We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Original concept but worn out interior”
Review of Hotel Bazar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Bazar
Ranked #23 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Original concept but worn out interior”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Well, the concept is still nice and original. Also liked the staff at the reception as well as the delicous breakfast at the resto. On the downside: the room we stayed in was somewhat shabby and worn out and the beds way too often used to be comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marvin_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    76
    30
    12
    0
See reviews for
11
77
20
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
88 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The main reason I chose this hotel is the weekday price for a centrally-located hotel, but I wanted to try it anyway because of the unusual decor and the very popular Bazar restaurant. Last night, I stayed in room 202 which was clean, cool and comfortable. Despite it being on the restaurant / bar street, I did not hear the noise and slept well. Wonderful, huge breakfast is included in the price. Very good service. And, the taxi stand is right at the corner.

Room Tip: Every room is different. Choose from their website http://www.bazarrotterdam.com/read/hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Idonotcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
124 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

A real bazar of rooms in a modern charming city, for real travellers.
We chose from the web site one of the african rooms, the larger, original and colorful room we've had, with wooden floor. The wonderful bathroom have no door! (amusing and enjoyable for us, not for everyone).
Each floor is a different continent. Going round the hotel we saw the south america top floor: really kitch with religious iconography, colorful windows and plastic flowers. Nice the middle eastern floor, with oriental atmosphere.
Breakfast is nearly a lunch and it's in the bazar restaurant: homemade pancakes, jam, butter, egg, cheese, wheat and white bread, yoghurt, fresh orange juice
The last night we tried the restaurant, good but in my opinion you can find better places.
The hotel is in a central position on a main road.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonia_liguria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nürnberg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

I like this hotel. It has an atmosphere. I stayed there for a few days and I was really satisfied. It is very original hotel where every room is something special. Breakfest were tasty and I can recommend this hotel to everybody who doesnť like ordinary hotels.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antwerpen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Room 307 is great kicht with dreamlike bath tub and food is delicicous.

On the down side: lot of noise to keep you awake at night and windows that won't open while the sun heats up the room. We fled the hotel after one night of sleeplessness.

Will be my fav spot in Rotterdam once they install double - or triple - glazing and an airco. Up to that moment, I'll spend my 125 euros elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank __kflm92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2011

This hotel really does put the fun into a little weekend away.

We stayed in one of the top floor rooms, which has the benefit of being furthest away from the road obviously (it's single glazing) and also the use of a lovely balcony with views over to the Euromast and over the city - great at night for a little aperitif before heading down to the enormous, colourful 3-floor restaurant.

All the rooms are themed so the decoration is designed to take you to a different continent. The top floor rooms are South America, so it's kitch as you like with pop-art wallpaper on one wall, flowery curtains, religious iconography and plastic flowers - at first it seems ugly but after just a few minutes it's grown on you and you're in love and never want to leave. And the bed was enormous, big enough for 3! Proper 2-person bath in the bathroom too - but this is not standard, before booking it's essential to look at all the rooms on the website and then try to book the one you want - we got our third choice, booking 2 months ahead so it's a busy place!

Reception staff are very friendly and of course speak perfect English. They even escort you to your room when you arrive, a nice touch!

And the breakfast is AMAZING. Freshly squeezed orange juice, proper coffee, eggs, fresh fruit with (Turkish?) yogurt, cheese, (Turkish?) sausage, different breads, honey, jam, feta cheese and a sweet pancake. But after all that you need a mint tea to digest!

I would come back here just for the hotel, to try out a different continent - Rotterdam is great but this hotel makes it greater!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IzzBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harderwijk
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2009

Every room is different, it is a while ago I stayed here. I have been there 3 times, you just have to come back t check more rooms. My first stay was a romantic getaway in het Africa room with huge wooden bath and rainshower. Second stay was with friends, girls night out, and we had a South America room. The last stay was in the white Arabic room, also very romantic!
The food in the restaurant is delicious and te shopping area is closeby.
Worth my recommendation!

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karlijn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Cool
A Small Hotel
A Small Hotel
#31 of 52 in Rotterdam
44 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#8 of 52 in Rotterdam
727 reviews
Oude Westen
Hotel Emma
Hotel Emma
#17 of 52 in Rotterdam
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,287 reviews
Cool
easyHotel Rotterdam City Centre
Stadsdriehoek
H2OTEL Rotterdam
H2OTEL Rotterdam
#16 of 52 in Rotterdam
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bazar

Property: Hotel Bazar
Address: Witte de Withstraat 16, 3012 BP Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Cool
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bazar 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bazar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bazar Hotel Rotterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing