We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Emma”
Review of Hotel Emma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Emma
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved the Emma”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed three nights at the Hotel Emma. The room was simple and clean and very comfortable. Very friendly owner and pleasant, efficient staff. Terrific breakfast included! A great location two long blocks from the train station, just an easy few minute walk. I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 679DanM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    90
    9
    11
    4
See reviews for
38
44
25
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed at Hotel Emma for three nights so I could attend a family weekend. It was comfortable, welcoming and the receptionists were very helpful. I would have no hesitation in recommending it to others. It is in a great location near to everything, with good restaurants and bars and shops.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 667Steel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolding, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

A Very nice little hotel in the centre of Rotterdam. 10mins walking from Centraal Station, and Tram and busses right outside the door. Room is clean and tidy. Service is friendly and bathroom is light and clean more than happy for 52€ including breakfast! I'd stay there again. Can surely recommend it!
I had a single budget room, so it wasn't big, but plenty for a single night!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Fenderguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Hotel Emma became 'home base' for my Netherlands trip last week. I'd only booked two nights but liked it so much I extended my stay by several days. First of all, my room was spotlessly clean. You get fresh towels and linens every day (whether you need it or not), and the cleaner kept the bathroom immaculate. My twin room was a good size and it was also very, very quiet, which I attribute to proper soundproofing; I never heard my neighbours. I also value walkability so I found the location next to Eendrachtsplein well-situated for all kinds of nearby shopping (Lijnbaan), restaurants (I liked a few on Nieuwe Binnenweg and Witte de Withstraat) and bars (across the street there's Stalles and Rotown). Museumpark is a 5 minute walk. There's also a supermarket on the same block, handy for a rainy night when you feel like simply eating cheese and drinking amazingly inexpensive Belgian beer in the privacy of your room. Rotterdam Centraal station is about a 12 minute walk, or a short tram ride and there's a tram stop and a metro station in front of the hotel. I found the staff at the reception desk were very friendly and helpful although I didn't like that they need to buzz you in and out of the entrance (a key card swipe should be sufficient). The breakfast spread was good and featured fresh bread, fruit, yogurt, cheese, cereal, and a self-serve cappuccino machine. Another plus, there's a small elevator so you don't need to lug your things up flights of stairs.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Beyond its rather constricted Reception area, this hotel has surprises in store. My room was wonderful – attractive and extremely comfortable. The attached modern bathroom was large, well-equipped and spotless. Hotel staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful and very professional. Location is pretty good with interesting shops and cafes/restaurants close by. It’s a bit of a hike to the main train station but fortunately tram transport is right outside the door of the hotel. At the end of my stay when it was time to pay the computer system was “down” and Credit Card payment was not possible. This problem was promptly and satisfactorily sorted out by the Receptionist. Rates were slightly on the high side given the limited facilities in the hotel as a whole – but otherwise it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Great location for a couple of nights in central Rotterdam. Near main station, close to Metro and trams. In the heart of the bar and restaurant area.

Hotel has small very secure off street parking at a reasonable €10 per day.
Good selection of cooked meats and cheeses and 3 types of fresh bread at breakfast

For the price I paid, I can't fault this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Si W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

our stay at Hotel Emma was total value for money. the location is excellent. a 5-10 min walk from central station, it is next to both a tram station and the Metro. the rooms are basic and simple but clean. we had a triple room which was a bit crowded but the hotel is very clean. the washrooms are small but clean. toiletries are not provided except for soap and body wash. there is a coffeemaker in the room but no tea. The breakfast was included in teh price so it was a big deal for us and the breakfast was also quite good. for teh money we paid, we got a really good deal.

there are plenty of cafes and restaurants opposite the Hotel where one can eat. do check out Rotown which is bang opposite the hotel entrance and a popular nightclub. however, if you walk through the club to the back of the club, there is a very nice restaurant ( family types) with really warm waitresses and the food is really good.

the receptionists at Hotel Emma were very open and warm. They will assist you with sightseeing tips and can also issue the travelcard for the day at the hotel itself. all in all, a very good value for money we paid.

Room Tip: the rooms facing the road can get a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank namkolar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,320 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#8 of 52 in Rotterdam
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cool
Hilton Rotterdam
Hilton Rotterdam
#3 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,290 reviews
Cool
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
#7 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,398 reviews
nhow Rotterdam
#6 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Emma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Emma

Property: Hotel Emma
Address: Nieuwe Binnenweg 6, 3015 BA Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Oude Westen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Emma 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Emma is a small and friendly hotel ideally located in the heart of Rotterdam. Public transport and the shopping area are right at our doorstep as are many cafes and restaurants. Rotterdam Central Station is at only 850 meters from the hotel. Your host, Luigi Orsini, and his team hope to welcome you. They will see to it that you will feel right at home, to further maintain an 80-years Rotterdam family tradition. ***At home in Rotterdam ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Emma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emma Hotel Rotterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing