We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel”
Review of Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel New York
Ranked #6 of 55 Hotels in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Love the atmosphere and surroundings. The beds are super! (I would like to have myself) In the summer you can sit at the terras with view on the waterside. Breakfast buffet is good but too expensive. It's nice to do the afternoon tea (you won't need dinner afterwards). Good choice of food which can be ordered from noon until late in the evening. Can recommend to take the watertaxi to the other side ore Leuvenhaven.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CosmoTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

426 - 432 of 1,351 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2012

The hotel looks out from the pencil of a brilliant designer. The atmosphere really reminds one of the passengers' stations of the ports at the beginning of the century. The rooms (mine was superior type) are very large, maybe a little dark. Furnishings are all inspired to passengers' baggage. Bed is fabulous. Bathrooms could be more modern and comfortable as they. There is no minibar and you must use the room service. Prices are to high for the services provided (160 Euro per night with breakfast). The restaurant is really great. The hotel is positioned far away from anything.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anselmodapadova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Booked the hotel two months in advance and asked one question which had to be confirmed in order for the booking to be ok. No problem, so I booked. Upon arrival the staff tells me - after completing the check in - sorry, your request can not be fulfilled.

I have a simple policy for that: there is no chance of a rating above poor, no matter how good the rest of the stay is.

The rest of the stay was quite ok, by the way, but no more than that. Rooms are a bit small, bathroom could be better and the restaurant on the ground floor is quite noisy.

I will not go back to this place ever again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Havedone7continents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We knew the restaurant, but never stayed in the hotel. We can recommend it to anyone. The rooms are good, the atmosphere is great, the staff is nice, breakfast and restaurant are good and the location is superb. Visit the museum district by boat taxi, walk to Katendrecht and the SS Rotterdam over the new walking bridge. This is the best place and location for any visit to Rotterdam. Out of the city (shopping) center, in the heart of the new cultural district, so you are prevented from spoiling hours with unattended shopping. Instead you are in the middle of cultural events and institutions. For families: the hotel doesn't have connecting rooms, but the family rooms with two double beds are very appropriate for a family of four. Don't miss this when you visit The Netherlands!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Theo1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We enjoyed our stay in the restaurant and hotel until we tried to order a bottle of wine in our room. We were denied room service, as per the hotels policy we were not allowed to have other hotel guests over in our room. We understand the hotel wants to prevent loud room parties at night, however, it should have been clear to the staff that we just wanted to have a quiet last drink after the hotel bar had closed (at 1am, quite early in my opinion). When trying to explain our situation we were baffled by the extremely rude response of the staff, who told us to " listen and shut up". Very bad service, even for Dutch standards.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Anonymous189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Highly recommended to anyone staying in Rotterdam, its like sleeping and eating in a museum but with the most fab rooms! All decorated to a high and unusual standard, extremely comfortable and the restaurant is great for food and service, no need to go anywhere else!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dorisandthehoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Beautiful location, Beautiful building. Very friendly and professional staff. My room was amazing, with the best view to the river. Facilities as restaurant, bar, shops are beautiful decorated. Perfect combination between marine, navy style and modern design.

Room Tip: River view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank titina13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#3 of 55 in Rotterdam
1,353 reviews
nhow Rotterdam
#7 of 55 in Rotterdam
1,740 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 55 in Rotterdam
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cool
Hilton Rotterdam
Hilton Rotterdam
#4 of 55 in Rotterdam
1,460 reviews
Suite Hotel Pincoffs
#1 of 55 in Rotterdam
464 reviews
SS Rotterdam
#9 of 55 in Rotterdam
2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New York

Address: Koninginnenhoofd 1, 3072 AD Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rotterdam
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rotterdam
#4 Business Hotel in Rotterdam
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rotterdam
#9 Green Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range: £99 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel New York is located in the beautiful former headquarters of the Holland America Line, situated on the banks of the river Maas in Rotterdam in The Netherlands.A visit to Hotel New York is both a journey into the past and into the future. The nostalgic building symbolizes the departure of many emigrants with hope and tension of their new homeland.The agitated history is still touchable in the building: many pictures and suitcases of the emigrants, as well as the 6 former board rooms are keeping the history alive.Hotel New York has 72 exceptional hotel rooms, 7 unique halls and meeting rooms. The ground floor features a large café-restaurant, where 400 guests can enjoy an extensive or simple a-la-carte meal in any price category from early in the morning until late at night. High ceilings, colourful lights, sturdy nautical elements and robust tubes and pillars provide a maritime and industrial atmosphere, where everyone feels at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Hotel
New York Rotterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing