We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“travel plan should be provided”
Review of Hotel Rotterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Rotterdam
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Seoul
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“travel plan should be provided”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

The location isn't far from the central station, but you should bring the map to find a exact short cut to Schiekade road. If you have a heavy luggage with you, then you'd better to take a tram #25 at Rotterdam Centraal perron C toward Schiebroek direction and get off at Schiekade. It's two stop journey. The room was very clean and cosy.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank ecofield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    180
    132
    47
    31
See reviews for
42
166
54
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

we stayed with friends 2 nights here in 2 different type of rooms Both were in the renewed building, same price but room sizes were different. One is up on the top floor is really smaller (smaller sized double bed) but comfortable, the other is on the 2nd floor with a big bed, extra area for table and chair, and both had nice bathrooms. The staff was helpful, the breakfast was good, but nothing special and the hotel has a good location. The only negative part is the garage. As others mentioned...it is really inconvenient, especially we had a big family space car. I can say it is almost impossible to park there alone. Very narrow turns and spaces....you need a help from outside! All in all it is a good for hotel for the value!

Room Tip: Ask a room lower floor and the old building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anais R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We stayed in this hotel for two nights in August. We came by car, therefore we reserved the garage in advance. Hotel is located almost in centre of Rotterdam, consequently the garage is almost a must, while there are only payable parking spaces in front of the hotel and nearby streets. It is not cheap at all(15€ a night), but a safe place to put a car in. It is although rather inconvenient, very narrow, also narrow spaces and many turns. hotel itself exist from two buildings, the old one( in which we were staying) from the beginning of the 20th century and the newer one from the 80's. The old one has very narrow wooden stairways, but also the elevators. Walls are very thin, you can hear the neighbour using the toilet etc. But we got lucky, we got namely small room on second floor, but it had a view of the Rotterdam downtown and it also had a bay window. The room was also very bright, overlooked also on the ver busy city street( six car lanes, two tram tracks and sirens wailing all the time), but I was very tired, so I did not have any problems with sleeping. bathroom was very small, tired, had some problems with water pressure and was made nearly out of closet. Wireless internet (free of charge) worked also in the room, but with very bad signal. Breakfast was good, with broad variaty of food, but the dinning room was very crowded. Hotel also has its own restaurant, but it works only on weekdays.
As i mentioned, hotel is situated about 500m from city center and shopping streets, you don't need any public transport, but the city itself is nothing special,except if you are fan of "modern" architecture and many building sites. Seems like some industrial capital of eastern Europe with many immigrants.
All in all it was a good hotel for a very fair price, especially for Holland. But more like a three star hotel in my eyes.

Room Tip: Ask at least for a room with a bay window or even better, a room in the modern part of hotel, overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MannyRiviera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

The hotel was very good value for money and within walking distance to the central station and shopping area.Service was generally good .Maintenance a bit poor in the 'old' rooms, however the 'newer' rooms seemed to be nicer, spacious and well maintained,located on the quiet side of the street. The safe deposit did not work properly and the doors of the bathroom needed to be repaired because of difficult opening and closing ,for example. Breakfast was very good buffet but without fresh fruit. The Staff were great and helpful on the reception desk, I will come back again!

Room Tip: Take the room in the new part of the hotel because they are located on a quiet side of the street .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ado677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

This hotel was excellent value for money. Within walking distance of the central station and the city, the rooms were spacious and very clean. the bathroom was also clean with a great shower .
The Staff were great and helpful, I could not ask for more....will come back again !

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

I arrived early after a transatlantic flight. The reception staff invited me to wait in the lobby and gave me a cup of tea while waiting for a room to be ready. My luggage had been mislaid by the airline and again reception went to no end of trouble to track it down. When it arrived it was delivered to my room. Thanks to the wonderful staff. My room was a typical European single room. I could not turn the thermostat down below 18 degrees so I found the room warm. A good breakfast with variety was included. The Hotel is a short walk from Rotterdam Central Station and across from a tram stop so the location was excellent. I would definitely stay here agian if in Rotterdam

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judithO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We managed the walk from the railway station and arrived early, the hotel was able to store our bags until the room was free for check in later.
The room we stayed in was reasonable for a budget hotel. It was generally clean, although there was quite a bit of dust around the TV (a medium sized flat screen). The shower was very tempremental with a choice of boiling or freezing water on most occassions. We stayed for 4 nights and I managed to have only 1 good shower!
The breakfast was continental style, it was reasonable quality with a fair variety of choice. It opened early and closed late which offered a good deal of flexibility.
The staff on reception spoke reasonable English and were able to give us some information about things to do locally. I would recommend visiting the tourist information office for more detailed information though.
The hotel is located a fair way behind the railway station and it is definately too far to walk into Rotterdam from. There is a tram stop close to the hotel. We found the trams easy to use and bought the Rotterdam card from the tourist information office (17.50 euros for 3 days) to use the tram and metro, plus it gave us discounts to some of the attractions. Having the card really helped us to have a good holiday!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adventurer-susie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Cool
easyHotel Rotterdam City Centre
Stadsdriehoek
Hampshire Hotel - Savoy Rotterdam
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#8 of 52 in Rotterdam
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oude Westen
Hotel van Walsum
Hotel van Walsum
#21 of 52 in Rotterdam
274 reviews
NH Atlanta Rotterdam
#20 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rotterdam

Property: Hotel Rotterdam
Address: Schiekade 658, 3032 AK Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rotterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rotterdam
Rotterdam Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing