We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel van Walsum
Nearby Hotels
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel(Rotterdam)
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre(Rotterdam)(Great Value!)
US$72
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$57
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Rotterdam(Rotterdam)
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
CitizenM
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (296)
Filter reviews
296 results
Traveller rating
120
132
37
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
120
132
37
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaway from the roadper dayfresh fruitbreakfast buffetstayed here for one nightvery nice hotelsmall roomnice viewcitydeskdelftnetherlandseurokeystationamsterdam
Filter
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 296 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2010

The hotel is small and has plenty of character. My room was of decent size, pretty clean, the bathroom seemed clean, bed was comfortable and clean. There was a large desk to work from, closet, chair, tv, coffee and tea supplies. The Van Walsum is not luxurious but has all it takes for a pleasant stay. The staff is really helpful and friendly, they helped me with train arrangements, check in for my flight, always with a smile. Breakfast is nice and abundant. No hot options, but there are pastries, ham, cheese, yogurt, and all it takes for a good start of the day. The dining area faces a nice garden located behind the house. Location is excellent, close to public transportation, shops, museums...
Wifi is 5Euros per day, but there's a computer with free internet in the hall.
If you want your standard chain hotel, the Van Walsum is not for you, but if you prefer a local experience, this is the right place!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myosotis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2009

The advantage of staying in a local, family owned hotel is the personal service and local knowledge of the owners and staff. The Hotel van Walsum is exceptional in providing achieving this goal.

It's small hotel with a great location. Major museums, shopping, restaurants, and nightlife are all within walking distance, and there are 2 local buses and a tram stop across the road near the corner. My room, a double for one person on the second floor had large windows, a quiet garden view, and was large relative to hotel rooms in the Netherlands (nearly normal US size).

The hotel chef (dinner is served by arrangement Monday - Thursday) has been with the family for 40 years, and will ask you what you want when you make your reservation. Melon with Prosciutto, Seawolf (loup de mer or wolffish) with an assortment of vegetables, potatoes, and salad, and poached pears were only 24 euros, and very good.

The desk staff, including a couple of family members, were extremely helpful with restaurants and had bus/tram strippenkaarts and postage stamps available, and WiFi access codes available.

It was a very pleasant visit.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eclectic779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2009

An older hotel a short tram ride from the central railway station and in easy walking distance of cafes and pubs. The single rooms and bathrooms are small but comfortable with efficient plumbing and flat screen TVs. A good continental selection for breakfast and individual toasters on the tables are a nice touch. Free internet provided in reception area.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wisewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2008

Small, nice, clean hotel in what seems to be formally a large home. It's not far from the central train station, but take a taxi. Very friendly, helpful staff. Room was clean, comfortable but not luxurious, but then that's not what van Walsum is. If you want a good value and you don't want to spend a lot, this is a good hotel. The breakfast was way above standard with a good assortment of cheeses, meats, breads, drink, fruit, cold cereal, etc. with a toaster on every table. And for you beer/drink lovers there's a small bar.

The neighborhood is okay. I went out briefly at 11pm without any problems. There are two coffeeshops at the corner and some sex shops in the neighborhood, but that wasn't a problem either.

I would highly recommend this hotel, and would stay there again if in rotterdam and don't want to spend an arm-and-a-leg.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank breukelenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2007

We just returned from Holland last night . Our trip included 3 nights at the Van Walsum. As far as hotels go, that was the high point of our trip. Hotel Van Walsum is a family owned hotel and they take good care of you. They speak many languages with ease. When we needed a taxi we had a taxi called for us in minutes. When we needed information it was forthcoming with a smile and a very good explanation. When we needed supper it was provided in actually the finest meals we have ever had anywhere in our travels in both Europe and North America . I was amazed at the quality of the evening meals. It is a very friendly atmosphere and you feel while you are there that you belong. We met a medical researcher from New York who told us he has becoming there to stay while doing research in Rotterdam for 23 years. I can certainly understand why after our three night stay. If big and flashy is your thing than maybe this isnt you place but if you like to KNOW you will be well taken care of and you can get help when you need it and you like the feeling of belonging then this is the place. For me and my wife , we would say without question that of the four trips to Holland we have taken we were cared for better here than anywhere else. I would broaden that to of all our trips we have taken we were cared for here better than anywhere else we have ever stayed and there have been many. (As my wife read this before I submitted it, her comment was. "That is certainly true. It would be hard to top our stay there!" )
Don and Linda Dulmage
Bellville Ontario Canada

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Dolmetsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews