We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly service but bad quality/prix”
Review of Hotel Bazar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Bazar
Ranked #23 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Munich
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“friendly service but bad quality/prix”
Reviewed 15 April 2009

We have been 2 days in Rotterdam in 2 different Hotels:
Bazar Hotel and Bilderberg Parkhotel.
A double room with breakfast in Bazar Hotel costed us 85euros in an african room. Service is good, breakfast is very good (it can be accessed even if you don't sleep in the hotel) but the hotel facilities are really old (extremely old lift). Room was large but the decoration was quite bad. quality/price should be improved. The best, the breakfast.
A double room without breakfast in Bilderberg Hotel costed us 125euros (I think that there are cheaper rooms). Service is very good, the hotel facilities are really good and room was large and very comfortable. Of course, you pay it.
Both hotels are very close to the city center.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dancir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    77
    30
    12
    0
See reviews for
11
78
20
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holland
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2009

After reading some of the reviews about the Hotel Bazar I decided to write one of my own. Before I moved to Holland I used to stay at this hotel a few times a year on business. Part of the reason I preferred staying at Bazar because it was close to our office. The other part was I loved the rooms and the easy going staff. Some of the rooms are spectacular. My other favourite thing was the breakfast which starts quite late but runs all day. Breakfast is served in Bazar's very busy restaurant. A great place to sit when travelling by yourself. What I also liked was the fact the rooms were always very clean. Of course there are a few things I would love for them to change. No Internet acess in 2009 is just crazy and the fact that people are still allowed to smoke in the rooms is beyond me. Apart from that I think Bazar is worth a visit. My parents stayed there 2 months ago and loved it. Oh and they really liked the hotel manager. Haha! Especially my mother. I had to mention this because the person whose review spoke of her disliking the manager made me laugh. People seem to forget Bazar is only a 2 star hotel and really does not pretend to be anything but that. So if you are looking for a fun, friendly and inexpensive place to stay. Try Bazar.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2009

No, no, no, no!
I booked this hotel because of the reviews on TripAdvisor. When I booked it was rated as #2 best hotel in Rotterdam. But is it? Can a 2 star hotel be this good?
No way!.
I'm afraid people get carried away by some features and rate the overall experience too high.
Let me tell you about the positive things first: the hotel staff are EXCELLENT. Whatever I asked for, they provided with a smile. The location is relatively central (five minutes walk to a tram stop and from there 4 stops to the central station). Restaurant has very interesting food. Cleaning service is very adequate.
And that's it. But is this enough to make a hotel GREAT? I don't think so.This hotel has warn out furniture, blankets that should have been thrown away two years ago, walls that need to be refreshed, the softest hotel mattress I've ever slept on, no internet connection, no reception after 11 pm, thin walls, few choices for breakfast (it's either menu A or B) and the list goes on.
Is the hotel trying to "appear" as something different?
No. THEY are honest. They accept the fact that they are a two star hotel and they charge accordingly. So I have nothing to say against them. This is an issue of trip advisor reviewers overestimating a hotel.
Are you young, looking for a friendly, reasonably priced, clean hotel in Rotterdam, just to "crash"? This should be just fine for you.
Are you a bit demanding, looking for a top-ten hotel in Rotterdam? Go elsewhere.

  • Liked — Friendly, competent staff
  • Disliked — Warn out furniture, no internet connection
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank demetrios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2008

Brilliant hotel! The lobby and room were amazing, they were clean and spacious. The best part of staying in this hotel was eating in the restaurant the night before and having breakfast the next day, the food was amazing and the restaurant has a really nice feel.
The staff all spoke very good English and were polite and friendly.
Very central location and good parking.

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

If you visit Rotterdam and do not stay here you will be missing out!

  • Liked — The style of the room, and the food!
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chcael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego, ca
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2008

i was traveling on business and my client booked me a room at this hotel. the lobby is beautiful and the room that i stayed in was very cool and spacious - however, i arrived at 1pm and the hotel manager told me (very rudely) that my room was not available until 2pm. i travel frequently and have never had an experience with a hotel manager like this, if i had the option i would have forefitted my reservation and left...

however, when i came back later in the afternoon another girl (who was very sweet) checked me in.

i regret not taking any photos of the hotel (especially the room because it was very cool decor)

breakfast was awesome, best OJ i've ever had.

big downside - NO internet access, not even paid. not good for business travelers...

didn't bother me much but other travelers may mind...the elevator took forever to come so i opted for the stairs...the room was on the 3rd floor so not great for people with disabilities or limited mobility.

  • Liked — location, hotel decor, breakfast
  • Disliked — no internet, elevator did not work well, RUDE hotel manager!!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank organicphotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2008

This hotel is a brilliant find. We stayed for 2 nights and stayed in 2 different rooms as we booked late and it was a busy weekend due to the annual dance parade in Rotterdam. All the rooms are individually designed and have themes of either African, South American or Middle Eastern.

We were in African themed rooms both nights and they were amazing. The second one in particular was really unusual and beautifully decorated. Both rooms aside from looking fantastic were spotless and the hotel staff helpful and friendly. They also moved all of our luggage when we were moving rooms so it was very hassle free.

If you are looking for a hotel for a short break in Rotterdam, then I would really recommend this hotel. It made such a nice change from staying in anonymous chain hotels.

  • Liked — The rooms
  • Disliked — Breakfast not great
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth172101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnshire, England
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2007

I think we booked this after reading good reviews on TA. We were not disappointed.

Stopped here whilst going to concert at the Ahoy.

Amazingly unusual rooms, ours was African themed. (Although I wouldn't recommend children in the room we were in, as the window opens all the way and the window sill is actually also the floor level) with the sunken bed!!! Hard to describe without a photo.



Restaurant food was lovely.

staff very friendly and helpful, the booking was made over the phone, their english is excellent.

Good hotel if on a stag/hen do.

Good central location to enjoy most of Rotterdams delights, good bars and some lovely shops.

  • Liked — decor, food, staff
  • Disliked — no door on the loo!!!
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maltababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Cool
A Small Hotel
A Small Hotel
#33 of 52 in Rotterdam
45 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,319 reviews
Oude Westen
Hotel Emma
Hotel Emma
#17 of 52 in Rotterdam
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#8 of 52 in Rotterdam
743 reviews
Cool
easyHotel Rotterdam City Centre
Oude Westen
Hotel Breitner
Hotel Breitner
#24 of 52 in Rotterdam
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bazar

Property: Hotel Bazar
Address: Witte de Withstraat 16, 3012 BP Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Cool
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bazar 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bazar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bazar Hotel Rotterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing