We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A journey in the past”
Review of Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel New York
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Superb location and very unusual as it is now surrounded by the tallest buildings in Holland ! We were lucky to be able to use one of the 2 Tour rooms, which, except for the steep stairs ,,,. is a unique experience, but please don't tell anyone ! The food is excellent and the service too

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank s_gyger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for your review. Ofcourse we won't tell anyone! But it is nice to read that your experience was positive and that you liked the location and the room. We look forward to welcome you again in Hotel New York.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 1,300 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

The name speaks for itself: sleep and/or drink | eat at this venue, and you will feel like been in NYC.
We had a couple of beers and snacks, outside (it was a very sunny and windy day).
The prices were rather affordable, the staff very good and the food Ok.
This is a 'concept hotel and bar', experience it.
Some franchising stuff, if you want a souvenir (sometimes a bit kitch, but it's part of the game).
And oysters, if you like.
Wonderful area around, and the view of the city.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Thombly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for the compliment of being Manhattan in the Netherlands! I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in the restaurant and that you liked our atmosphere. We hope to see you once more in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Superbe location, great room in an historical building (best beds ever)! If you need to stay in Rotterdam, this is definitely the place to stay.
Restaurant was excellent (try the seafood) and get up early for the excellent breakfast.
This is definitely an hotel we will remember.

Tip: there is a funky little play area for kids in front of the hotel (suitable for kid 3 and above)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bionix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your kind words. We hope to welcome you and your family again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Probably the best hotel we've stayed in. the rooms are excellent with the views across the river. Food in the restaurant and bar also very good, but what makes it is the staff who, if a sixth star was available would get all six!

Room Tip: 2nd floor facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevewX6348YN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

It is always nice to read that our guests enjoyed ther stay in the hotel and the food in our restaurant. We will make sure that our staff receives your sixth star. Thank you very much for this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Visited HNY for the first time and couldn't have asked for a better hotel experience. The character of the hotel is first class and the relaxed atmosphere of the restaurant makes this a perfect place. Great food and good views from the waterside. I would highly recommend this place for business or pleasure.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank RobW63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you very much for the compliments and we are looking forward welcoming you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This is a wonderful hotel. There is the wonderful historical aspect as a waiting place for Dutch immigrants to America , but also the very contemporary and stylish vibe that is definitely there.
The rooms are wonderful. They are large with comfortable beds and quirky decorative elements.
The restaurant on the ground floor is good, but crowded. Although there is a lot of new development on the Rotterdam waterfront , it can seem a little lonely and creepy at night. For a couple's get away it is ideal.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank CLEWERT S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for your kind review! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the service and the nostalgic atmosphere and history of our building. We hope to see you again as our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

It's not just the location. Its not just the building or the history. Or the fantastic beds they have. The nice room with a great view. No..it's the package. Hotel New York gives it all. And with a smile.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Digiplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you so much for the positive words.
It is a very big compliment that you liked the whole package.
We give it all with a lot pleasure and we hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#3 of 53 in Rotterdam
1,274 reviews
nhow Rotterdam
#7 of 53 in Rotterdam
1,658 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 53 in Rotterdam
1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Suite Hotel Pincoffs
#1 of 53 in Rotterdam
452 reviews
Cool
Hilton Rotterdam
Hilton Rotterdam
#4 of 53 in Rotterdam
1,396 reviews
Cool
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
#6 of 53 in Rotterdam
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New York

Address: Koninginnenhoofd 1, 3072 AD Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rotterdam
#4 Business Hotel in Rotterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Rotterdam
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rotterdam
#9 Green Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range: £91 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel New York is located in the beautiful former headquarters of the Holland America Line, situated on the banks of the river Maas in Rotterdam in The Netherlands.A visit to Hotel New York is both a journey into the past and into the future. The nostalgic building symbolizes the departure of many emigrants with hope and tension of their new homeland.The agitated history is still touchable in the building: many pictures and suitcases of the emigrants, as well as the 6 former board rooms are keeping the history alive.Hotel New York has 72 exceptional hotel rooms, 7 unique halls and meeting rooms. The ground floor features a large café-restaurant, where 400 guests can enjoy an extensive or simple a-la-carte meal in any price category from early in the morning until late at night. High ceilings, colourful lights, sturdy nautical elements and robust tubes and pillars provide a maritime and industrial atmosphere, where everyone feels at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Hotel
New York Rotterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing