We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Barman from Hell”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bilderberg Parkhotel
Ranked #10 of 55 Hotels in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 August 2009

Rather a decent hotel at first sight, one might think and, apart from the fact that one of the lifts looked like a construction site and that you had to pay on top for the so called hotel amenities (sauna, internet), one would be right to think so. That is until you get to the terrace area where you are ignored by the rudest and most neurotic barman/waiter I have ever encountered. When you ask him for a drink he looks at you as if you had just shot him in the foot, and when you try and order food he nearly starts to cry before deciding for you what to eat because he cannot be asked to go and get a menu. Having decided that we were going to eat steak he then displayed an astonishing ignorance of the various degrees of cooking a steak. The wine we ordered came about ten minutes into the dinner, even though we had ordered it considerably before, and was too cold. Of the two steaks we ordered one came without chips for no apparent reason. When the terrace closed and we were ushered into the bar we were therefore delighted to find the same guy standing behind the bar, pretending to be busy and rushed off his feet on what was actually a reasonably quiet evening. The payment system at the bar is also something else, requiring the barman to put you card through a normal chip and pin reader and then swipe it through to other machines which then take about 2 minutes to start printing your receipt, during which time the barman can of course not do anything else. This barman, and the way he barked at people was extremely unhelpful and rude and made the whole experience of staying at the hotel a very unpleasant one. You were constantly under the impression that you were disturbing and offending him. Many of the other people staying at the hotel(there were quite a few as we had come to Rotterdam for a wedding) said that they felt exactly the same. The service was so bad that it made Fawlty Towers look like a smoothly run operation. A shame really, as the rest of the staff and the hotel as such had the potential of making this an acceptable place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Revieweur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 1,291 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2009

It is an unexpectedly good hotel. Except the lcocation, I think everything is great. In fact, the location isnot bad, cuz it is near the metro, but not too near the station. In fact, it is just 10 minutes walk from the station. Anyway, the room and the toilet are big. The little garden is nice and it is clean. I would recommend you to stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HKKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2009

The hotel is app. a 10-15 minute walk from Rotterdam Central Station. There is nice lobby and friendly staff to check-in. I stayed here twice one-night, doing seminars. The facilities for doing business are great, nice rooms at the upper floor with good arrangements. No (old) coffee in thermos but a superb coffee machine in a pantry next to the meeting rooms. The only thing I didn’t like were the extreme costs for Internet use.

Included in the package were also lunches in the restaurant. All buffet style and it had different items the two times I was here. It had all kind of salads, soup, rolls, sandwiches, several hot items and even a small dessert buffet.

We had also dinner here, a 3-course meal, with a choice of two for every course. This was also good. They have an excellent (Spanish) red house wine.

Breakfast had a large variety of hot and cold items, all of good quality.

The rooms however are somewhat less. I had twice a garden room and they are old fashioned and simply decorated. There is only a very small TV set and no coffee/tea making facilities (I brought my own with me). It was quiet and I could sleep very well

The hotel is situated next to the Museum Park. If you have time both the Boijmans-Van Beuningen and the Kunsthal are worth a visit. The city shopping center is just a 5-minute walk.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BA-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2009

I just stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. One of those nights was in a standard room with a garden view. The other two were in an upgraded room in the tower. To be truthful, both rooms were very comfortable. The upgraded room was slightly larger with a nicer bathroom. An important difference was the air conditioning in the upgraded room, but the standard room is probably fine for Rotterdam weather. The rooms were clean and comfortable with plenty of closet space. If I had to find anything negative about this hotel, it would be the wireless/wired Internet access - it is VERY expensive (22 EUR for 24 hours, or 10 EUR for 1 hour). I think this is normal in Dutch hotels, but for a business traveler it is quite inconvenient. Hotel computers are available (around 35 eur cents per minute), but they are very slow. Other negatives include the small (old) televisions and the LOUD maids. I was woken one morning by a maid cleaning the room next to mine - she made a RACKET! Breakfast was not included with the room, and cost 22 EUR per meal. Otherwise, service was very good, and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FunkyMan3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2009

Best location,friendly staff,great room (one with garden view),but there was no elevator and it was hard to carry our luggage.
The bathroom needed to be modernised,but it was large and functional.
One must choose this hotel if he wants easy acces to the center of the city (by foot) and to all sites by metro .

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danielaromania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2009

This hotel is in the middle of the centre of Rotterdam at a perfect location for business and leisure purposes. The hotel has an attractive atmosphere and makes your stay in Rotterdam a nice one. I can recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan_PieterAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2009

We visited Bilderberg Park hotel for one night in January 2009 during the Rotterdam Film Festival. It is situated about 700 mtrs. form Rotterdam Central Train station (two tram stops) at the edge of the city centre. It is a huge building with 189 rooms of different type and price. We had a so-called garden room (3014), which was very spacious, very nicely decorated and spotlessly clean. It had a spacious bathroom as well, which had a bath-tub, a good shower and the necessary amenities. The quality of the towels is very good. The heating in bathroom and twin room is working very well. Mattresses are of a very good quality. The room has two arm-chairs, a writing table with minibar (very pricy) and a TV. There is a huge linen-cupboard in the little entrance hall with mirrors at the outside. There are no double glazed windows, nor is there air-conditioning.
The warm and cold breakfast, which was included in the price, is really great, with much fresh food, even salmon and trout; one of the best breakfasts we ever had. There is a restaurant but we did not have diner there. Wine is very expensive; one of the cheapest bottles costs 35 euro.
Staff is extremely kind and give the impression that they like their job. Check-in and check-out progressed smoothly.
The only negative point was the slamming of doors by guests arriving at 5 a.m. for which you cannot blame the hotel for.
The prices of the Park hotel differ greatly depending upon the various booking sites. We booked through Alpharooms and only paid GBP 71,59 for one night. The hotel has rooms with and without air-conditioning. Since ours had no airco we rate it 4 stars.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwmpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Cool
Hilton Rotterdam
Hilton Rotterdam
#4 of 55 in Rotterdam
1,460 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#3 of 55 in Rotterdam
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cool
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
#5 of 55 in Rotterdam
1,609 reviews
nhow Rotterdam
#7 of 55 in Rotterdam
1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilderberg Parkhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Parkhotel

Address: Westersingel 70, 3015 LB Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Rotterdam
#6 Green Hotel in Rotterdam
#9 Luxury Hotel in Rotterdam
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rotterdam
#12 Business Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range: £93 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bilderberg Parkhotel 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parkhotel originally dates back to 1922 and has been offering outstanding service and hospitality in the port city of Rotterdam for more than 90 years. The entire ground floor of the Parkhotel was renovated in 2014. The original DNA and unique Parkhotel atmosphere have been retained and combined with contemporary design. The 189 comfortable rooms have every convenience you would expect of a four-star hotel. Several of the rooms have a balcony with a view of the wonderful city garden. The Deluxe and Executive tower rooms, at a higher level, offer a wonderful view of Rotterdam. The hotel has 50 secure parking spaces, a sauna and fitness facilities. Restaurant The Park - inspired by Erik van Loo offers contemporary design, a cosy aperitif bar, Cigar Lounge, Private Dining and a wonderful veranda which opens onto the city garden and the terrace. The menu features signature dishes by Erik van Loo, among other specialities. The chef patron of the restaurant Parkheuvel, which has been awarded two Michelin stars, is the supervising chef of The Park. Together with chef Richard de Vries, he creates outstanding dishes which are characterised by their quality and simplicity, combined with a playful twist. In 2014, The Park won the Rotterdam Gouden Pollepel award. The Algemeen Dagblad newspaper gave The Park the following review: 'A restaurant which scores highly in every detail and means that Rotterdam can now join the ranks of other global cities where locals are used to eating in a high-calibre hotel restaurant.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bilderberg Parkhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilderberg Parkhotel Rotterdam
Bilderberg Parkhotel Hotel Rotterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing