We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable history”
Review of Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel New York
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 16 March 2013

The Hotel New York is a renovated original headquarters of the Holland America Lines. Which pre air service was the most comfortable way to ferry between Europe to New York. What inspires me about the renovation is the original feel. You can imagine the space as it once was. The hotel is comfortable and quaint. I found the service to be very good and on on par with a four star euopean hotel. The staff was attentive, rooms are clean, comfortable and quite cozy. If you can afford the extra cost, choos the romantic rooms in the clock towers. Another benefit of the Hotel New York is the adjasant lovely cafe, bar and restaurant. It's wonderful place to enjoy Dutch food, drink and camaraderie. Highly recommended for business, causal dining, family, friends. All aboard this historic hotel!

Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank BadgerLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 1,295 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2013

Lovely quirky hotel - we've known it for years - we always enjoy the seafood brasserie too. A good base for visiting the city, zipping around by water taxi and getting a sense of the history of the city.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MeltingSpell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Was on a sightseeing tour of Rotterdam on 16th Feb and visited this place by river taxi for a drink. On entering I could clearly see it was very busy and the atmosphere was warm and welcoming. There were at least 30 people waiting for a table to eat however we were only there for drinks so were quickly shown to the bar area and we got a seat immediately. The staff were all very nice and helpful and speaking multiple languages. When back in Rotterdam I will come here for some food.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

I just love this hotel. Great location, great views, good restaurant, good food. The detailing in the rooms is fantastic, lots of touches indicating its heritage - lamps, bathroom tiling and accessories, furniture. Very spacious rooms with big windows. Super comfy beds. Good internet access. Nespresso machine in all rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArtemisLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

I hadn't looked this hotel up before staying for one night. So I was spectacularly unprepared to find myself in this astonishing waterside building, simply dripping with the excitement and style of the golden days of transatlantic ocean travel. But it's no pastiche or theme park : it has just been very carefully thought out, full of clever touches and references the Holland-Amerika heritage. Loved the bar and restaurant which buzzed all night long with people eating and drinking amidst big ship models, chunky handrails and worn parquet floors. My bedroom is filled with metal trunks and bedside tables, with huge marine searchlight type ceiling lights. What a refreshingly different hotel. Love it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank scoochlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

It's a Beautiful hotel! Largest beds, super Design! Great, large rooms and large furniture. Beautiful colours. Good food, old fashioned shop and barber shop. Tarantino came here to write on his movies.
However, almost everytime we go here, somethings goes wrong. The hotel staff makes errors and doesn't make it up to you. I hate when that happens. Ofcourse, errors can happen, perhaps it's just the young people that work there, but they are not looking for solutions and client satisfaction. They just choose the way that is most safe/simple to them. They enter the rooms even when you have the DoNotDisturb-sign hanging, several times, they forget you have a deal about late-checkout, and you have to leave anyway because they need to clean. And then they are not friendly or nice at all. This week is probably the last week I will sleep here, because I had a discussion at the desk again, where the staff was very unprofessional in their communication.
Too bad..
if ever you get a better staff, please email me, because I love the place, but can do without the stress. I want to relax and enjoy.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Violala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

This is a really lovely, carefully though through hotel, the old offices of the Holland Amerika line in Rotterdam, and jumping off point for hundreds of thousands of European migrants fleeing the old continent in search of a better life. The public rooms and bedrooms are lovely. We held a conference here and it was a great location. So yes by all means go and have a wonderful weekend in a wonderful place, but the drawback for us was the service.

The staff are young, badly organised and basically not listening much, they need to be told everything three or four times and then still don't seem to carry out the task asked. Example. We asked for dinner to be brought forward to 6.30pm to allow a number of people living locally to make their way home in freezing snowy conditions. A senior member of staff agreed and told us all was ready at 6.30, but failed to serve the starter until 7.30 and it was 8.40 before the main course came. It seemed that the message had not got through, although why anyone would want their food at that pace is a mystery to me. It was a bad end to a good day, and its a simple problem to fix, staff training please Hotel New York, and much much better coordination.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flyingshuttle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#3 of 53 in Rotterdam
1,271 reviews
nhow Rotterdam
#7 of 53 in Rotterdam
1,655 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 53 in Rotterdam
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Suite Hotel Pincoffs
#1 of 53 in Rotterdam
452 reviews
Cool
Hilton Rotterdam
Hilton Rotterdam
#4 of 53 in Rotterdam
1,392 reviews
Cool
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
#6 of 53 in Rotterdam
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New York

Address: Koninginnenhoofd 1, 3072 AD Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rotterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Rotterdam
#4 Business Hotel in Rotterdam
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rotterdam
#9 Green Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range: £91 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel New York is located in the beautiful former headquarters of the Holland America Line, situated on the banks of the river Maas in Rotterdam in The Netherlands.A visit to Hotel New York is both a journey into the past and into the future. The nostalgic building symbolizes the departure of many emigrants with hope and tension of their new homeland.The agitated history is still touchable in the building: many pictures and suitcases of the emigrants, as well as the 6 former board rooms are keeping the history alive.Hotel New York has 72 exceptional hotel rooms, 7 unique halls and meeting rooms. The ground floor features a large café-restaurant, where 400 guests can enjoy an extensive or simple a-la-carte meal in any price category from early in the morning until late at night. High ceilings, colourful lights, sturdy nautical elements and robust tubes and pillars provide a maritime and industrial atmosphere, where everyone feels at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Hotel
New York Rotterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing