We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice museum” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen

Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen
Book In Advance
More Info
US$275.54*
and up
Private Guided Tour of Rotterdam City Center and Boijmans Museum with Art...
Ranked #8 of 181 things to do in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very nice museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is a very nice museum and may be enjoyed also by those who normally are not into museums. Has excellent info and explanations in English and some true gems. Not very big. Just enough to enjoy without reaching exhaustion one often experiences in huge and overcrowded museums.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ezsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    448
    364
    79
    11
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Must do”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Didn't have a lot of knowledge about this place though heard it was worth a visit. It is indeed a gem. The scale of the gallery allows you to get an intimate gallery experience of the major painters of Europe without the crowds.
Well laid out and nicely described.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pestyjnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“maby the best museum in Rotterdam”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

If you like a classic painting this is your place to be in Rotterdam.
interesting special exhibitions and also a nice collection of statues both inside and in the garden

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank sandra_in_zweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Enjoyed this museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

This museum has a nice variety of work by several of the world's great artists. Be sure to get a map of the layout as the several rooms all adjoin one another and it can be easy to keep wandering back into the same room. However, the room are all numbered and the prized art is noted for each room. Allow at least two hours.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 31MIK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
553 reviews
364 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 558 helpful votes
“Nice museum, for those who love paintings it's a must!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

This week i visited the museum during one of my breaks... I'm someone, who loves to watch paintings, however I don't stay looking at one for ages, I just want to get an impression, form my opinion that's it.

Going through the normal collection of the museum, which covers about half of the building, it took me about an hour and a half. The collection is made up mostly out of the legacies of some of Rotterdams art collectors. It contains most, if not all of the known Dutch painters from the Dutch golden era, Dutch painters from later periods like Van Gogh and Mondriaan and also known foreing painters such as Rubens, Bellini, Bruegel, Monet, Munch, Picasso and Dali. Maybe not all of their most known works, but still worth looking at.

Besides these it also has other works of art, such as stattues, silverware, furniture and more modern design.

The museum has a restaurant with a great view on the park and a cafe looking at the court yard. The other half of the museum is used for temporary exhibitions, I didn't see the one that was there now, however I'm sure they you could spent at least an hour there too..

So all in all I would say the museum is worth a visit and must be on your list of things to do in Rotterdam, I would say in your top three!.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald_jelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing