We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected chain hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Zuid
Ranked #40 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
Reviewed 25 February 2014

As a chain hotel you get what you expect.

The room was comfortable and had the usual amenities, while being clean and reasonably spacious.

The resturant/bar area was nice. There was plenty of seating and a bar area to watch sports as well as a smoking lounge for those who want it. The food was pretty good and you certainly get your moneys worth. I ended up with two full rack of ribs as the menu didnt specify how much as I was going to get. I can't complain, it's better than not getting enough!

Overall it's a comfortable hotel and if you need to get out of rotterdam easily after your stay this is a very well situated hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevemwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastion Hotel G, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Zuid, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the review which you have posted on Tripadvisor.
As we can see you have experienced the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities of Bastion Hotel Groep and you have summarized it in a great review!

Thank you very much for that.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team Bastion Hotel Groep

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Kankan123
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed on business and due to a mix up (not the hotels fault) found myself here. I must also point out that smoking is allowed in parts of this hotel and I really can't stand smoke.
2 things
1. Despite being in a non smoking room I could smell smoke in the bathroom
2. The bed was awful, single about 1ft off the ground. The mattress was visible sunk in the middle, was v soft and the pillows had to be folded 4 times to make any use of them

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Zuid, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies ,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We booked this hotel as it was close to where we were working, but the thought of staying here for weeks was impossible. We ended up finding a cheaper and 100x nicer short term apartment in central rotterdam.

Bastion Hotel rooms and restaurant were not up to the cleanliness I would have expected (ie. empty wrappers in room, dirty table setting in restaurant). The staff made no effort until a complaint was made and the rooms were much smaller then expected.

We were told that the rooms all had only single beds, so for a couple it wasn't great. Also the bed I slept in was very uncomfortable and uneven. My partners bed was fine.

Food (dinner) in the restaurant was below average and staff would tell us off if we sat at a wrong table in the morning purely because it was already set for dinner that evening (this makes no sense to me, it's just a matter of changing cutlery). Breakfast was very good when the staff were making themselves available to cook us eggs.

Overall I would say, only stay here for 1 night if you have to as it is a good location to certain things.

Room Tip: Stay on the back side of the hotel (not on the main road side), it's less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdeleP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Zuid, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Stayed at the Bastion as a trial as its nearer to work and less expensive than my usual hotel in Rotterdam. Room was clean but basic. Only single beds available which makes it a little uncomfortable for me but the restaurant food was good (again basic steak etc) and the breakfast the normal stuff for Rotterdam (bread, meat and chocolate) The location and cost will mean I stay again. Not bad at all

Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank TonyCarters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Zuid, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again at our hotel in Rotterdam.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012 via mobile

Overall average stay, kept awake one night by fire alarm going off due to fault, staff didn't have a clue how to handle the situation no one knew if there was a fire or not!?!
Location was very handy for work, I will travel a little further next time.
Oh, and they even took payment from my credit card twice? Paid back quick enough but just fuzzy payment system.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruddyholls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Zuid, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies ,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Stayed on business at the Bastion again - must have stayed 5-6 times in the past, even when it was going through refurb a couple years ago. Each time I swear never to go back - however, it is convenient for where I want to visit and the food and bedrooms are fine. Actually, this latest visit was the best yet - service with a smile and nice dinner/room.......I might even consider a return!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moinearbeag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
4.1 mi away
Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Barendrecht
6.4 mi away
Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Alexander
4.6 mi away
Novotel Rotterdam Brainpark
Novotel Rotterdam Brainpark
#10 of 53 in Rotterdam
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel Rotterdam
Hotel Rotterdam
#26 of 53 in Rotterdam
467 reviews
5.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Rotterdam Airport Hotel
2.6 mi away
Art Hotel Rotterdam
Art Hotel Rotterdam
#42 of 53 in Rotterdam
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Zuid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Zuid

Address: Driemanssteeweg 5 | Hoek Groene Kruisweg, 3084 CA Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range: £57 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Zuid 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bastion Hotels stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive rate. Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Zuid offers a 24 hour front office, comfortable rooms and an extensive choice of dishes from the a la carte menu in the atmospheric restaurant. For relaxation and a nice ending of the day guests are always welcome in the cozy hotel bar or smoking lounge. This lounge contains an lcd television, air-conditioning and relaxing lounge chairs. The hotel also has free wireless internet in the entire hotel. In the lobby the hotel has a computer available, for guests, for free use of the internet. Domestic animals are not allowed. Since February 2010 the hotel is fully air conditioned and has a fitness area. Location / accessibility Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Zuid is a comfortable three star hotel in the South of Rotterdam, situated on the A-15. The hotel is well accessible by car and it has a good connection with event hall Ahoy. The centre of the city has a good accessibility by car or public transportation also. The city of Rotterdam offers architecture which is very impressive. The beautiful dock city may call itself "City of architecture 2007" Rooms The 147 comfortable rooms in the hotel are equipped with two twin beds, a television, a telephone, a modem, airconditioning, a safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with a shower and toilet. Food & Beverage At Bastion Hotel Zuid guests can enjoy an extensive continental breakfast buffet, on weekdays from 06.00 Till 09.00 And in weekends from 07.00 Till 10.30. The atmospheric hotel is opened from 11.00 Till 23.00 For lunch and diner. When guests have a very busy schedule they can ask the hotel staff about the possibilities for a lunch package. The cozy hotel bar is opened till 23.30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Zuid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing