We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near the Train Station”
Review of Hotel Rotterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rotterdam
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Reviewed 6 July 2013

This is a good budget hotel near the train station. We had a triple room which was plenty spacious, but the bathroom was small. We were near the street. Fortunately, we arrived on a Saturday night, and the traffic on a Sunday was not too heavy, so we could sleep in. Overall, it was a good place and I would not mind staying here again. The staff was friendly. They did allow us to store our bags for free, otherwise we would have had to pay over 11 Euro at the train station for two lockers. There were a lot of students there.

Room Tip: They allow you to store your bags for free. You would pay up to 7 Euro for a locker at the train st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sajiv S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Hotel Rotterdam.
Positives: great location close to the centre of town and the train station, but not noisy. Staff are efficient and friendly.
Just book a double room, the single is quite small, but adequate for 1-2 nights.

Room Tip: Get a double room, the single is only fine for a few days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

The hotel was okay.
We checked in on Friday, May 31st 2013 around 17:30hrs and the lady who helped us with checking-in was not friendly. Not even a smile not even direct eye contact. Our friend who made the booking couldn't come so we've changed the name of our booking earlier. I tried to explain it to her, even showing the print out of the confirmation of change but she didn't care and didn't want to listen/look. She said: "it's no use to me" and kept looking on the computer wondering why she couldn't find the name!! In the end it's settled but we're very dissappointed with her attitude as a receptionist.
Luckily the receptionist on the next morning was very friendly and helped us with smile.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
Thank carladl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This hotel is very reasonably priced and offers good quality accommodation.

Its location is superb - only 5 minutes' walk from Rotterdam Centraal Station and the tram also stops right outside the hotel.

Staff are friendly and helpful with any "touristy" questions.

A great base from which to explore southern Netherlands.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulianFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed five nights on business, clean, pleasant hotel though not 4 stars. Well organised with vey friendly and helpful staff. 5 minutes from the station if you come from the back entrance. Good location if you have to travel around Holland by train. Also if you are a hockey nut like me it's only a tram ride away from Rotterdam HC so took up the opportunity to see some hockey. My company were well pleased with my expenses on this trip!

Stayed: May 2013
1  Thank diana o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

A very nice hotel with a very helpful and friendly reception.Room was quite small but clean and comfortable.Booked for a triple room but was fully occupied and instead was given a double room and single room next to each other with no extra cost.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank G_dol_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Possibly due to the strength of the Euro against the pound, the hotel wasn't seen as particularly good value for money, even before the shortcomings encountered, plus with the tired decor it wouldn’t rank as matching the [four?] stars claimed.

The decor in the bedroom was fading and somewhat tired, with flaking paint off the ceiling and chipped skirting board. However, as far as sleep comfort; unfortunately the single bed, placed against one wall, meant the mattress was becoming unevenly worn down [apparently as it hadn’t been turned or even renewed in a while] so this prevented a good night’s sleep…although the room at the back did avoid any main road traffic noise.

The evening meal was pleasant enough, but the main course fish fillet part was quite small….so again not really value for the money paid…. The buffet breakfast was adequate.

Finally, the check out was farcical, as the receptionist tried claiming I was someone else who had [over] stayed two nights. So they then tried to charge again double what had already been paid [in full], when I arrived the previous night!

Room Tip: Choose one at the back away from main road noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brassed_Off_Jynxed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Cool
easyHotel Rotterdam City Centre
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#8 of 52 in Rotterdam
833 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Hampshire Hotel - Savoy Rotterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdriehoek
H2OTEL Rotterdam
H2OTEL Rotterdam
#17 of 52 in Rotterdam
354 reviews
Worldhotel Wings
#13 of 52 in Rotterdam
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rotterdam

Address: Schiekade 658, 3032 AK Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range: £47 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rotterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rotterdam
Rotterdam Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing