We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Asian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Restaurant Chung

Restaurant Chung
Reserve with
Restaurant Chung is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #57 of 999 Restaurants in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$38
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Seafood, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Stadsdriehoek
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Asian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Great food, service and atmosphere. Highly recommendable! Food was the best from the Asian cuisine. Great presentation, flavours and high quality.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann Hammer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    48
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Elegant Dining Experience over a couple of dishes!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Dinner at restaurant Chung was such a memorable experience – the entire service right from walking in till I left was a delight. It’s unbelievably difficult to fault any element in the service or food.

Upon walking into the restaurant, the waitress took my jacket and I was shown to me seat where she spoke about the dishes I was going to be tucking into shortly. I had 6 courses here and the selection included oysters, sashimi, duck, quail, veal cheeks and a brownie for dessert.

The restaurant serves a fusion of Asian and Modern European cuisine, it was a delight to see Chef Chung himself make the rounds and chat to guests – I had a nice and simple conversation with him about his inspiration for the food and restaurant.

My best course was the Veal Cheeks, which were served with a celeriac puree and a curry sauce. The depth and balance of flavour in the curry was very impressive and the veal cheeks were very tender, they fell apart with a tease of the fork and it was a lovely dish as a whole. It was an absolute standout – I could die feasting just on that.

It was lovely to see guests who had ordered the duck get the theatrical element of a traditional table side service as it’s done in (Beijing and I believe) Greater China.

The waitresses were really lovely, attentive and nothing was a worry for them – they ensured I was comfortable and took the time to answer all my questions about the food and its component ingredients (thank goodness for Google as well helping us bridge the bit of language barrier when certain items were only known in Dutch).

I would recommend this place to anyone and would make a return visit here upon a visit to the lovely city of Rotterdam.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ayodeji O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Most amazing peking duck ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

I visited Chung with a friend and had a simply amazing peking duck. I generally don't care for ordering duck in restaurants and they're typically ruined by bad cooking technique, but this was absolutely spot on! Worth the trip just for the peking duck, and I expect the other food to be very good too.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bastiaanvdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
477 reviews
267 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Good Peking duck & lobster menu!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

After googling for a good place to eat Peking duck I spotted Chung as a good place to go to. We weren't disappointed. Apart from Peking duck they also have a very nice lobster menu so it was difficult to choose and two of us had the duck and the other two lobster. The duck was cut at the table for the skin and served with the pancakes. Very nice. After that, a soup was served with some duck meat and as a main, three different variations of duck, all very tasty and very nicely presented, followed. Also the lobster menu came in three courses all very tasty and presented in a similar nice looking way. The service was very good and the restaurant itself is situated by the water. It was too cold for the terrace but in the summer that must be nice, too. All in all a good night out and we enjoyed the food very much.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DeKokkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening .”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely time at this restaurant, lovely food. Minus point, service was quite slow and we could have done with a refill to our wine glass. But for the rest can recommend this location.

Helpful?
1 Thank suzuki1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Chung also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Chung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing