We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“City centre location and cheap.....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hotel Central
Ranked #45 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Burntisland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“City centre location and cheap.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

Having read some of the previous reviews I entered with some trepidation. The lobby reminded me of hotels in bucharest circa 1991. Many of the ceiling lightd not working etc. Having said that I LOVED THIS PLACE! The receptionist was just lovely and although some of the carpets on the journey to my room need a good spring clean, I found my room clean and fresh. Fittings are from another era but will soon be back in fashion! The room was quiet and the breakfast splendid for the money.
City centre location, tons of eateries and cafes nearby.
Altogether I could not have wished for better even with all the faded charms.
Budget travellers and pet owners welcomed. One of the few hotels left in the centre of Rotterdam that allows and welcomes dogs. I will go back.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leminier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    52
    103
    83
    132
See reviews for
43
101
36
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kenilworth UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

I stayed at the Grand Hotel Central for a night with friends as we were going to see Feyenoord FC. We checked in early and were able to leave our bags as our rooms weren't ready; On our return, the rooms were tidy and clean, although there was a musty smell of cigarettes present. The beds were comfy, but my night was disturbed by a rattling flagpole outside my room (the very strong winds weren't the fault of the hotel!!). A very dark bar area, with a wonky pool table meant we didn't spend our evening in, but we all had plenty to eat from a good breakfast selection. Given the price we paid, this was a good place to stay, but not one I would consider if travelling with my wife!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 403, with the rattling flagpole outside (although it was the night of the storms in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbakenilworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

I stayed here for one night on a Sunday to Monday, taking the missus out for a day in Rotterdam. The location was great, and for 55 euros for a double, I couldn't really complain about much. The room (on first floor) was nice enough, kind of smelled musky / cleaning agent / old carpet. The beddings were clearly washed and starched, so whatever. The shower pressure was really strong, so it was great.

Now while we were in the actual room, there were little winged insects flying about and whatnot, but we didn't think much of it because that's just normal bugs every now and then.

Then we found a wingless mite-looking insect crawling on the pillow, and then couple more creeping out (we had just finished watching a movie in the dark), and to the best of my knowledge bed bugs are not visible to the naked eye, so I googled it, and they actually are visible at an adult stage. Some were beige-ish and yellow and others were dark red and etc. I'm thankful that we didn't linger in there long enough for them to get in our clothes, and transmit them to our home, because that would have been devastating.

So we packed out bags and left at 2am, the hotel lobby guy confirmed the bugs (I took a picture of it), and said they are a big problem in the hotel industry, gave me the full refund, and that was that.

AVOID. DO NOT GO, if you go, just be warned.

Room Tip: choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotterdam hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

I think all those that gave bad reviews for this place don't get out much!! For 44 quid a night in an inner city hotel with a great breakfast, thats value. Yes the decor has seen better days, the rooms are basic, if you want luxury, go to the hilton over road at 4times the price !! If you want to be near tube, tram, central station, shops, bars and restaurants, stay here,

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steveleeds2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Surely this is not a luxurious hotel but Iit is near the Rotterdam central train station and also close to De Doelen center,.a place for meetings and concerts .This hotel is a good place for a short stay offering you the basics

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wishaw, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Stayed there June 24 & 25th 2013 because everywhere else was fully booked.
Grand, thats an understatement, mabye during the war as the place needs a complete overhaul it is run down.
Rooms are basic, supplied towels are not fit for being used as dusters.
The opposite nightclubs are noisy and you need earplugs for a sleep, and the ongoing building works nearby is like living in a worksite.
Windows in my room on the 4th floor had broken catches and no safety latches, need replacing and very old and would notg pass any building regulations. Small children would need supervised!

Avoid at all cost unless you are desperate and dont fancy sleeping in your car or alleyway.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel at all cost, Faulty Towers is a 5 star compared to this shambles
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pelikan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

This was the most disappointing hotel I have ever booked [with Expedia]. The room smelled bad, was uncomfortable, had no phone, no hair dryer, no telephone, no soap, etc. Although I fully anticipated that the hot water would run out during my shower - at one point the WATER stopped altogether - no water at all! I understand that this is a low-cost hotel and that expectations should be lowered accordingly, but in this case this was not even closely worth the low cost. Incidentally, I attempted to enter this review on the Expedia site, but they asked that I re-write it for them to post my review - which I did not. Great location though.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 999Franco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Cool
easyHotel Rotterdam City Centre
Stadsdriehoek
Euro Hotel Centrum
Euro Hotel Centrum
#44 of 52 in Rotterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Rotterdam
#29 of 52 in Rotterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#7 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
NH Atlanta Rotterdam
#20 of 52 in Rotterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Central

Property: Grand Hotel Central
Address: Kruiskade 12, 3012 EH Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Central 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rotterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing