We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and cheap for a two night stay.”
Review of Hotel Baan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Baan
Ranked #43 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great view and cheap for a two night stay.”
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We stayed for two nights, its quiet and nice located. Near to a very nice pool cafe and a lot of restaurants at 300meter. The room is clean and the beds are reasonable good.Shower and toilet very clean and with soap and towels. A very nice breakfast included.
Also the manager and wife are very helpful and like to give you a very warm welcome.

Room Tip: The room on the waterside has a great view. The swimming pool is the canal in front of the hotel i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    41
    34
    18
    39
See reviews for
18
48
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stayed in Rotterdam for one night as a stop over and Hotel Baan was our choice because of the price. Turns out the location was really good... Walking distance to the Coolhaven Metro and across the bridge to old Rotterdam. The accommodation is basic and it is an old squeaky building, we had two single beds pushed together and a little TV on the wall but it suited exactly what we needed. Bed was ok, Shower worked great, breakfast was nice and the WiFi worked well. The view of the canal was pretty nice and the street out the front didn't cause us any issues. Could be some noise issues if you had loud guests next door but for us it was ok. Happy with our stay and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

After arriving at the hotel it soon became clear that we were not going to be staying there. A owner who communicated to the poor girl over the telephone explained there had been a problem with the booking system but was "too ill to sort it out". So we were told to come back in a few hours to sort ot out. We returned to the same situation as before a receptionist being undermined by their awful owners who after 4 hours told us to go elsewhere. After she had found as a basement room. Overall a waste of time and a chance I won't take again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barmyarmy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotterdam hotels

Drogheda, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Hotel Bann Rotterdam 

Having travelled Europe and experiencing all types of accommodation, hotel bann was not only the most expensive but also the
Most disappointing.

The room was at best ok. It had all the necessary facilities but it was extremely small and over priced. 

The hotel owner, though very friendly and helpful is running a joke of a premises under the name of a hotel.

The interior of the hotel and general demeanour is dated and shabby.

The hotel could be 100 times improved with a little time and energy.

Some may believe you get what you pay for with this hotel but this is certainly not case, having arrived from three nights in a top class Amsterdam hotel for a cheaper rate.

I will not be recommending this so called hotel to anybody. Some may find this review scathing but all we are being is honest.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eamonduffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley Center, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2009

When we arrived the owner was really very kind. He suggested us good and typical restaurants, places to visit, things to do,...
The hotel is very simple and quiet, situated in a nice zone not too far from the center. Breakfast was abundant, my room was nice and the shower had the hydro-massage. The only problem that we noticed was that the heater wasn't working properly and a night it was cold. The day after the problem was solved.

Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank raffaflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago de Compostela, Galiza
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2009

Me and my girlfriend stayed in this hotel for a week . We arrived on monday afternoon and door was closed so we must wait a few minutes until the owner, his son and his dog arrived to check us in. The owner (his son and his dog didn't talk with us) seemed a nice person and gave us two rooms to choose one of them. The first one was in the second floor (n.10) and the second one was in the fourth floor (n.18). We went upstairs (and this mean "really" upstairs so the stairs was almost vertical and there isn't a lift) and when we reached the first room we decided to stay there, no matter how the other room (two floors up) would be. The room has a nice view on the canal and was clean and nice despite being a little one with few space for our bags. The bathroom was also small but enough. The breakfast every day was a continental buffet with a wide range of products, from bread to cereals, fruits, jams, cakes and so on. Each day when we went back to the room we have our bed... until friday. On saturday morning the girl in the reception has changed into a russian one (Natacha how we liked to call her, not that this was her real name) that requieres us to pay the amount of the stay and from that day on, until monday morning we leave, never the bed was made or changed the towels in the bathroom when we went back to the room. Sunday morning, as we were taking our breakfast, "Natacha" had a visit from a group of friends or relatives (we believed they were talking in russian language) that mantained her busy without taking care of take off the tables the used cutlery. So, not a bad place for the money if you are looking for a cheap place in Rotterdam, but only on working days or when the russian girl is out of the hotel. No luxuries but pretty near to two underground stations (Coolhaven and Delfhaven) that put you in city's downtown in less than 10 minutes.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warwash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Cool
easyHotel Rotterdam City Centre
Stadsdriehoek
Euro Hotel Centrum
Euro Hotel Centrum
#44 of 52 in Rotterdam
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oude Westen
Hotel van Walsum
Hotel van Walsum
#21 of 52 in Rotterdam
274 reviews
STROOM Rotterdam
#18 of 52 in Rotterdam
202 reviews
Novotel Rotterdam Brainpark
#10 of 52 in Rotterdam
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baan

Property: Hotel Baan
Address: Rochussenstraat 345, 3023 DH Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Baan 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rooms in a monumental building. Friendly atmosphere, Always busy modernizing the hotel. some rooms have a nice view of the small harbor. All rooms are available with a shower, toilet, color TV, safe and a hairdryer etc. with a very good breakfast.Nearby you can find a nice pool-café which serves good food on walking distance, pubs and restaurants in the Historic Delfshaven. Rooms but quiet clean.For those who don't know the Netherlands or Belgium, Stairs to the floors are for some guests narrow however in our hotel the are quite spacious for Dutch circumstances. We offer more as we can write down. We are doing our best to make you enjoy your stay ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Baan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Hotel Rotterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing