We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fish burgers!”
Review of Vessel 11

Vessel 11
Reserve with
Save up to 20% when you reserve online *
Vessel 11 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 1,053 Restaurants in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$22
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Vessel 11 is the Netherlands' first British gastropub. The restaurant, bar and live music venue is a magical location on board an old British lightship docked in the heart of Rotterdam. The ship's kitchen serves high-quality British food based on traditional pub recipes but with a twist of the unexpected. The menu focuses on local, seasonal and where possible organic produce. On weekends V11 offers what the Brits do best; a full English breakfast and a Sunday roast. In addition to Vessel 11's bar and restaurant, the ship also has a regular line up of great bands that play in its intimate venue in the belly of the ship. Furthermore, if you are up for a taste of the outrageously decadent you can book a ride in V11's HotTug - a boat and a hot tub in one. Soak in steaming water as you check out the sights of Rotterdam from one of its historic canals. V11 has the welcoming feel of a friend's living room and is an enchanting mixture of comfort, quality and quirkiness.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great fish burgers!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Very romantic location (a red boat!), friendly personnel and awesome fish burgers, not to mention the delicious red ale!! Also recommended, the vanille rhubarb dessert... all great! I'll definetly go back soon to try the rest of the menu!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    76
    16
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The most beautiful and alternative restaurant”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Lunching, having breakfast or just a drink, this boat restaurant in the center of Rotterdam is just the perfect choice. Amazing view over the water, busy but also chill spot. Good one!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Theexplorer353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Actually called V11 - quirky British at it's best...”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Wonderful, wonderful quirky British food - nestled on an old British Lighthouse Boat in the middle of Rotterdam. Less than 5mins walk from Rotterdam Blaak station, it feels like stepping into a 2nd home. You're given a menu sheathed in an old book (mine a 1920s children's book) and sit surrounded by beautiful slightly off the wall decor. The food is British - but with a twist. Eggs with asparagus soldiers, the BEST beetroot and goats cheese salad I've EVER tasted (it had different coloured beet roots, grapefruit and nuts too) and a desert I fell in love with (involving strawberries, shortcake biscuit and creme anglaise ). I left wishing I didn't live so far away - I'd like it to be my weekend place and my kids would ADORE the boat. Very, very wonderful.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ToniaOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Honestly bad food”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

After going to Portugal, I went with my girlfriend to this restaurant so we can sample the Portuguese food in Rotterdam. The food was honestly terrible. Out of 4 dishes, there was not a single good one. The only positive thing was the nice setting and sitting on the deck.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nzlatev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Tapas, Cool Boat!”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The tapas here was excellent, the best I've had in Rotterdam so far. I had the set menu for 25Euros a head. It was very very good.
The setting is also amazing, its a great location and a quirky boat.
Book early for this place, i have since tried to go back and not been able to get a table, it was so good ill keep trying though!
can't wait for the summer to come back around do i can go and enjoy this place sat on the open deck!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vessel 11 also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Vessel 11? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing