We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a convenient location for small business trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Central
Ranked #45 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Ekaterinburg, Russia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It's a convenient location for small business trip”
Reviewed 21 May 2011

I arrived almost night and was greeted by friendly staff.
This hotel is really 'Central'.
In the morning a had tasty breakfast
Of course they should renovate the interior of room, but they have a competitive price

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBritvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    53
    109
    83
    135
See reviews for
45
103
38
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2011

I booked this hotel Agee Reading positive reviews on it. I was only staying one night and arriving late at night due to being on a cycling trip so it was ok for what I needed. The facility area in the hotel is ok, noting special but not bad. The staff very helpful and polite. Now for the rooms. I booked 3 room at this hotel and all could have done with being renovated......about 30 years ago. Yes, it's like entering the mid 1900s rooms are very spacious but I don't think I have seen such a dated dwelling. The location of this hotel is very good and I think with cash spent on it it could prosper as one of Rotterdam's better hotels given the location alone.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Advisorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotterdam hotels

london
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

All the bad reviews are true.

The hotel is filthy. I requested a non-smoking room which smelt like an ashtray - I was told 'well, the room is non-smoking when you are in it'...
There were mosquitoes in the room and bloody marks where previous guests had killed other mosquitoes.
There was dried vomit in the elevator.

I was overcharged for the room. Then the reception staff tried to reverse the charge and put the charge through again. I declined their offer to 'hold onto my credit card overnight' while they sorted it out and got my credit card company to refund.

It really is the worst place you could stay. (If only I'd read these reviews before booking.)

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guyh001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludhiana, India
Level Contributor
91 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

To get there;

A short 15 minute walk from Rotterdam Centraal, but may not be a good idea if you have luggage and it is a sunny day or a cold morning. You can get the Metro till Stadhuis which is the next stop after Centraal. Get off at Stadhuis and walk towards the very visible Hilton hotel opposite the obvious Stadhuis ( town Hall). On the same road across the road is the unassuming Grand hotel which can very easily be missed.

Good

1. Well the reception is old but reminds you of older grander days. Nobody will be found at the reception but a ring at the bell will bring out someone. Check in is easy and on check in they give you a couple of coupons for drinks at the hotel bar.

2. Free wifi via free hotspot.com

3. Very large room with an old colonial bathroom. Which despite looking ancient is however clean and dry.

4. There is a kettle with ample supply of tea and coffee things.

Bad

1. it was hot in the rooms with no Airconditioning. However the windows can be opened. But it is a choice between hot stuffy and quiet or noisy and cool

2. The bathrooms fitaments are old and the hotel has a general run down look.

3. There were some horrible looking towels in the bathroom.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jubbin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2011

I came to the hotel earlier - at 11 am and they told me in the reception the room is not cleaned yet and it will be ready in 1 hour. I took a walk and came back after 1,5 hour - the room has not been cleaned yet... And I waited until 2.30 pm and upon my loud protest finally I got a room (after 3,5 hour of waiting).
The room has been dirty. I could not sleep in the night because of itching. The bed clothes has been probably not washed and there were a kind of insects - fleas or scabies. I had to go to doctor and cure myself after comming home.
FAILURE !!! THE CLEANERS DID NOT THEIR JOB !!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jadorex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salatiga, Indonesia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

weakness: very noisy on Friday and Saturday night because very close to cafes/bar
i need to press the button strongly 5 times in order to flush the toilet in Room 315
WIFI is free but often up and down in Room 305
Hotel neonbox and outside appearance are broken and they let it without any renovation

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Junsurya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2011

We payed 60 euros for two for one night. Which seemed pretty good and that included a free drink each. The lobby and bar area had an old skool charm and the room was perfect for one night in rotterdam with a balcony. Overall I was happy and would return again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Stadsdriehoek
Euro Hotel Centrum
Euro Hotel Centrum
#44 of 52 in Rotterdam
171 reviews
Cool
easyHotel Rotterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#8 of 52 in Rotterdam
726 reviews
NH Atlanta Rotterdam
#20 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,074 reviews
Hotel Rotterdam
#27 of 52 in Rotterdam
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Central

Property: Grand Hotel Central
Address: Kruiskade 12, 3012 EH Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Central 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rotterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing