We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marathon week”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Baan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Baan
Ranked #43 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Marathon week”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed at Hotel Baan during the very busy weekend of the Rotterdam marathon. Just great for what we needed. Nice room with view over the dock & close to a historic bit of Rotterdam. Very clean & good price. Probably one of the best breakfasts I've had in Holland. Cooked by the owner who it turned out had just given birth to a baby boy. What was she doing cooking for us?
If we had known we would have done it ourselves. A bit like staying with a dutch family. Very cool.

Dorran Hughes from London

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dorran h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    41
    33
    16
    37
See reviews for
16
47
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Not what I expected from the picture of the Hotel, needs a good tidy up especially the reception area. The first thing to greet me was children's bikes in the reception, not what you would expect. The room was not tidy, I would not recommend this Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dazzer1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotterdam hotels

Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Dear ppl
I would not recommend this hotel to any one at all
First bad experience started with waiting outside in rain for 30minutes and actually it's family run small business and receptionist were sleeping during the day
Due to that we were standing middle of no where in heavy wind and rain
When we got in finally with the help of another person who were staying at hotel
We wanted in side for another 25minutes for receptionist to turn up
My advice is don't stay in family run small hotels
There were no facility as shown in hotels.com website
Nobody changed bed sheets or provided towels at all for our trip second. ,third and fourth day
We were using same towels can y imagine that
We had no choice as due to international event every single hotel were fully booked and we were kind of stuck
There were not proper heating working
I would not recommend at any cost
Rest up to you guys !!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank 529Shah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

The lcalization was beatufull, we could see the river from our room window, it was false very quiet zone.
This hotel is a family business amda both the owner and his wife were unbelievable kind and giving persons, one day my girlfriend was sick from and needed some proteins, we went downstairs too buy a fried egg for her and end up with two fried eggs for each of us and some salmon with veggies that the owner was cooking for his family, and all of this was free!! Amazing persons, this hotel was so good mainly because of the staff , if you are on a short budget and want to go to Rotterdam, stay at Baan the only thing we didn't like was the fact that the beds were too soft for our tastes, my girlfriend woke everyday with back aches.

Room Tip: If you speak with the owner he probably will offer his bed if you don't like yours :p
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Booked online at a fantastic rate with one of the big hotac sites so did not expect a lot for what I had paid, especially as this was a very busy week in Rotterdam with a massive trade show and huge pressure on hotel rooms. I thought I was lucky to get a room at short notice, any room at all, but this hotel was a very very pleasant surprise. The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms, basic and small but very very clean with a shower that was hot and fierce enough to take your skin off. Breakfast was way better than expected, good quality OJ, great fresh coffee from the worlds least co-operative coffee machine and a Dutch special " fried egg" breakfast ( eggs with ham in them). Add super-fast broadband and 200M distance from the metro ( 3 stops from Rotterdam Centraal Station) and it was a great value stay.

If forced to criticise I would say beware of the stairs if you are too fat, suffer from vertigo or wear 9" heels, the steps are both steep and narrow, but this is Holland, and my room had two single beds pushed together which wouldn't stay together, but bearing in mind the cost of the stay I cannot complain.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T120bonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

I booked this Hotel less than 2 weeks before the trip..21 April 2013

There was not much choice... initially wanted to stay in Leiden- nearer to Keukenhoff but as things turned out.. everything worked out fine. Easy to buy food for us Muslims.

We reached there late.. there were instructions out the door and was getting chilly. Not long after ringing the doorbell and peeping in, The owner living nextdoor came.. we did not wait more than 3-5minutes...

The place was a bit lived in [squeaky) but for a last minute choice, and accommodating attitude of the caretaker/owner..helpful with directions & all... only....when the Deutch say 10mins.. our asian feet take 20-25mins!! with our bags & all!!!
The owner offered packed halal bologna sandwich for breakfast instead of bread and eggs and the small dining area was pleasant.

Nice view in front of the riverside. Had a nice walk. Good for a short business trip. Nice relaxing place. Not as modern as our two other places in our trip. If you like a pleasant.. just like home experience... and you are on a budget...this is the place.

Room Tip: Get the room facing the river and street...Wifi connection good. Sunny room and nice view. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feenaween
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

I was in the city to attend a wedding of a friend and booked this accommodation for my short stay. It turned out to be a great choice. As a single female traveling alone I felt safe and very comfortable. All the guys here are very friendly and I really felt like being in my own home. Room was perfectly designed for relaxing and breakfast set us up for the day. Quality and choice of food both were perfect. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Cool
easyHotel Rotterdam City Centre
Bienvenue
#35 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#8 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oude Westen
Hotel Emma
Hotel Emma
#18 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Cool
Hotel Bazar
Hotel Bazar
#23 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baan

Property: Hotel Baan
Address: Rochussenstraat 345, 3023 DH Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Baan 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rooms in a monumental building. Friendly atmosphere, Always busy modernizing the hotel. some rooms have a nice view of the small harbor. All rooms are available with a shower, toilet, color TV, safe and a hairdryer etc. with a very good breakfast.Nearby you can find a nice pool-café which serves good food on walking distance, pubs and restaurants in the Historic Delfshaven. Rooms but quiet clean.For those who don't know the Netherlands or Belgium, Stairs to the floors are for some guests narrow however in our hotel the are quite spacious for Dutch circumstances. We offer more as we can write down. We are doing our best to make you enjoy your stay ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Baan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Hotel Rotterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing