We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly nice hotel”
Review of Hotel van Walsum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel van Walsum
Ranked #20 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfectly nice hotel”
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Perfectly nice place to spend the night. The location is just on the outskirts of the center, so if you're parking on the street you can drive a block or two and find a cheaper (or free on Sunday) spot.

The check-in desk doubles as the hotel bar, which is welcoming after a long day's travels. Small, clean room, walking distance to many of the sights.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank goodcough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    126
    34
    7
    0
See reviews for
37
114
21
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Ilinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We stayed two nights at Hotel van Walsum in May 2012. We had booked ahead, so the 2 of us were given a huge room opening on the garden on the main floor. The room was quiet and well-maintained though not stylish. I can't say enough about the staff. One of them actually walked me to a nearby laundry because I needed to get clothes washed. Another let us lock up our suitcases while we went to visit a museum before departing from the city.
I thought the location was excellent. The neighborhood was homey as well as very interesting to explore. (For instance, we found an artists's storefront studio and shop.) It was a good base for the walks we took to see the architecture and to go to the Museum Boijmans.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
129 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Location is pretty good, 15' walk from central station and several restaurants nearby. The restaurant in the hotel is only open for breakfast. The breakfast offered lots of choices including a fancy coffee machine, warm croissants, fresh fruits... The room was small and a bit noisy but otherwise everything ok.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank so_voyage49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester
Level Contributor
252 reviews
183 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Really helpful, friendly and caring staff. The hotel was well maintained and of a good standard. The location was excellent to explore the city and near the main shopping and night life. A really good stay and excellent value. The room was small but that's okay for a single room. It had a iron and ironing board plus mini fridge, telephone, flat tv and large window and free wifi. Always good heating and hot water. Only one thing could be better that was the water pressure was very low but thats nothing to worry about. All in all an excellent stay. You cant really go wrong.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lmelbourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Stayed here 2 nights during the tennis tournament in Rotterdam.

Pros:
Nice front desk staff
Clean
Direct bus line to Centraal Station and the Ahoy (site of many big events)
Interesting part of town with several very nice cozy cafes/restaurants nearby
Quiet (my single room overlooked a garden)
Big room for the Netherlands
Quaint
Free reliable internet access
Lift (not entirely common in such Dutch houses)

Cons
Can't really think of any, other than that it does not have a fitness center and it's not in the heart of the busiest area of Rotterdam. For me, it was a plus and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nnsanci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I attended this hotel on the weekend of the Rotterdam marathon. As a result we were looking for a good location and of reasonable value considering it being a busy weekend in the city. The staff were helpful and attentive. Breakfast was decent and the room had everything you would want (tv tea coffee etc) and the bathroom was modern and clean. The main thing to take away though is the value for money for the quality of hotel. I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Was somewhat surprised at how good this hotel was for the money.
Tea & coffee, good selection of English speaking channels,nice modern bedroom,friendly staff who let us leave our car parked past checkout (car parking is charged separately).
Didn't have breakfast so can't comment but would definitely recommend; good location

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antonyschn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Oude Westen
Hotel Emma
Hotel Emma
#18 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Suite Hotel Pincoffs
#1 of 52 in Rotterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cool
A Small Hotel
A Small Hotel
#31 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#7 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Oude Westen
Hotel Breitner
Hotel Breitner
#24 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel van Walsum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel van Walsum

Property: Hotel van Walsum
Address: Mathenesserlaan 199-201, 3014 HC Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Oude Westen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Rotterdam
#12 Romantic Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel van Walsum 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel van Walsum is a cozy city-hotel in the centre of Rotterdam. A 6 minute walk will take you to the Museumpark. Free WiFi is available throughout the whole hotel. Other features include a paid private parking space and a 24-hour reception. The hotel is situated in three historical buildings that have been renovated recently. Each of the 28 rooms is unique and has been furnished with charm and design. You are welcome at our bar for a drink or a small menu. Weather permitting; the private garden is an absolute favorite. For lunch and dinner our staff can recommend one of the many cafes and restaurants within walking distance. The hotel is ideally situated for a visit to the Markthal, Boijmans van Beuningen museum, the Kunsthal, het Nieuwe Instituut, the Erasmus Medical Centre or the Sophia children's hospital. Attractions such as the Blijdorp zoo, the Ahoy event centre and Spido harbor tours are easily accessible by public transport. You can start your day wonderfully with the extensive breakfast buffet; including freshly baked bread, bacon and eggs, as well as several biological and fair-trade products. The hotel is characterized by the hospitality of the family and their staff. They aspire to make your stay at Hotel van Walsum an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotel.de, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel van Walsum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Rotterdam
Rotterdam Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing