We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dont Do IT!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of New Ocean Paradise

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Ocean Paradise
Yorkshire England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dont Do IT!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2007

I recentey stayed at Ocean Paradise for a weekend while attanding the North Sea Jazz Festival, We had requested a delux double room non-smoking, we got a large room which was not delux at all, the first thing that hit me was the smell very unpleasent ,There was a thin layer of dust on the furniture, the Satelite/cable TV was a joke with no clear picture, no tea/coffee maker, mini bar or safety deposit box. thr fridge was dirty and badly stained.The writing desk in the room had broken draws and some lights in the room were not working, Worst of all there were urine stains at the back of the loo.The hotel was very noisey with doors slamming from 7am onwards
I requested another room but due to the festival all room were full and as were all other hotels.
The staff said it was a non-smoking room but sometime guest break rules, i told them it stinks and they provided some air freshner. If this room was CLEANED properley then it most likely wouldn't stink. the only thing that saved us was the bed was comfy. to sum up it's a very dirty place,I would never stay there again ever, you have been warned.

  • Liked — beds were comfy
  • Disliked — dirt and smell
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank rookwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruud E, General Manager at New Ocean Paradise, responded to this review, 29 May 2015
Dear Rookwood,

Thank you for having left your review back in 2007. You were quite the early adapt It has been a while but we appreciate your feedback nonetheless. My name is Ruud Essenberg and I am the General Manager of New Ocean Paradise. I apologise for the terrible experience you have had with our hotel. For what it is worth, we learned and took all reviews into account.

Anno 2015 I can say that we are making plans for the second renovation in 8 years’ time. The situation that you have described is absolutely intolerable and I dare say it will never happen again, we have a very dedicated cleaning crew.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    4
    0
    7
    14
See reviews for
1
8
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2006

I stayed at this hotel in november 2006 and was very surprised and disappointed with the stay.

It' was quite difficult to locate and in a quite deserted area of the city. On arrival the boat looks pleasant enough. It has a chinese restaurant downstairs to the left and a chinese supermarket on the right, upstairs are the rooms and an a la carte chinese restaurant.

The room we were given was a twin and not a double and was a smoking and not a non smoking as ordered. The bathroom was a decent size but was dirty with stains around the bath and on the floor. When asked at reception about the room not being the correct one the manager came and checked the room and gave us a non smoking double as requested. Of which the bathroom was still unclean.

As for breakfast i was shocked - it consisted of orange juice, coffee and a chinese biscuit!!! No exageration!!

I wanted to stay at this 3star hotel due to the novelty of the floating boat but would definately deter anyone away from this hotel.

  • Liked — Overnight parking was free
  • Disliked — Uncleanliness
  • Tips/Secrets — Look elsewhere!!!!
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Love2travelalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruud E, General Manager at New Ocean Paradise, responded to this review, 29 May 2015
Dear Love2travelalways,

My name is Ruud Essenberg and I am the general manager of New Ocean Paradise. First of thank you having left your feedback. You probably have to dig deep in your memory to remember us. You also might wonder why we still bother to write an answer after almost 9 years of radio silence.

We have taken all reviews of all years seriously and are currently preparing for the second renovation. We renovated in 2012 and plans have been made to renovate in 2015. Therefore, we expect to deal with the cleanliness issues once and for all. Reviews made it possible to see our flaws and tackle them.

I hope that you are still traveling the globe and visiting places, we are still floating in Rotterdam. The city has gained immense popularity because of recent additions such as the Markthal and the new Central Station. I must say that it is definitely worth your while to visit Rotterdam once again.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotterdam hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#8 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#4 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
nhow Rotterdam
#7 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#3 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
SS Rotterdam
#9 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Ocean Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Ocean Paradise

Property: New Ocean Paradise
Address: Parkhaven 21, 3016 GM Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Nieuwe Werk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — New Ocean Paradise 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ni Hao! Searching for an Asian experience in the heart of Rotterdam, look no further! This beautiful landmark hotel hosts incredible views of the famous river the Maas. Very large rooms are the ideal base for a city trip and to relax after a day of fun. New Ocean Paradise is a jack of all trades as the venue also has an Asian supermarket and all you can eat restaurant on board. The Asian Floating hotel is an ideal base to go out and explore Rotterdam, a world city that is host to beautiful architecture with contemporary design. We are conveniently situated in the centre west side of the port city. A small walk to the tram will get you to the city centre in about 8 minutes. It is only a 2 minutes’ walk to the Euromast, and 3 minutes to a large city park often host to spectacular (free) festivals. Visiting a concert at Ahoy? You won’t find anything closer; we are only situated 15 minutes away. Contemplating your next move in our world city? Use our free WIFI while enjoying the complimentary breakfast. Our staff speaks Chinese, English and sometimes a little Dutch. They will help making it a trip you won’t forget! See you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsNL, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your New Ocean Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing