We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location...otherwise decidedly average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Thon Hotel Rotterdam
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great location...otherwise decidedly average”
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Good news:

- great location next to the river
- nice enough food
- friendly and helpful staff

Bad news:

- decidedly poor beds / sleep - no-one got a good night's sleep
- weak systems for billing
- charge for internet

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GroundedKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, Manager at Thon Hotel Rotterdam, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for taking the time to post your 'news' about this hotel.
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the food and the location and that you experienced the helpful intension of the staff.

Concerning your 'bad news' about the beds: unfortunately I do not know what room you were in, in order to check the bed. Usually we just get compliments about the beds, therefor I really regret your experience.
You also noted that there is a charge for the internet. Until now, we offered free internet on the lobby pc and one hour free wifi access in the room. We have just decided to start offering free internet in the entire hotel. So near upon there will be no more charge for the internet.

Finally, I hope that we may welcom you again in the future as a guest of this hotel for a new experience.

Kind regards

Eric Slabbekoorn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    171
    115
    34
    10
See reviews for
34
164
33
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

I stayed at the Tulip Inn for two weeks on business, ate their really expensive breakfast (not included in the room price), paid for the wireless (also not included in the room price), dealt with their very friendly and helpful staff, had dinner a few times in the cozy and reasonably priced (for Europe) restaurant/bar (try the "Spareribs" - they are "American" sized and quite good), and enjoyed the wonderful view of the Maas River and Erasmus Bridge. The Inn has a tram stop at the front door, and is a short ride to the the Rotterdam Centraal railway station. There is also a water taxi and tour boat quay right outside the front door. The maritime museum and "downtown" is just a short walk away. The room was clean and adequate, but I didn't spend a lot of time in it, either. I would say that I would have been a lot happier if they had included breakfast and internet in the same room price.

Room Tip: Ask for a view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irumley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schweiz
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

The special asset of the hotel is the location, at the river directly at the Erasmus bridge. So, if you can get a room looking at the bridge, that is a reason to book the hotel. However, those rooms also get more of the noise from the trams on the bridge, which might wake you up in the morning. Otherwise I don't see any special reason to book or to avoid the hotel.

My room was okay but a bit small; I liked the wooden floor and the maritime touch. The bathroom was quite clinical but did its job. The bed felt a bit cheap and unstable but it also did the job. The breakfast was good.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, Manager at Thon Hotel Rotterdam, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel.

I am pleased to see you liked the hotel and its privileged location and I hope we have the possibility to welcom you again during a next visit!

Kind regards

Eric Slabbekoorn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton on Tees
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Tiny room. Bar food absolutely awful: everything deep fried - deep fried chicken, deep fried bacon, deep fried mashed potato (seriously!). Are they trying to kill us? Avoid the food in the bar at all costs, although the breakfast was very good, varied and plentiful.

Nice enough people, Good location. We stopped there for two nights, but the size of the room was too small even for such a short stay (We had a "Classic" room which was tiny 3.35m x 3.6m (11ft x 12ft). One night would have been acceptable. Still, I suppose it is a city hotel in a good location at a cheap price.)

Room Tip: We had a "Classic" room which was tiny 3.35m x 3.6m (11ft x 12ft). Still, I suppose it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WhatYouWantForPrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotterdam hotels

Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Stayed for 5 days, first when i booked online for the economic room on the picture it seems ok but in reality it's so small with a ghetto view so I asked to be upgraded for the superior room and had a beautiful view on the bridge. The breakfast is ok, the dinner is expensive and not that good. There's goods restaurant near there.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minh Duy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

I stayed here for 9 nights recently - I was in Rotterdam for outpatient eye surgery, and had to stay for that length of time for follow ups. I chose the Tulip because it was a convenient location for the clinic, and because it was a reasonable price. As I stayed for one night on an earlier visit I knew it was comfortable enough for this longer stay. I asked for, and got, a quiet room on the 5th floor. I booked a double room just for myself so that I wouldn't feel claustrophobic spending a lot of time in the room after the surgery. It was clean with a good shower and comfortable bed. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast is good but expensive unless you eat a lot! However there are tea making facilities in the room, so I often didn't bother with breakfast. The restaurant is ok, but a limited menu for lunch/dinner and the wait for the meal much too long, even when there were only a few customers. On the whole it worked out well for me, and I will probably stay there again on my next visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Expatbrit7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Stayed here on an one night business trip. Rooms are clean, however a bit outdated. With a good package deal it is worth paying the money for. Breakfast is excellent. Public parking (paid) is around the corner. Personnel is friendly. If you are looking for a no nonsense stay in Rotterdam this could be the place for you

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank masasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
nhow Rotterdam
#6 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,498 reviews
NH Atlanta Rotterdam
#20 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#8 of 52 in Rotterdam
745 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Rotterdam

Property: Thon Hotel Rotterdam
Address: Willemsplein 1, 3016 DN Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Nieuwe Werk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Rotterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Rotterdam is a modern hotel offering breathtaking views of the famous Erasmus Bridge and Maas River in the centre of Rotterdam. We boast 92 air-conditioned guest rooms with full en suite facilities, free Wi-Fi, 2 meeting rooms, a bar and a restaurant. With our friendly service and large choice of packages and special offers for business and leisure guests our hotel is the ideal base to explore Rotterdam. Thon Hotel Rotterdam Hotel assures you a good stay in Rotterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thon Hotel Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Rotterdam
Rotterdam Tulip Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing