We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good 1 night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thon Hotel Rotterdam
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good 1 night stay”
Reviewed 11 November 2012 via mobile

Very friendly staff, good bar, clean and a very good location right next to the Erasmus bridge. Room was a tad on the small side but we got it for €50 so probably a budget room or something.

Only bad point was the rooms aren't that sound proof.

Overall a pleasant stay, would go back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graftonthfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    161
    112
    32
    10
See reviews for
34
156
29
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
457 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed 2 nights in November. Booked twin room for single occupation. Hotel is situated on the North bank of the River Maas, 2 tram stops from the city centre. The hotel is right beside the architecturally attractive Erasmus Bridge.

Room was clean, pleasantly decorated but to my mind extremely small. I was unable to secure a river view as arrived very late - shame as the view of the river and bridge must be very nice - instead I had to put up with a stairwell with a fire escape. If you can, get the river view.

Staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast was particularly good.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesdinovaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leipzig, Germany
Level Contributor
173 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Overall a good place. Very centrally located, directly on the riverfront. Easy to start your walk to exploring the city. However, as in most parts of the city, parking is relatively expensive (26EUR per 24hrs, even more when parked on the street). Breakfast is very good, but better fruit juices should be considered :) Rooms itself are large to large enough, equipped with nice wooden floor. Water pressure is not perfect, but also not a reason to complain. Overall, good recommendations, in good walking distance to the city center as well as to the places attractive to tourists. Walls are not very soundproof, but the hotel is also not so fully booked these days.

Room Tip: You may chose river view for additional 10EUR charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sischka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, Manager at Thon Hotel Rotterdam, responded to this review, 19 December 2012
Dear guest,

I appreciate you took the time to leave your comment about your stay at this hotel.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed most of it.
We try to improve ourselves every day so I am thankful for your tip about the fruit juices: we spent quite some efforts to improve our breakfast within the last period. We might consider offering fresh juices in the future in our breakfast concept.

Concerning the parking: there are a couple of options in the outskirts of Rotterdam, to park your car free of charge. They are well connected to the metro lines. This might be a good alternative if you would visit Rotterdam again?

Please feel welcome to stay with us the next time you visit Rotterdam.

Eric Slabbekoorn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Tulip Inn received top ratings in 2011 for the best Tulip Inn under the Louvre Hotels Group, well I hope the rooms we were in were old or something because if this place was considered "TOP" last year, i can't believe what the others look like. You pay for what you get i guess but the bed and pillows are not TOP in anything, besides the fact that our room had a smoke stench, I only overnighted so no need for a change, the view on the side of the bridge is pretty nice. Now back to the beds, the linens seem quite worn, and the mattress doesn't provide much support. The bathrooms have no washcloths but the only provide douchegel. Its seems to be typical for some dutch hotels to not supply washcloths, I called front desk for one, and I was told thats unavailable. For the rest was an "ok" room.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
128 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

this hotel isn't very fancy or special, but it's conveniently located and not too expensive.
So that's why I would stay here again.
I booked the cheapest room through my company supplier (115 €), so I received a small room with no view.
But the bed was comfortable, and the breakfast good enough (quite pricy though - 18 €).

Dinner is provided in the bar of the hotel, and it's not bad - but next time I would go out and find better quality food for a better price.
It's OK for one evening, but I guess if you stay here more nights, the choice is rather limited.

Positive: you receive 1 hour free use of Wifi with a code to be obtained at the reception.
Also the personnel at the reception is very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chitza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Hotel is located in the city center, near the Erasmus bridge, very convenient to visit the city.
Rooms are clean, comfortable (some rooms have a beautiful view on the river).
People at the reception are very nice.
You can park your car in the street of the hotel, but you have to pay until 23:00 and it is expensive.
Breakfast is very good (large choice of fresh products).

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maincene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Thank you so much for the great service, the taxi order and the always great information on many issues. We are very happy to recommend them.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#7 of 52 in Rotterdam
681 reviews
nhow Rotterdam
#8 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#3 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,218 reviews
NH Atlanta Rotterdam
#20 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Rotterdam

Property: Thon Hotel Rotterdam
Address: Willemsplein 1, 3016 DN Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Nieuwe Werk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Rotterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Rotterdam is a modern hotel offering breathtaking views of the famous Erasmus Bridge and Maas River in the centre of Rotterdam. We boast 92 air-conditioned guest rooms with full en suite facilities, free Wi-Fi, 2 meeting rooms, a bar and a restaurant. With our friendly service and large choice of packages and special offers for business and leisure guests our hotel is the ideal base to explore Rotterdam. Thon Hotel Rotterdam Hotel assures you a good stay in Rotterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thon Hotel Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Rotterdam
Rotterdam Tulip Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing