We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap staying in nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Central
Ranked #45 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cheap staying in nice location”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Before visiting the hotel I had read many negative reviews about it and was prepared for unpleasant visit. That ended up being unnecessary. The bed was comfortable and the room was tidy and peaceful. No signs of bedbugs at all after all the scary comments on the websites. TV was nice and the wifi worked ok.

The staff was really friendly and helpful. When we checked in our room wasn't ready yet so we got complimentary drinks. After that the room was ready in about five minutes.

The hotel has seen its best days for sure but I didn't expect anything fancy for the really cheap prize we got. Location was excellent! Plus, we had many good laughs when entering the hotel and got scared of the loud alarm sound on the outside door! ;) They should do something about that.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirsikatriina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    53
    109
    83
    135
See reviews for
45
103
38
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I stayed in this hotel fortunately for one night. The hotel is a cheap hotel so I expected a no frills hotel which is what it was. Very out dated furniture, bathroom, etc. The staff were friendly and did allow us to check in early at no extra cost. HOWEVER, a few hours after checking out at the hotel I noticed I had been bitten on my shoulder, I didn't think anything of it. Then a few hours later my legs and back started to itch. Within six hours I had about 8 bites on my body, I was in terrible discomfort. Once back home I had to visit my GP, she confirmed it as bed bugs due to bites in typical lines. After a few days the itching had finally gone but 5 weeks later I still have scars.

Room Tip: go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hkm2281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotterdam hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I have spent 3 days in the Grand Central Hotel, although the room was quite basic and old fashioned our breakfast was very nice and the price for a triple room was quite attractive.
There was no wifi in the rooms but PCs in the lobby. Great location at the Coolsingel and a walking distance to the Central train station.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank WandaSer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amsterdam
Level Contributor
111 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

bigger than average room for the price and bathroom bigger than expected. the overall hotel is a little shabby but not delapidated. have stayed here twice now when visiting Rotterdam for concerts and is one of 2 that i will use there - good basic hotel with a good breakfast service and a great location

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Batboy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piran, Bohinj, Slovenia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

One of the best places I have slept was here, rooms a big, clean, the bathroom is also big and clean, bed is awsome, staff is very fun and realy friendly Breakfest is AWSOME, so much choise and very delicious!!. It is near train station, actualy everything is neat :) I've realy enyod here and I will thefenetly come again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jure K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, UK
Level Contributor
156 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

For those seeking a budget hotel right in the middle of Rotterdam, you could do worse than the Grand Hotel. It is opposite the Hilton, whicih suited me, as I was attending a conference being held at the Hilton, but did not want to pay Hilton prices. All I wanted was a room with a comfortable bed and a shower/WC. And for £32/night for a single room, that's pretty much what I got.

But for location, this is absolutely in a prime place!

The staff were great, the front desk could not do enough and the broken light bulb was fixed soon after I reported it. Sadly the dirt in the soap container in the shower was not removed, though the room was otherwise clean.

The room had the latest in digital radiator control. By this, I mean that it was either full on (and the room was impossibly hot), or completely off (and the room was chilly)! No amount of micro-adjustment was able to provide a happy mean. I could have opened the window, but by so doing I would have been subject to the noise of the building work taking place adjacent to the hotel!

The decor was dull, the room design functional and uninspiring and the lift one of those frightening versions with no inner door. Would I take my wife there? No. Would I stay there again if I were on my own? Yes,

In my opinion, this is a hotel that is ripe for a make-over.

But if it had received a make-over, then it would have been more expensive and I would not have stayed there. And that, my friends, is a conumdrum!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front may suffer from noise from drinkers in the street opposite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAGBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Stadsdriehoek
Euro Hotel Centrum
Euro Hotel Centrum
#44 of 52 in Rotterdam
171 reviews
Cool
easyHotel Rotterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#8 of 52 in Rotterdam
727 reviews
NH Atlanta Rotterdam
#20 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,074 reviews
Hotel Rotterdam
#26 of 52 in Rotterdam
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Central

Property: Grand Hotel Central
Address: Kruiskade 12, 3012 EH Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Central 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rotterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing