We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Central
Ranked #45 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“In the heart of the city”
Reviewed 5 May 2012

The hotel is really close to the Central Rail Station and is in the centre of Rotterdam. Kind staff, free PCs with Internet in the lobby, kettle in the room and DELICIOUS and varied buffet for breakfast. However, it was a little loud at night (there's a nightclub just next door so make sure the room isn't facing Kruiskade street). We paid 65euros for a double, which I thought was quite expensive but still cheapest at that time.

Room Tip: there's a nightclub just next door so make sure the room isn't facing Kruiskade street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fandorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    53
    106
    83
    135
See reviews for
45
103
36
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

First time in Rotterdam. Hotel is old but found the food and staff very good. They were very helpful in finding me cheap parking.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob241205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
123 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I didn't spend the night here, but was here a day during the Marathon of Rotterdam. While the runners were running (relay-race) we spend the whole day in the hotel with all bags as a central meeting point. We tried to order some coffee and tea, but the man at the reception said: "it's to busy now, so I can't make coffee." When I tried again 1 hour later (all the runners were out!) he said: "It's not possible now, the bar will open at 15.30 h, when all the marathon runners are gone."
We ended up getting coffee, tea and all our other drinks at nearby shops. I guess they're not into making some money! The public toilets near the bar looked very old.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rayodelsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotterdam hotels

Brussels, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I stayed at the hotel for one night with a friend of mine and we really enjoyed our stay. To be fair we had planned to stay at a hostel but the price was so good here we tried it. The room was nice, clean, quiet. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and we got a free drink. The location was perfect, which was the most important thing for us. And in the morning there was breakfast included. We expected toast and a coffee but it was actually a wonderful hot breakfast buffet! After a night out on the town it was very satisfying. For a romantic night it the city maybe this is not the hotel for you, but for the price we found it t be a great hotel and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and found it to be quite old and worn out. The lift was broken and we were staying on the 4th floor. The cleaning crew used some kind of foul smelling cleaning supplies. The noise from people shouting in the alley was annoying. The breakfast was marginal, and the bacon was really bad. The beds were hard like park benches. Overall two thumbs down. We didn't find any bugs.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelvin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroclaw
Level Contributor
261 reviews
260 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Great location. Only 5 mins away from central station and to the city downtown. Very helpful and pleasant staff. The room there is large and clean. Free internet in reception. The breakfast is excellent and included in the price!
Telephone does not work in the room. Hotel is old.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pawel_WRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

The Central is a cheapish hotel right in the centre of Rotterdam, near the Coolsingel. It's a 10-minute walk from the train station and near the major tram and underground lines.

It's worn and very much in need of renovation -not that I expect they will renovate any time soon. The downstairs bar and lounge are somewhat smutty. The rooms are basic and not particularly cosy. So it's not the place for a romantic getaway or family vacation.

However, for my stay, where I just needed a bed and easy access to the town, I found it sufficiently clean and well-located. I slept well enough. Breakfast was uninspired but allright. The price was significantly lower than that of other hotels in the area. It was all I needed.

In conclusion: you get what you pay for. If you need a better hotel at the same price, you need to stay well outside the centre. Alternatively, the Hilton is just across the road.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeyondBlame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Cool
easyHotel Rotterdam City Centre
Stadsdriehoek
Euro Hotel Centrum
Euro Hotel Centrum
#44 of 52 in Rotterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Rotterdam
#30 of 52 in Rotterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#7 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
NH Atlanta Rotterdam
#21 of 52 in Rotterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Central

Property: Grand Hotel Central
Address: Kruiskade 12, 3012 EH Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Central 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rotterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing