We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When I asked for a room with a view, I didn't expect this”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Thon Hotel Rotterdam
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“When I asked for a room with a view, I didn't expect this”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The view from my room was spectacular, and I spent a lot of time looking out the window, watching the passing boat traffic on the River Maas. The room was clean and comfortable, and quiet. Enjoyed the use of the coffee maker.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JSOfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    167
    112
    32
    10
See reviews for
34
158
31
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Good points: Clean, good public transport connections (easy access to city center and other attractions - you have tram 7 in front of the hotel and the subway at a 5 minutes walk), nice location (not crowded, nice view over the river), good breakfast (it is a decent breakfast with all you need - don't expect fancy).

Not so good points: The room is small, but if you are not staying for long, i don't think you will mind it. Yes, it is small, the bed is smaller than average but it is clean and decent. The ladies at the reception desk are not that helpful - don't ask them for directions or public transport because they will not know what to tell you (at least two of them didn't).

Highlights:
-Tram 7 takes you from the central station to the hotel. You hop off at the end of the line.
- You can buy tickets for public transport (for 1 day, 2 days etc - in Rotterdam the transportation cards are for each day, not for 12 hours, or 24 hours) in the central station, over the counter, or from the machines, but you have to pay with Maestro.
- Check your card in and out every time you hop on and hop off the bus, tram or metro. Otherwise your card will block and you will not be able to use it anymore.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roxana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here this year instead of Inntels across the road. I was initially put in a shoebox sized room, then on seeing the other 2 rooms I booked for friends, asked to be moved. The hotel staff were very helpful and moved me to a superior room which was a much better size. Overall hotel was clean and ok for the money. Situated near the bridge on the waterside.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vee575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

nice hotel with excellent view, next to the bridge and port, with big windows, cozy rooms, and nice breakfast...
helpful and kind people
clean and green...
free internet is speedy and without issues
nice room ergonomics, with nice desk and plenty of channels on tv
Free coffee. Nice bar down stairs.

Room Tip: hope that you get an upgrade to superior room - big windows, great view!!! ask for river side, even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AD-CY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Good hotel in nice area near the centar of the city. Just across the bridge is bussiness center. Rooms are nice with big bed and tv set. You have free coffee and tea in the room. Breakfast is very good and its buffet kind of type. On winter heating is very good. Restoran on ground floor is with basic meals, nothing special. Hotel don have any other activities.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ljubomir K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights
Rooms were fine but a little on the small side.
Cant comment on the food as we didn't have breakfast due to the scandalously high price
Location good views of the River Mass and Erasmus bridge,but a little out of the way for the centre of Rotterdam(although tram 7 goes from outside hotel)

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the bridge/river
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lordyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wednesbury,England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Stopped here the night before a one night cruise. Ideally situated you can walk to the cruise terminal. A taxi from the train station cost 12€ nice an clean, rooms weren't ready as we were so early, so we left the bags and went to explore. We didn't pay the extra for a view as not required for one night. Room was inside and very clean. Yes not the largest room, but again not a problem for one night. Tea and coffee in the room , nice and warm, very comfy bed, you will need an extra pillow though. Staff v helpful and the buffet breakfast, which was included in our room rate was excellent. Think we paid £70 inc breakfast for the two,of us

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TatsTats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
nhow Rotterdam
#7 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#8 of 52 in Rotterdam
727 reviews
NH Atlanta Rotterdam
#20 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,074 reviews
Oude Westen
Hotel van Walsum
Hotel van Walsum
#21 of 52 in Rotterdam
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Rotterdam

Property: Thon Hotel Rotterdam
Address: Willemsplein 1, 3016 DN Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Nieuwe Werk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Rotterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Rotterdam is a modern hotel offering breathtaking views of the famous Erasmus Bridge and Maas River in the centre of Rotterdam. We boast 92 air-conditioned guest rooms with full en suite facilities, free Wi-Fi, 2 meeting rooms, a bar and a restaurant. With our friendly service and large choice of packages and special offers for business and leisure guests our hotel is the ideal base to explore Rotterdam. Thon Hotel Rotterdam Hotel assures you a good stay in Rotterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Thon Hotel Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Rotterdam
Rotterdam Tulip Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing