We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay after a long haul trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thon Hotel Rotterdam
Ranked #20 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Reviewed 23 February 2010

I've stayed here many times. They have great beds and really nice duvets. This was sort a transit hotel that my company used whilst we were building a ship in Rotterdam. The rooms are a little odd though. Some are quite large and others tiny. The ones facing the Maas river seem to be the best, however; they are a comfy though. The staff is great and the restaurant isn't bad. Continental breakfast, they would pack a go box for you ,though some of our Italian collegues capitalized on this and packed enough for lunch too!

If you happen to stay here don't miss Granny's Grill down the road. Best ribs anywhere! Patrick the owner and Fred the manager are first class. Quite possibly the best food I've ever had anywhere! The location is great, avoid the Cafe Grotte, La Cave and other places that have alluring Eastern European girls standing outside unless you are independantly wealthy. Loo's on the corner is really nice in the somertime as they have outdooor seating.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeilFox007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2010

Its in a great location and has everything you need at a more reasonable price. The staff are really friendly and helpful, the rooms are good and dining there is also very good.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephenCKendal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2009

The location of this hotel is great.. Located at the side of a lake in Rotterdam this hotel is absolutely great.. Getting a room facing the lake wud a great thing to enjoy ur stay even more..

The rooms are good and the restaurant is excellent with good variety of foods..

Overall a very good experience and a good hotel to stay..

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank champ29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2009

Normally we stay in more budget-style accomodation, but that's pretty scarce in Rotterdam. The Tulip Inn was a nice change for us. The room was very small, but very comfortable and nicely furnished and clean. the staff were nice and breakfast was very good. Location was great. Free parking would have been nice, but we used the city park & ride, which was fine.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2009

Stayed at the Tulip Inn for 6 nights in March 2009.

rooms - very tiny (my colleague's room was even smaller. You could almost stand in the middle and touch the walls with your hands in his room). I couldn't image two people sharing this room. No place for your luggage. You can borrow an iron from the front desk, if needed. Word of caution - if you have children, don't let them 'channel surf', as there are 3 porn channels that show about 10 seconds before asking if you want to purchase.

My key card didn't work on two occassions which was annoying.

bed - blood stained blanket. The bed was comfortable, with four nice pillows provided.

Bathroom - again, very small but clean and the fixtures/shower curtain were new. Dispenser that provided bath gel/shampoo. If you forget your toothbrush, you can purchase one from the front desk. Hair on the towels sometimes.

Restaurant (bar) - average food. I had the salmon and it was too salty. The breakfast buffet is served in the other restaurant. Quite average, with the same daily selection of meats, breads, scrambled eggs and bacon.

Location - about a 5 minute taxi drive from the Rotterdam train station. You can take the # 7 tram and it stops right outside the door.

Front desk service / housekeeping - efficient with no problems.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Javagirl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2008

Coming in at night, the area seemed a little dodgy so we were grateful to find a car park just about a block away from the hotel. While the accommodations weren't wonderful they were adequate althought the bathroom could have used a little additional attention (I didn't take a shower because the curtain was so stained) but that may have just been luck of the draw. On the up side, this hotel has a great little bar overlooking the bridge and the staff are fantastic. We left some cheese in the mini refrigerator that we had purchased at the Alkmaar cheese market and didn't realise it until we had gotten home the next day. We called the hotel. and were told that the cheese had been found and was being kept in the refrigerator by the Manager. The hotel is shipping the cheese to us (of course we had to pay shipping costs) but they were more than accommodating. Regarding the location, it looks alot better in day light and it happens to be right next to the harbor cruise line departure and ticket shop (which, as far as we could tell is one of the only things to do in Rotterdam - although this is a great location to take a side trip to Kinderdijk from).

Stayed: July 2008
Thank Worldwidelunas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2008

very good hotel, staff was ok i expected the procedure of payment to be a little bit more better but everything turned out to be fine in the end. would deffinately stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank IanZahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Stadsdriehoek
Hampshire Hotel - Savoy Rotterdam
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#8 of 52 in Rotterdam
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cool
easyHotel Rotterdam City Centre
nhow Rotterdam
#7 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Rotterdam

Address: Willemsplein 1, 3016 DN Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Nieuwe Werk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range: £59 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Rotterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Rotterdam is situated in the heart of the city, with a lovely view of the fabled Erasmus Bridge and the Maas River. Thanks to its central location, the hotel is a perfect base from which to explore the city’s countless museums, theatres, and other tourist attractions, which are all just a short distance away. At Thon Hotel Rotterdam we have 92 hotel rooms and 2 conference rooms. Our hotel rooms are modern decorated with a high quality single- or double bed, a bathroom with shower and toilet. Also has every room parquet floors, a flat screen television, air-conditioning and high-speed wireless internet. For meetings and trainings, Thon Hotel Rotterdam offers two conference rooms. We can place a maximum of 70 persons. Depending on the number of persons and the room layout, we can offer you a suitable room for your meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thon Hotel Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Rotterdam
Rotterdam Tulip Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing