We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Messed up reservation system”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Atlanta Rotterdam
Ranked #21 of 55 Hotels in Rotterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

Grand ole dame in the city centre. Stayed for 3 nites and each time I walked past the reception, always seeing the front desk person clarifying some check in/out issues with guests. And come my turn to check out, I was not spared either. Having to deal with multiple bookings that they see in the system and insist that I pay cancellation charges for those bookings that they cancelled as no show. How was it that they did not see n clarify this on check in, yet they can note it on check out and ask for payment! Opportunistic system! Archaic yet make money for their messed up system!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AAdrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 1,232 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2013

Where to begin -- this was easily one of the worst hotels I stayed in and is more like a budget motel. How they fly the NH flag I do not know.

Bed was super uncomfortable, sagging to the point where I debated sleeping on the floor.

Room was dusty in spots and other spots (link sink) stained.

WiFi slow as heck. It may be free but it is not useable, even at off hours.

Staff are unfriendly and not willing to help with directions, etc.

Others said this too but there is a noticeable draft that comes in from the windows along with a lot of street noise.

This place is a dump and not worth it. There are much better options in Rotterdam.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BergMan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

I was incredibly disappointed with this dump of a hotel. The front desk was useless, except on my departure when the desk clerk double checked on my driver due to my very early check out. The location is good and the building is in the art deco style with massive ceilings. The bedrooms were tired: the mattress was sagging, the sheets and towels were thin, the windows and curtains were dirty and the carpet was stained and torn. The lighting was extremely poor in the bedrooms, so you could not read or do work. The television was old with a fair selection of channels. The bathroom was clean. Even the kettle for boiling water was ancient. The hallways were creepy with dirty carpeting. The breakfast room is pretty (high ceilings) and staff somewhat friendly. The bar was fine. There is a Chinese restaurant off the lobby which was very dirty and smelled foul. I had two separate stays in one week, so experienced two different rooms and they were both horrible. This place needs a total scrubbing and redecoration to be considered part of "NH".

Room Tip: Book another hotel in Rotterdam....this place is not worth your money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martinlucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I read the reviews and thought people must just have had something go wrong as it flies the NH flag. But not, the hotel just is not up to par and does not meet quality standards.

The rooms are old, tired and while clean, have permanent stains in the sink and are outdated. Not to mention the bed should have been thrown out years ago ... incredibly sagging and awful. TV is old and you have to "press hard" to use the remote.

As others mentioned, WiFi is incredibly slow to the point that it is not useable at times. NH makes a big deal that it is free, but it's not useable at points. Reception had a line most times to see them and while friendly, didn't go above and beyond.

Would I return if I come back to Rotterdam? No.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PlateMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night on business. Staff service was fantastic, reception service very good and the barman more than helpful. I had a couple of drinks and a bar meal which was very nice although a little expensive.

I had room 327 which had all required facilities. It looks like the bathroom has been upgraded recently and is very nice with large screened shower. The bed was comfortable and mini bar well stocked. As other comments show, the lighting is pretty poor in the room especially when arriving after dark. The room was also very cold when I arrived and the radiator was shut off. I opened this fully but it still wasn't very hot after a couple of hours. The window is very old single glazed steel frame and very very drafty, and with the radiator directly below it I guess this is where the heat goes! The floor also is laminate wooden effect and would be more comfortable to the guest with carpet.

Room Tip: 327 wasn't as bad as some others seem!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tom197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

This used to be a great deco bulding: high ceilings, big windows, nice entrance with a center stair to both sides... But the reality is that it now seems a dark and very sad place. The ilumination is so poor that you almost see nothing on the room. I had to put my book literally below the lamp to be able to read it, so was the low power of the lamps. And I used two different rooms with the same issue. All the furniture, paintings and carpets need a swap out since time ago, although because of the low ilumination it was difficult to see whether things were clean or not. The breakfast is poor. The NH usual spanish "iberico ham" had been sustituted by a low quality ham, and the rest was below the standard.
I use to go to many NH hotels since time ago and usually you get what you expect: a good business hotel with clean and comfortable facilities. This is not the case. The price was not high according to the Netherlands standard, but still.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesusizdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Stayed here for a business trip in December. Got one of the old rooms on the second floor. The quality of the room was just terrible and I only got cold water in the shower two mornings in a row. The breakfast was not up to standard, the bed was hard and uncomfortable and the room was really cold even with full heat on as the draft from the windows is severe. I actually got sick after staying here and I suspect that the draft from the windows was the reason. The location is good, maybe the only positive thing about the hotel. Really needs to be upgraded. The value for money is terrible as the hotel is actually quite expensive. Avoid at all cost.

Room Tip: Make sure to get on of the new rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PetterHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 55 in Rotterdam
1,634 reviews
Cool
Hilton Rotterdam
Hilton Rotterdam
#4 of 55 in Rotterdam
1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdriehoek
Hampshire Hotel - Savoy Rotterdam
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#8 of 55 in Rotterdam
867 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#3 of 55 in Rotterdam
1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Atlanta Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Atlanta Rotterdam

Address: Coolsingel - Aert van Nesstraat 4, 3012 CA Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Rotterdam
#13 Romantic Hotel in Rotterdam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range: £75 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Atlanta Rotterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Atlanta Rotterdam is surrounded by the city's top destinations for sightseeing, shopping and nightlife. Constructed in the 1930's, this charming, art-deco structure provides a captivating contrast to the sleek and ultra-modern World Trade Centre conveniently located across the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, NHHotels, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your NH Atlanta Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Atlanta Rotterdam Hotel Rotterdam
Nh Hotels Rotterdam
Nh Atlanta Hotel Rotterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing