We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thon Hotel Rotterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Thon Hotel Rotterdam
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
West Oxfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2010

This is my second stay at the Tulip inn and I had a very comfortable stay. The receptionist was very helpful and polite, and because there were renovation works going on in the lobby I was given a free breakfast for the inconvenience. To be honest I did not hear the workers at all except a bit during breakfast.

The room was very clean and modern. A kettle and plenty of tea and coffee sachets on the table. The bathroom was well decorated and the extra large bath tub was a bonus!

I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dawnmlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    157
    108
    32
    8
See reviews for
31
152
28
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2010

We stayed 2 nights specifically to watch the Tour de France Grand Depart. We had one of the small rooms at the back of the hotel - the large ones overlooking the Mass I believe are much bigger. However, the room was very clean and the bed comfortable and all we needed for a short stay. Breakfast is great too - continental + scrambled eggs, bacon and chipolatas on offer as hot breakfast buffet every day. The bar was friendly and sitting outside overlooking the river was a nice way to relax in the evening.

The best thing about the hotel is its location. It is at the bottom of the Erasmus Bridge and within a few minutes walk of the Metro, which was really great for us. A 3 day ticket was 12 Euros and it enabled us to travel further than we would have otherwise. A trip to the top of the Euromast was also well worthwhile - it was under 10 Euros. You can book abseil too, which had we had more time I would have loved as it looked great fun.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappySUPPER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2010

Stayed here for 1 night. Check in was good as we arrived over 4 hour early but they allowed us to check in immediately. We were also given a free upgrade to a much bigger room that overlooked the Mass. The room was spacious and very nice. It had a large comfortable bed & a balcony although it was too cold to actually stay out on it. There were tea-making facilities in the room as well as a mini bar. The bathroom is on the small size for the size of the room.
The bar was very nice & had an intimate feel too it. The drinks although reasonably priced the glass of wine I received was small which didn’t help the fact it was served in a oversized glass & the bar girl just guessed & poured a measure in, but she definitely aired on the lesser side.
This hotel is very central to everything but it is a good walk from central station so I would recommend either a number 7 Tram which stops outside or a taxi.
Breakfast was included in the rate & we found it to be excellent. There were hot food items like bacon sausage scrambled eggs & boiled eggs as well as cheeses meats breads toast etc.
All in all this is a very nice city hotel & we certainly would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 20lindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2010

I've stayed here many times. They have great beds and really nice duvets. This was sort a transit hotel that my company used whilst we were building a ship in Rotterdam. The rooms are a little odd though. Some are quite large and others tiny. The ones facing the Maas river seem to be the best, however; they are a comfy though. The staff is great and the restaurant isn't bad. Continental breakfast, they would pack a go box for you ,though some of our Italian collegues capitalized on this and packed enough for lunch too!

If you happen to stay here don't miss Granny's Grill down the road. Best ribs anywhere! Patrick the owner and Fred the manager are first class. Quite possibly the best food I've ever had anywhere! The location is great, avoid the Cafe Grotte, La Cave and other places that have alluring Eastern European girls standing outside unless you are independantly wealthy. Loo's on the corner is really nice in the somertime as they have outdooor seating.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilFox007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
301 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2010

Its in a great location and has everything you need at a more reasonable price. The staff are really friendly and helpful, the rooms are good and dining there is also very good.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenCKendal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2009

The location of this hotel is great.. Located at the side of a lake in Rotterdam this hotel is absolutely great.. Getting a room facing the lake wud a great thing to enjoy ur stay even more..

The rooms are good and the restaurant is excellent with good variety of foods..

Overall a very good experience and a good hotel to stay..

  • Liked — Restaurant
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank champ29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2009

Normally we stay in more budget-style accomodation, but that's pretty scarce in Rotterdam. The Tulip Inn was a nice change for us. The room was very small, but very comfortable and nicely furnished and clean. the staff were nice and breakfast was very good. Location was great. Free parking would have been nice, but we used the city park & ride, which was fine.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#7 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
NH Atlanta Rotterdam
#20 of 52 in Rotterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
nhow Rotterdam
#8 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
Quartier Du Port
#30 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Rotterdam

Property: Thon Hotel Rotterdam
Address: Willemsplein 1, 3016 DN Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Nieuwe Werk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Rotterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Rotterdam is a modern hotel offering breathtaking views of the famous Erasmus Bridge and Maas River in the centre of Rotterdam. We boast 92 air-conditioned guest rooms with full en suite facilities, free Wi-Fi, 2 meeting rooms, a bar and a restaurant. With our friendly service and large choice of packages and special offers for business and leisure guests our hotel is the ideal base to explore Rotterdam. Thon Hotel Rotterdam Hotel assures you a good stay in Rotterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Thon Hotel Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Rotterdam
Rotterdam Tulip Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing