We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok Hotel - not the best but not the worst”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thon Hotel Rotterdam
Ranked #21 of 55 Hotels in Rotterdam
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed 2 nights in November. Booked twin room for single occupation. Hotel is situated on the North bank of the River Maas, 2 tram stops from the city centre. The hotel is right beside the architecturally attractive Erasmus Bridge.

Room was clean, pleasantly decorated but to my mind extremely small. I was unable to secure a river view as arrived very late - shame as the view of the river and bridge must be very nice - instead I had to put up with a stairwell with a fire escape. If you can, get the river view.

Staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast was particularly good.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesdinovaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 436 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2012

Overall a good place. Very centrally located, directly on the riverfront. Easy to start your walk to exploring the city. However, as in most parts of the city, parking is relatively expensive (26EUR per 24hrs, even more when parked on the street). Breakfast is very good, but better fruit juices should be considered :) Rooms itself are large to large enough, equipped with nice wooden floor. Water pressure is not perfect, but also not a reason to complain. Overall, good recommendations, in good walking distance to the city center as well as to the places attractive to tourists. Walls are not very soundproof, but the hotel is also not so fully booked these days.

Room Tip: You may chose river view for additional 10EUR charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sischka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, Manager at Thon Hotel Rotterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2012

Dear guest,

I appreciate you took the time to leave your comment about your stay at this hotel.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed most of it.
We try to improve ourselves every day so I am thankful for your tip about the fruit juices: we spent quite some efforts to improve our breakfast within the last period. We might consider offering fresh juices in the future in our breakfast concept.

Concerning the parking: there are a couple of options in the outskirts of Rotterdam, to park your car free of charge. They are well connected to the metro lines. This might be a good alternative if you would visit Rotterdam again?

Please feel welcome to stay with us the next time you visit Rotterdam.

Eric Slabbekoorn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Tulip Inn received top ratings in 2011 for the best Tulip Inn under the Louvre Hotels Group, well I hope the rooms we were in were old or something because if this place was considered "TOP" last year, i can't believe what the others look like. You pay for what you get i guess but the bed and pillows are not TOP in anything, besides the fact that our room had a smoke stench, I only overnighted so no need for a change, the view on the side of the bridge is pretty nice. Now back to the beds, the linens seem quite worn, and the mattress doesn't provide much support. The bathrooms have no washcloths but the only provide douchegel. Its seems to be typical for some dutch hotels to not supply washcloths, I called front desk for one, and I was told thats unavailable. For the rest was an "ok" room.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

this hotel isn't very fancy or special, but it's conveniently located and not too expensive.
So that's why I would stay here again.
I booked the cheapest room through my company supplier (115 €), so I received a small room with no view.
But the bed was comfortable, and the breakfast good enough (quite pricy though - 18 €).

Dinner is provided in the bar of the hotel, and it's not bad - but next time I would go out and find better quality food for a better price.
It's OK for one evening, but I guess if you stay here more nights, the choice is rather limited.

Positive: you receive 1 hour free use of Wifi with a code to be obtained at the reception.
Also the personnel at the reception is very friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chitza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Hotel is located in the city center, near the Erasmus bridge, very convenient to visit the city.
Rooms are clean, comfortable (some rooms have a beautiful view on the river).
People at the reception are very nice.
You can park your car in the street of the hotel, but you have to pay until 23:00 and it is expensive.
Breakfast is very good (large choice of fresh products).

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maincene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Thank you so much for the great service, the taxi order and the always great information on many issues. We are very happy to recommend them.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This is a good location to explore Rotterdam and is close to the metro. The #7 tram is literally just outside the door of the hotel and the hotel overlooks a beautiful bridge and waterway. We had a very nice, but very small room, overlooking the water. We stayed three nights and on the morning of the second day we looked out our window to see the beautiful Holland America Rotterdam in port. The next day the huge Princess Lines' Grand Princess was in port so this gives you an idea of how well-located this hotel is. Will stay here again but probably will reserve one of the bigger rooms next time.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the water. End rooms are pretty small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thunderbird12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Stadsdriehoek
Hampshire Hotel - Savoy Rotterdam
nhow Rotterdam
#7 of 55 in Rotterdam
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#8 of 55 in Rotterdam
867 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
H2OTEL Rotterdam
H2OTEL Rotterdam
#15 of 55 in Rotterdam
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Rotterdam

Address: Willemsplein 1, 3016 DN Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Nieuwe Werk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 55 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range: £60 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Rotterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Rotterdam is situated in the heart of the city, with a lovely view of the fabled Erasmus Bridge and the Maas River. Thanks to its central location, the hotel is a perfect base from which to explore the city’s countless museums, theatres, and other tourist attractions, which are all just a short distance away. At Thon Hotel Rotterdam we have 92 hotel rooms and 2 conference rooms. Our hotel rooms are modern decorated with a high quality single- or double bed, a bathroom with shower and toilet. Also has every room parquet floors, a flat screen television, air-conditioning and high-speed wireless internet. For meetings and trainings, Thon Hotel Rotterdam offers two conference rooms. We can place a maximum of 70 persons. Depending on the number of persons and the room layout, we can offer you a suitable room for your meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Stayforlong S.L., Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Thon Hotel Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Rotterdam
Rotterdam Tulip Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing