We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rabbit baconcrisp”
Review of Sansan

Sansan
Ranked #81 of 1,006 Restaurants in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
129 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Rabbit baconcrisp”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Having been in Sichuan the mouth waters looking at those small red chilis on the menu. What's wrong with lumps of fish and chicken I wondered after the Suanla (soup)? Both of us got meatdishes disguised as soup as main courses: pieces of lamb floating in peppery oil. Might have been sichuan and spicy it was. Loved the vegetables, but you don't spend lots for a scoop of dried peppers on top of a bowl of deep fried rabbit skin, which was the other dish. Tasted like rabbit baconcrisp, is what it did. You like that, you go here!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PVR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    46
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Den Haag, Nederland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice Sichuan Chinese food”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

90% of the visitors is Chinese, I think that says it all. Authentic taste, as far as I can judge. Spicy, though. Make absolutely sure you DO NOT bite one of those sichuan peppers :)... Service is good. Best Chinese restaurant in the Netherlands for me so far.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerbert1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuenen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
347 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Bravo, Shizuan kitchen also for veggiese”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

There is an abundant variety of Chinese restaurants in Rotterdam. The ChinInd ones (ChineseIndonesian) are neither Chinese nor Indonesian but a mix adapted to Dutch taste. If you like Indonesian food, better avoid to get it at the ChinInd. Chinese food is better then.
More than often Chinese restaurants do not have veggie options. Sansan has a lot, bravo!Sansan is pure Chinese, Shizuan (=4 streams/rivers) kitchen. My wife and I, activated by our knowledgeable gastronomy-daughter, had lunch at Sansan and liked it very much. A great choice of dishes, also for veggies, friendly staff, nice surroundings. Sansan is in the very middle of Rotterdam Centre in a quiet off lane, Metro stop Beurs.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank n_wiedenhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great authentique sichuan food”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

i went here few times and every time it's great! the taste of the real authentique sichuan food. not like other chinese trash restaurants in holland. when you order, they ask you what grade hotness you want, it can be a little bit hot to very very hot. portions are enough and price is reasonable. the service of the staff is good, but maybe they can smile a bit more. they always look so serious.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carmen_hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taiwan
Level Contributor
116 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Hot and spicy, but very delicious.
Especially, Mabo-tofu is the best one I have ever eaten.
Reasonable cost, service is also not bad.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hisa9901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sansan also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Sansan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing