We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired old rooms attached to a Chinese restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
NH Atlanta Rotterdam
Ranked #20 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Tired old rooms attached to a Chinese restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

Our original 'standard' room looked like something from the 80s and had the wear and tear you might expect from decor of that vintage - pretty grim (really). After a chat with the front desk staff we were upgraded to a junior suite. Nice, you might think. The 'suite' had better decor but basically resembled a semi-decent double room you would fine in any other three star. We weren't quite sure why the room was classified as a junior suite: one room, one chair and not much else.

We wouldn't return unless they offered a really good deal and we were promised an upgrade.

Room Tip: Avoid standard or smoking rooms (these seem to be the worst of the bunch).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank locomota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    411
    229
    91
    52
See reviews for
112
352
50
303
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

Firstly, I can confirm that this hotel is conviniently located near to Rotterdam Central Station (7 euros in a cab / 10 minute walk) and is very close to the shopping district.

I was given a room on floor M, which is the meeting room floor. The room itself is huge and has windows along 2 walls making it very bright but also noisy as you can hear noise from the main road.

Althought the room is double, it is actually two single beds pushed together so not ideal for a couple. The bathroom is OK and has a bath with a shower. The hotel does provide a lot of goodies in the batheroom including the ususal shower gel, soap, shampoo etc but also added extras such as brush, comb, sponge, nail file ec - all individually wrapped.

The room does have a mini bar but it is not particularly well stocked but fair prices for a city centre hotel. The room also has a kettle but again, the coffee/tea etc is not at all well stocked.

I had room service at the hotel which was very quick and tasty but not an awful lot of choice on the menu. There is a larger menu in the bar and also a very nice looking seafood and dimsum restaurant.

Breakfast is a very basic continnental, nothing to write home about.

The staff at the hotel speak good English and are very friendly.

All in all, good for a couple of nights if the location is suitable

Room Tip: 106 is a massive room but beware of the road noise althought this may be an issue throughout the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

Overall, I did not like the hotel and I feel it was presented much better online than it actually is. Positive aspect was that the staff was very friendly, the breakfast was OK. Negative: the hotel is very outdated, with used carpet, black spots all over in the bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Veronique_Axelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotterdam hotels

Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

Good location, clean rooms and friendly staff. I stayed two nights and found the staff friendly and the rooms clean and welcoming. The decor and room size varies by floor and my colleague who stayed on the top floor had a smaller room but a huge balcony! The rooms lower down was bigger and the decor was better. The hotel is conveniently located close to the centre and the station. There is a Chinese restaurant on the ground floor and it looked busy so I am guessing the food is good. Really liked the art deco decor especially the staircases and brass fittings.

Room Tip: For bigger rooms try the lower floors but if you want views and an outdoor space ask for a room on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vishalakshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

The Atlanta is in the centre of the city near to many cafes and restaurants and the old harbour. Well one of them as Rotterdam seems to have many harbours and docks – old and new. The foyer was spacious and light with helpful reception staff.

The biggest disappointment was the rooms – they were dark and rather cramped with little or no decoration. The windows had old metal frames that were not double glazed so rather noisey from the busy street outside. A well stocked minibar was nice but we had no liquid milk – only powdered creamer which was hopeless in tea. 3 pillows were provided but we had to ask for a fourth which came in good time.

Three excellent lifts whisked patrons up and down – the breakfast room being in the 5th floor with fine views over the city. There was no restaurant as such just an extensive (and pricey) room service and a Dim Sum Chinese establishment on the ground floor which looked very authentic.

Breakfast was a bit of a let down with just an average selection of food and a long wait if anything ran out especially the hot scrambled eegs – staff were rather inefficient – and the toaster took ages (which seems to be normal in most hotels!).

Free wi-fi was available in the foyer but it took me 6 goes to get my code to work – slips of paper with daily codes are all around.

All in all a pleasant stay which is what I would expect for a 4-star hotel.

Room Tip: Ask if there is one away from the main road as there is no double glazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffandLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oslo
Level Contributor
176 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Within 15 minutes walking distance from central station. Plenty of eating places around. A very good breakfast. Reception staff very friendly and helpful. Housekeeping needs to be improved. Room was described as having Tea/coffee facilities, but there were no cups or spoons in the room. Got some after asking for same from the lobby, but housekeeping did not replinsh it the next day and had to ask again.

Room Tip: Ask for room on a higher floor if you are a light sleeper, as the trams passing in front of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arvid59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

To be honest, based on some of the tripadvisor reviews, I was approaching my stay with hesitation. So, I was pleasantly surprised with my experience. I stayed on the 5th floor and the hallways were odor-free and my room was decent and didn't seem lacking in amenities. The breakfast was very nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lhansen80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#8 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#3 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cool
Hilton Rotterdam
Hilton Rotterdam
#2 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Cool
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
#6 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#4 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Atlanta Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Atlanta Rotterdam

Property: NH Atlanta Rotterdam
Address: Coolsingel - Aert van Nesstraat 4, 3012 CA Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Rotterdam
#13 Romantic Hotel in Rotterdam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Atlanta Rotterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Atlanta Rotterdam is surrounded by the city's top destinations for sightseeing, shopping and nightlife. Constructed in the 1930's, this charming, art-deco structure provides a captivating contrast to the sleek and ultra-modern World Trade Centre conveniently located across the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, NHHotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Atlanta Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Atlanta Rotterdam Hotel Rotterdam
Nh Hotels Rotterdam
Nh Atlanta Hotel Rotterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing