We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Close to Central Station, restaurants, shopping area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Central
Ranked #46 of 55 Hotels in Rotterdam
Reviewed 3 May 2011

weakness: very noisy on Friday and Saturday night because very close to cafes/bar
i need to press the button strongly 5 times in order to flush the toilet in Room 315
WIFI is free but often up and down in Room 305
Hotel neonbox and outside appearance are broken and they let it without any renovation

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Junsurya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2011

We payed 60 euros for two for one night. Which seemed pretty good and that included a free drink each. The lobby and bar area had an old skool charm and the room was perfect for one night in rotterdam with a balcony. Overall I was happy and would return again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2011

Stayed in this hotel in Rotterdam on a work trip to Belgium and Holland for one night in January 2011. Location is great, five minutes walk from Rotterdam railway station and just around the corner from shopping area.
Hotel is quite worn out, especially the room side. Tv didn't work. Unfortunately I noticed it quite late, around 10pm, but phoned the reception. I was told someone would come and fix it, but no-one did. Walls where thin, so I could hear well the noises of the honeymooner couple next door.
Good sides in addition to the great location were that wireless internet was free (though cutting occasionally) as well as the internet in the lobby. Also when checking in, I was given a free drink coupon to the downstairs bar. The reception staff was very nice and helpful. Breakfast buffet was adequate.
Mostly for the great location I would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkusMalahide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Good location. Close to the train station and the major shopping streets. Rooms have the basics. Clean but smell "old". Free WI-FI in the rooms. Hilton does not provide free wireless. Breakfast is average. Reception sells chocolates, shaving foams and condoms. Booked 4 nights for Eur300. Fortunately i was leaving at 08.00 and coming back at 19.00. For few hours sleep, this hotel is just ok!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DemRap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

A very cheap hotel. Its not bad to spend one or two nights in, which is what I did, but noth longer. The rooms were dark and a bit dirty, but i only paid 50 euros for the night, so i was not expecting the hilton, which is across the street. There is free internet, which was great. If you are in Rotterdam just to party, i would say stay here, but its not for couples or serious travelers, mostly for young kids.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roczberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed for one night in this hotel because our train left early the following day. We needed something relativly cheap and close to the train station, well this is it. I wouldn't call €60 euros cheap but we had no choice.

The highlights:

The room was very smelly and the bathroom had a creepy little surprise for us: a bandage spoiled in blood was lying on the floor.

Door key (card) wasn't working so after a few tries they gave us the last spare key of the room.

I didn't expected a fully decorated room, but this one was just too plain. the decoration really needs some work, the entire room looked quite sterile but trust me it didn't smell that way.

fortunately we only stayed at the hotel for about 9 hours...

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank termsofuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Pros: The hotel is just minutes away from the central train station and the location and attractions around are very nice. Breakfast was very good with kinds of cheese and jams and breads and other stuff. The price is quite low with respect to the other hotels in central area of Rotterdam, which reminds me the cons.
Cons: At the check-in (and the check-out!) they had difficulties finding my name, which was solved in less than 5 minutes fortunately. The aisles had their own "old and dirty" smell although the room was clean. Towels and sheets were shabby but clean. The main problem was with the heating system. In mid October, the weather was quite cool. I was told the heating system was down and no blankets were left. I had to sleep with clothes on in order not to get cold. Keep in my what you may experience if you book a room.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdaGms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Stadsdriehoek
Euro Hotel Centrum
Euro Hotel Centrum
#45 of 55 in Rotterdam
190 reviews
Cool
easyHotel Rotterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Atlanta Rotterdam
#21 of 55 in Rotterdam
1,232 reviews
Hotel Rotterdam
#24 of 55 in Rotterdam
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Central

Address: Kruiskade 12, 3012 EH Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 55 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range: £49 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Central 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rotterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing