We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pricey But Lovely Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rotterdam Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pricey But Lovely Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

I stayed at the Hotel as had a professional exam in Rotterdam. It was expensive but has all the style and sophistication that a 5 start hotel should have. Staff were first class, room was very pleasant and well appointed. Location is excellent - just across the way from the train station. All in all, a lovely 5 star experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ_NL_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManhattanHotel, General Manager at Rotterdam Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback regarding your recent stay here at The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam.

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and will certainly pass on your positive feedback to our entire team!

Should you plan to return to our beautiful city, please do not hesitate to inform me of your next reservation, giving us the opportunity extend you with warm, personal and bespoke Manhattan service!

Please do not hesitate to contact me at the Executive Office, upon making your next reservation should there be anything I can assist you with!

With warm regards,

Erik de Wit – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    732
    410
    110
    38
    8
See reviews for
146
477
62
399
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
50 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

one of the top hotels in the city. next to central railway station. close proximity to business district. top location to tourist traps just outside them. very good westin service, next to casino and winner of world luxury hotel award. perfect location for fashion events and top shopping and nightlife. great ivy restaurant serves decent food.

Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Espergaerde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManhattanHotel, General Manager at Rotterdam Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam with us.

Good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and will certainly pass on your feedback to our entire staff, which is a great motivation for us all.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Rotterdam so we can show you the rest of the city. Our Concierge is pleased to make some nice itinerary suggestions to explore Rotterdam!

With warm regards,

Erik de Wit – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monte Nido, CA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

I came to Rotterdam last February and stayed at the Atlanta which was fine, but not great. I wish the Manhattan had not been sold out at that time as it's clearly a superior hotel. The touches are all modern and very tasteful. The hotel is also right across from Central Station, making it very convenient.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManhattanHotel, General Manager at Rotterdam Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Dear valued guest,

Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam. I am very proud that you experienced the personal and genuine guest service in a contemporary environment, which is our main focus here at the hotel.

As you already mentioned, the hotel is very well situated, close to the train station and the main areas of Rotterdam's city center.

Many thanks again for your support. I hope to be able to greet you at the hotel on the occasion of your next stay.

With warm regards,

Erik de Wit – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

Stayed here for just one night on business. I got to the hotel at around 11.15pm, the hotel look nice and presentable with a nice entrance. Check in was quick and easy however no offers of orientation. I noted that that the cafe bar was closed, I guess because of the time of night. Also noticed two people making lots of noice around the lifts and I wont type here what they seemed to be up to as they got in the lift (but not this comment for later.) Got to my room, down the dark purple low lit corridors. The room was basic, but nicely fitted out with large double bed, coffee facilities, an expensive mini-bar and tiled floor to ceiling bathroom with walk-in shower. The aircon was quite but didnt seem to do much to warm the room up. I went to the bar to see if I could grab a night cap and small snack to eat. the bar was nice and comfortable, background music, nice armchairs and a relaxing feel at first. I asked for a glass of wine, nicely priced but told that bar fod had stopped at 11pm. I asked for some bar snacks, such as nuts or crisps and got told by the barman that as it was Sunday, there was nothing as nothing is delivered on a Sunday! The young couple entering the lift were sitting at the bar and my instinct was that the young girl worked at the hotel by the way she was dressed, which was really inappropriate on the way they were behaving earlier. The next hour was put up with no more drinks being offerred by the barman, he was more interested in banging around tidying his bar and joking with the couple at the bar who were then accompanied by whom I believe was a secuirty guard or something of that nature and continued between then to make so much noise it was not a pleasent time to sit in the bar. My sleep that night was good, the bed was comfortable however A/C still not up to much. i went to the gym in the morning, to find that it was temporary allocated on another floor. when i got there half the equipment was missing, the one treadmill and one cross trainer broken, no workout in the morning! Breakfast was a good affair, food nicely presented, staff were helpful and the restuarant was bright and airy. Checkout was quick and easy however it always makes me laugh when they ask how your stay is, i poltely explained of my nights stay and the front desk quickly apologises and moves on. So to the general manager, before you reply to this message, dont apologise, get the staff addressed as its too late by now, I have already paid for my stay! Overall not a bad experience, but when you turn up late and need some refreshments and staff to look after you make sure they do and when you advertise the gym for start of day, make sure it works, I will be back as I have to for work reasons, its a better hotel than the Hilton down the road.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keegan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManhattanHotel, General Manager at Rotterdam Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Dear Mr. D,

Thank you for your review and sharing the experience. I read it carefully, was embarrassed, did some investigation and had the pleasure of addressing the matter with those responsible.

As you suggested, I won’t apologize to you, but do thank you. Not only for giving the opportunity to improve but also for giving us the opportunity to show you that this was a very unfortunate incident and the incidents do not reflect the usual standards of the hotel.

Next time you travel to Rotterdam, please feel free to contact me personally. I would be pleased to chat about the incident and have a drink with you.

With kindest regards,

Erik de Wit – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

Located in the heart of the business part of the city, it is very convenient.
Room is good, spacious and clean.
Breakfast has a good variety, and service is good.
You can use some airline loyalty cards to get points.

Room Tip: Get a room at a high floor - construction site nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsPatriciaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManhattanHotel, General Manager at Rotterdam Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your stay at The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam.

I am very proud to note that you value the hotel as perfect for your business trip and that you enjoyed the room and various facilities provided at the hotel, including the good service and variety during breakfast.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back at the hotel soon on the occasion of your next trip.

With warm regards,

Erik de Wit- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

I stayed here for weekend of carnival and entertainment. Everything is within easy reach the beds were comfortable, very clean and i am very fussy about my bed and my shower. I have to admit the bathroom was immaculate. Yes i would recommend this hotel and even if you cant speak a foreign language don't worry because theres always someone there that can understand you and help.

Room Tip: High floors are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anitacobbina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManhattanHotel, General Manager at Rotterdam Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Dear valued guest,

I appreciate your time taken to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the central location of the hotel convenient. Thank you as well for your very positive feedback about our rooms, we really appreciate this!

Thank you for recommending The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future!

With warm regards,

Erik de Wit – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

I have just returned from a business trip, that I extended into a long weekend, at the Manhattan, which was a 5* experience in every way. I have worked in Rotterdam for over 15 years and there is no other hotel that I would prefer to stay in. In my last review I praised the Brasserie, which again lived up to my expectations - thanks to an excellent job by the Maitre d'. This time I would like to say thanks to a rather unsung hero - Iwon, the Bartender. He works tirelessly and remembers everyone's names and what they drink and gives a very personal service - quite a feat in such a busy bar, he really is an asset to the hotel. I would also like to express my opinion re breakfast. I know that it is expensive, but as it's served until 1.30 at weekends that surely constitutes breakfast and lunch? The choice and quality of the food is terrific and the service is wonderful - especially from Ahmed. This is one business trip that I certainly look forward to twice a year!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManhattanHotel, General Manager at Rotterdam Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback regarding your recent stay here with us at The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam. Your loyalty during the past years is very much appreciated.

Providing excellent guest service is our main focus and therefore I am very proud to note your positive experiences in that regard. I am happy to note that you tried The Manhattan Brasserie again and that you enjoyed the meals, excellent service and atmosphere.

Your special thanks to our Bartender Iwan, our Maitre d’hôtel Boudewijn and Ahmed are duly noted. Your detailed positive feedback is highly appreciated and passed on to the entire hotel staff, as it is a great motivation to keep on striving for excellent guest service.

Hopefully I will be able to welcome you back personally on the occasion of your next visit.

With warm regards,

Erik de Wit – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Cool
Hilton Rotterdam
Hilton Rotterdam
#3 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#4 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
nhow Rotterdam
#8 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
Suite Hotel Pincoffs
#1 of 52 in Rotterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rotterdam Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rotterdam Marriott Hotel

Property: Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
Address: Weena 686, 3012 CN Rotterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam)
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Cool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rotterdam
#2 Business Hotel in Rotterdam
#5 Green Hotel in Rotterdam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rotterdam
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rotterdam Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In recent years, Rotterdam has transformed into a versatile, dynamic city. It is home to Europe's largest port and has become a trendsetter in many ways. The city is bustling and flourishing and has received a lot of exposure and recognition over the last years which has not gone unnoticed internationally. The Rotterdam Marriott Hotel is one of the leading hotels of Rotterdam. The hotel is located in Rotterdam Central District, directly opposite the brand new Rotterdam Central Station. The Central District forms the entrance to Rotterdam. This is the area in which Rotterdam en Europa literally meet. From here you can walk directly to the city center where a vibrant cultural and nightlife scene awaits. The Rotterdam Marriott Hotel has 230 elegant and spacious hotel rooms (all renovated in 2016), featuring gorgeous views over the city's skyline. Each room is equipped with state-of-the-art facilities and amenities ranging from high speed internet, comfortable bedding to spacious marble bathrooms and 42" flat-panel TV. The function rooms and boardrooms of The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam are suitable for both large events and small, intimate business meetings. In addition our building is physically connected to 'de Doelen ICC Rotterdam'. Thanks to this exclusive connection we are able to provide conference space for up to 3000 persons. In our new lobby we've created a whole new arrival experience and vibrant meeting point for guests, business travelers, office users and passers-by. Pillars, our lobby's new contemporary Restaurant & Bar, is simple and flexible and meets the needs of today's Marriott traveler to combine work, relax and play. The menu in Pillars lists Bites, Social Sharing and Casual Entrées. In the Pillars Bar you'll be taken on a journey through the world's different vineyards, offering a wide selection of 25 high quality wines by the glass, including exclusive wine-flights and signature cocktails. Traveling to Rotterdam couldn't be easier. From Amsterdam Schiphol Airport it only takes you 25 minutes to travel into Rotterdam by high speed train and in 26 minutes you'll standing in our hotel lobby. Rotterdam-The Hague Airport is located at 10 minutes driving distance from the hotel. International trains such as the Thalys (2,5 hrs, from Paris), Deutsche Bahn and Eurostar all arrive at Rotterdam Central Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott and Booking.com so you can book your Rotterdam Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Rotterdam
Rotterdam Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing