We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (525)
Filter reviews
525 results
Traveller rating
77
214
149
53
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
214
149
53
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews central station minute walk tram stop price quality stayed here for nights city centre nice room netherlands
Filter
Updating list...
198 - 203 of 525 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. My first reaction was to go online to find another hotel. Unfortunately we decided to tough it out. The positive for the hotel was the breakfast - good choice of toast, rolls, eggs, baked beans etc.
The negative list is somewhat longer - the first thing we noted was the general appearance of the corridors which were scuffed and in need of a coat of paint. Then came the room which was located on the first floor on the main road. The room was smallish and once again in need of a coat of paint. At first we thought the window was open as the traffic noise was quite loud, unfortunately this was not the case, the windows are not double glazed. Adding to the traffic noise was the ticking of an extremely loud wall clock. The worst was yet to come. The bathroom ceiling was covered in mould. The toilet took approximately 15 minutes to fill up once flushed, this could be heard from the bedroom which added to the noise at night. Proximity to the train station is also not as described by the hotel, a least a twenty minute walk.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is located t the back of the hotel.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Egoddard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

This hotel claims to be modern and 4 star. It is not modern and it is not 4 star. Room was very small and noisey-woken at 6am with passing trams. The large clock in the room was annoying. The breakfast items that were supposed to be warm, were cold. The location is not as central as the adverts would have you believe.The carpets have seen better days. Our plan was to stay 3 nights but we made our escape after 1 night ( to a proper 4 star hotel which turned out to be cheaper !)
Overall this hotel has nothing going for it.

Room Tip: Choose a better hotel
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lawrencefoye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Well, it's that kind of hotels that are not too bad, though I can't believe it's a four star.
OK, I should have expected something, thinking about the low cost of the room, but a four star hotel should anyway provide four star services.
Some details: in three days, there was NO replacement of soaps in the bathroom and teabags and biscuits for the kettle... furthermore, the kettle itself was awfully dirty and mouldy!
All in all, the room was very tiny but quite comfortable... though the walls were kind of paper, and the noise coming from nearby rooms, especially by night, was very annoying. Furthermore, also the bathroom fan was permanently working, and noisy.
As for the positive sides: rich and quality breakfast, helpful and kind staff, position (at walking distance from the central station and the city hall)

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EduardoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Spent two nights at this hotel in mid-February.
Crown hotel is located north of the Centraal Station in Rotterdam and even farther north of the central city.
As others have mentioned, there are two parts to this hotel - one old and one newer.
If you reserve a standard room, you will be in the older part.
If you reserve a superior room, you will be in the newer part.
Reception staff are friendly and helpful.
Breakfast has a nice variety.
There is no onsite fitness center.

Room Tip: Reserve a superior room.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

In need of renovation there was a strong mouldy odour coming from the Bathroom and the dodgy worn out mattress and bedding had taken on the smell of the mould and made me feel not very 4 * for my 100 Euro for the night.
There was also a barely functional TV it would switch of on its own or the sound would cut out once it warmed up. Do yourself a favour, go somewhere else if you like the basics to be right

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jkingart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews