We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most beautiful spot in Rotterdam”
Review of Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel New York
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Most beautiful spot in Rotterdam”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Hotel New York is situated on an island in the middle of Rotterdam harbour. It used to be the place from which many departed to the US.
A ferry connects the hotel with downtown.
The hotel is located in a historic building.
The downside of this very nice hotel is that it is rather expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on the busy harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    430
    67
    27
    6
See reviews for
178
559
27
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I stayed in this hotel one night and it was great. The rooms are extraordinary, the view amazing and the staff friendly. I stayed in room 202 and I had a view over the water, loved it. Lots of cool design in the room and in the hotel. If you want to stay in a hotel that makes you happy this is it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evla700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

My room had almost a panorama view as it was round and had windows all over the wall. The view from my room was fantastic as I had water view which is alway nice. The bed was really comfortable and the bathroom made me feel as if I had travelled decades ago which was nice and original for a hotel bathroom. I really enjoyed the room and the comfort level.

Room Tip: Try to get a room high up and facing to the water and you will be guaranteed a nice view specially a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vagabond8486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We came here for a long weekend with family. We enjoyed the food, drink, surroundings and comfy beds. The decor of the hotel is carefully eclectic. Not a bargain, but a unique and historic place with great views and a water taxi on the doorstep! Also, a good location for seeing the sights of Rotterdam.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the water are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duffyx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimbaran, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Enjoyable afternoon meal but, I left the hotel with the idea that the staff may be thieves. I left a wireless router I had just bought in a shopping bag at the table, I went to call a taxi. The waitress had removed it, and sent to lost and found in the hotel reception, i went directly there to be told that a dutch lady had just claimed that item a few moments ago. Nobody in my group had collected it. Inside job? Must be.. The reception could offer no more than a 'sorry bout that'. Be careful with your belongings if you go here!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank baliskot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

stayed in one of the cheapest rooms. It was really lovely very spacious with couch and comfy chair as well as table and chair, but the view was not top noche, but hey what do you expect from a cheap room I thought it was really good value and the view was the only non 4 star thing.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lathem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The hotel is in a building of the last century and so the atmosphere really reminds one of the passengers' stations of the ports at the beginning of the century. Very much in contrast to the modern skyline around. Very sympatic staff and the contact was very kind. The rooms (mine was superior type) are very large and individually designed (Eames chair, cool ceiling lamps and modern art), furnishings are all inspired to passengers' baggage. Bed is absolutely fabulous and the rooms are very quiet. But, we miss a minibar. The restaurant is really great at a normal price: Oysters, tuna and fish soup... fantastic! Breakfast as buffet or a la carte. I really recommend this place when you want to have something outstanding, something really remarkable and special What you should concern is, that the hotel is positioned at the cruise terminal/ harbour a bit away from the center, but we loved to use the watertaxi. The barber shop for men in the basement is very special. In summer the terrace is a nice place, too.

Room Tip: Seaside rooms have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farbenfreundin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
nhow Rotterdam
#6 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,498 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#4 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,162 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cool
No photo provided
Hilton Rotterdam
#3 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,290 reviews
Suite Hotel Pincoffs
#1 of 52 in Rotterdam
431 reviews
SS Rotterdam
#9 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New York

Property: Hotel New York
Address: Koninginnenhoofd 1, 3072 AD Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rotterdam
#4 Business Hotel in Rotterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Rotterdam
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rotterdam
#9 Green Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel New York is located in the beautiful former headquarters of the Holland America Line, situated on the banks of the river Maas in Rotterdam in The Netherlands.A visit to Hotel New York is both a journey into the past and into the future. The nostalgic building symbolizes the departure of many emigrants with hope and tension of their new homeland.The agitated history is still touchable in the building: many pictures and suitcases of the emigrants, as well as the 6 former board rooms are keeping the history alive.Hotel New York has 72 exceptional hotel rooms, 7 unique halls and meeting rooms. The ground floor features a large café-restaurant, where 400 guests can enjoy an extensive or simple a-la-carte meal in any price category from early in the morning until late at night. High ceilings, colourful lights, sturdy nautical elements and robust tubes and pillars provide a maritime and industrial atmosphere, where everyone feels at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Hotel
New York Rotterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing