Hotel in Rotterdam
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rotterdam
#9 Green Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel New York is located in the beautiful former headquarters of the Holland America Line, situated on the banks of the river Maas in Rotterdam in The Netherlands.A visit to Hotel New York is both a journey into the past and into the future. The nostalgic building symbolizes the departure of many emigrants with hope and tension of their new homeland.The agitated history is still touchable in the building: many pictures and suitcases of the emigrants, as well as the 6 former board rooms are keeping the history alive.Hotel New York has 72 exceptional hotel rooms, 7 unique halls and meeting rooms. The ground floor features a large café-restaurant, where 400 guests can enjoy an extensive or simple a-la-carte meal in any price category from early in the morning until late at night. High ceilings, colourful lights, sturdy nautical elements and robust tubes and pillars provide a maritime and industrial atmosphere, where everyone feels at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Hotel
New York Rotterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing