We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique hotel.”
Review of Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel New York
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 22 May 2013 via mobile

I stayed here during a business trip. The room is very spacious, having a view towards the sea. With excellent bed. The restaurant also is very good and close by is also one of the best restaurants in rotterdam, called Las Palmas. The distance from the city centre is 30 min by foot and there is also public transport means very close, in walking distance.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andreasPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 1,322 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2013

The public areas (restaurant, bar) are so crowded that I felt like being in Central Station. To get lunch in the hotel was difficult but still possible, this however was not true for dinner. The restaurant was so crowded that we would have to wait for more than an hour (as hotel guests). It turned out to be a blessing in disguise. Outside the hotel (just 300 meters walking) we found La Palma an excellent Herman de Blijker restaurant. Later on we wanted a night cap in the hotel. Again it was so crowded that we forgot about it. If you are into these very crowded places by all means go there. If however you look for a more quiet, distinquised hotel, avoid it. The rooms are oke , only one problem . In front of the rooms they installed large advertising banners, an easy prey for the wind. Result a lot of rattling noises and no sleep. We will not go again

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank henk v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

As a business traveller it is great to stay in a professional hotel, that is just a little different, but that does not mean you can't work, this hotel has atmosphere in bucket loads, overlaid with very professional staff. A good bar/diner full with locals mid week and rocking with a live Jazz band. stay here if you can.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Sailtorace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We did stay in Hotel New York after a mini cruise with the NCL Breakaway.
We did love the hotel for his ambiance and great breakfast.
Our tower patio room was large and clean with a lot of nostalgic items of cruisships.
Our room had A large flatscreen and a great nostalgic bathroom.
At our late arrival (23:00 our) the service was very friendly and check-in was quick.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Royalstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I literally booked three different hotels for this trip before settling on the Hotel New York. What swayed me were the solid reviews and the proximity to the cruise port.

I generally don't go for "boutique" or "quirky" hotels, but made an exception in this case. I booked a waterfront room directly through the hotel for a reasonable rate (especially as it included WiFi). Unfortunately, my room didn't face the cruise port, but as the room was huge (and I've read some are tiny) I didn't consider moving to a different room. I was a little concerned as there was a step down to the bathroom, figuring this could be problematic at night, but there was a nightlight positioned at the step.

We met friends we were sailing with for dinner and drinks. The reviews of the restaurant are very good, and I think the presence of so many locals is proof of that! DH had oysters which he deemed to be very fresh and lamb which he found to be tasty. I opted for more of a snack with bread served with a variety of dips. Very nice.

Unlike the States, Europeans don't seem overly concerned with turning over tables, so we passed a few hours enjoying each others company.

Breakfast was pricey (when isn't it at a hotel) but the buffet was good and plentiful. I made sure to have bread as I'd heard from Dutch colleagues that the bread in the Netherlands is wonderful and it was very nice.

After breakfast we walked to the cruise terminal which probably took about two minutes. Seriously, walking out of the front door of the hotel that morning, the first thing you saw was our ship.

If I ever find myself cruising out of Rotterdam again, I would definitely book the Hotel New York.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cubechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

It's an interesting hotel in a lovely building that houses a buzzing restaurant with good quality grub. The service is nice and friendly, but I expected unique rooms in a unique property. I booked a waterside room. And although the interior is fine, it's style is dated and feels too much like a identi-kit hotel chain room. So nothing special. I had a really nice time but I would recommend trying the tower or board rooms instead if you're looking to experience the grand old lady in all its glory.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank montheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

The New York Hotel evokes a time when travel had glamour and free baggage. Themed brilliantly, every turn reveals a new, or rather old, piece of the glory days, when any journey took a while, and there was time to see it all. All of this, without sacrificing quality in accommodation or food. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The restaurant staff deserve special mention for their care and attention. Senior management has severe food allergies, and they took care that her meal was both safe and excellent. Job done! We took the water taxi to the city…great fun, especially if you can get them to turn up the gas.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iamnumber6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#2 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,291 reviews
nhow Rotterdam
#7 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,675 reviews
Suite Hotel Pincoffs
#1 of 52 in Rotterdam
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#3 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,513 reviews
Cool
Hilton Rotterdam
Hilton Rotterdam
#4 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,410 reviews
SS Rotterdam
#9 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New York

Address: Koninginnenhoofd 1, 3072 AD Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rotterdam
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rotterdam
#4 Business Hotel in Rotterdam
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rotterdam
#9 Green Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range: £92 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel New York is located in the beautiful former headquarters of the Holland America Line, situated on the banks of the river Maas in Rotterdam in The Netherlands.A visit to Hotel New York is both a journey into the past and into the future. The nostalgic building symbolizes the departure of many emigrants with hope and tension of their new homeland.The agitated history is still touchable in the building: many pictures and suitcases of the emigrants, as well as the 6 former board rooms are keeping the history alive.Hotel New York has 72 exceptional hotel rooms, 7 unique halls and meeting rooms. The ground floor features a large café-restaurant, where 400 guests can enjoy an extensive or simple a-la-carte meal in any price category from early in the morning until late at night. High ceilings, colourful lights, sturdy nautical elements and robust tubes and pillars provide a maritime and industrial atmosphere, where everyone feels at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Hotel
New York Rotterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing