We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with friendly staff and excellent location”
Review of Hotel van Walsum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel van Walsum
Ranked #20 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. We were first given one of the older rooms but asked for (and reveived) a renovated room on the 4th floor. Needless to say the switch was well worth it. Breakfast was above expectations, plenty of choice, good stuff! The hotel is located very close to main attractions such as musea, restos, shopping area and bars. We can only recommend this place, value for money!

Room Tip: ask for a renovated room
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank michaelvdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
There are newer reviews for Hotel van Walsum
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2012

The hotel is within walking distance to the ferry dock going to Kinderdijk. It is close to some nice restaurants. The hotel staffs were friendly and provided some good information for our one day stay in Rotterdam. I would agree with other reviewers that this hotel needs some new furnitures and TVs.

Room Tip: We got a ground floor room and with a door to outside garden. We enjoyed it, but had to be careful n...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaGarlic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed for just one night but enjoyed it. Our room was small but comfortable and the service was very friendly. I couldn't find anything wrong with this place. Maybe because it was just for one night.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank felicia n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

A very nice hotel within walking distance of Rotterdam's attractions. It's a 15-20 min walk from the train station but there are buses and trams that can take you there if you have bags. We had a room with a small balcony overlooking the gardens that was very cute. The room was clean and comfortable, the floors are probably 100 years old and made noise when you walked. The furniture and appliances could really use a facelift, but everything worked fine.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juli99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Nice hotel, we were up in the sloped roof attic room. Very spacious, all amenities, no complaints. Friendly staff. Didn't have the breakfast so can't comment on that. Quiet, no real traffic noise. Safe in room.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank ComeSeeHun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

My first impression of the hotel as we walked up the sidewalk was "this will do". After a week here (to see the tulips), I was in love with this place and its staff. Tony, one of the owners, brought me a coffee as my husband checked in. All week long he was full of advice, friendly tips on restaurants, sights to see, directions, culture. As we returned daily from our adventures, he was always interested to hear what we had done. The rest of the staff was equally attentive.
Our room #38 was small but very comfortable. The breakfast was more than substantial to start us off each day. The car park is extra, and the entrance is tight, but it was sure worth not worrying about street parking.
The courtyard at the rear of the hotel is a lovely place to enjoy some quiet time.
We had friends joining us from Germany, and we were able to request a room that access to the courtyard where they could smoke.
Two restaurants are just a half block away - Ari's and Wester Paviljoen.
I highly recommend this hotel if service and hospitality are important to you!!!

Room Tip: Our room #38 has a small balcony
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bqbennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Although the rooms are average - decently sized but furnishing is a bit dated, this is a great choice for a short stay in Rotterdam close to the heart of the city. There is a private parking nearby, some 100 meters back at Mathenesserlaan 177 - be aware that if you have a large car you'll find the parking entrance a bit challenging.

A nice nearby dining place is Wester Paviljoen, the choice is not overly extensive but if you're looking for decent food, cold beer and quick serving then it's you best bet.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the street which can be a bit noisy.
Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank aspinei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#8 of 52 in Rotterdam
788 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#4 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,225 reviews
Cool
Hilton Rotterdam
Hilton Rotterdam
#3 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,343 reviews
Novotel Rotterdam Brainpark
#11 of 52 in Rotterdam
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel van Walsum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel van Walsum

Address: Mathenesserlaan 199-201, 3014 HC Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Oude Westen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Rotterdam
#12 Romantic Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range: £71 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel van Walsum 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel van Walsum is a cozy city-hotel in the centre of Rotterdam. A 6 minute walk will take you to the Museumpark. Free WiFi is available throughout the whole hotel. Other features include a paid private parking space and a 24-hour reception. The hotel is situated in three historical buildings that have been renovated recently. Each of the 28 rooms is unique and has been furnished with charm and design. You are welcome at our bar for a drink or a small menu. Weather permitting; the private garden is an absolute favorite. For lunch and dinner our staff can recommend one of the many cafes and restaurants within walking distance. The hotel is ideally situated for a visit to the Markthal, Boijmans van Beuningen museum, the Kunsthal, het Nieuwe Instituut, the Erasmus Medical Centre or the Sophia children's hospital. Attractions such as the Blijdorp zoo, the Ahoy event centre and Spido harbor tours are easily accessible by public transport. You can start your day wonderfully with the extensive breakfast buffet; including freshly baked bread, bacon and eggs, as well as several biological and fair-trade products. The hotel is characterized by the hospitality of the family and their staff. They aspire to make your stay at Hotel van Walsum an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel van Walsum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Rotterdam
Rotterdam Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing