We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Must Do” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boottocht Rotterdam - Kinderdijk

Boottocht Rotterdam - Kinderdijk
Certificate of Excellence
WNY
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Must Do”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We originally were going to bike to Kinderdijk, however they say to just follow the river. Well most rivers are not straight so when we finally found the correct bridge to go over it seemed just too long to attempt on day one in Europe.
So day 2 we take the waterbus, what a good idea!
Not only is it relaxing, but you get to see the landscape from the water and observe the harbor activities. We actually take the 9 30am waterbus and were told the second ferry to Kinderdijk will not start till 10 30 am and they suggested we take the next bus. We however decide the take the 9 30 am bus and just wait at the transfer site. This was such a good idea, it was intriguing to watch the comings and goings along the river and the time went very fast. First transfer ferry arrived on schedule.
We rented bikes at the Kinderdijk for E2 50 an hour and had a wonderful time. Spent 2 hours exploring the area.
We returned, via waterbus, the fare of 12 50 euro for waterbus included, round trip waterbus, the entrance fee into Kinderdijk along with the fare for the 2nd ferry. VERY REASONABLE. Also, did not have to think about biking back to Rotterdam.
You cannot go to the Netherlands and not experience Kinderdijk!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Msdoretha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    35
    11
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
106 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Kinderdijk well worth a visit but rethink the boat trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Even though it was very wet all day, Kinderdijk itself was still worth it. The inside of the windmills are very interesting and well worth a visit. The small boat trip passed the windmills is good and you get to see the windmills a lot closer.
We went on this tour - the Boottocht Boat trip (Rebus) from Leuvehaven, Rotterdam, there and back. They quote it as a 4 hour round trip with 1 1/2 to 2 hours at Kinderdijk, but it was far too rushed. We did not have 2 hours at the site before we had to be back at the boat for the return trip to Rotterdam (Leuvehaven). This meant that with the half hour wait for the boat trip passed the windmills, then to go to the inside the windmills, there was no time for the multiscreen film Wisboomgemaal and Museummolen. One feels cheated when you pay for entrance to something you do not have enough time to see due to no fault of your own..
I would recommend if you want to travel by the Boottocht Excursion boat from Leuvehaven to Kinderdijk, to perhaps only go one way to ensure you have sufficient time to see everything.
The Boottocht boat itself was quite pleasant but quite a boring boat trip along industrial boatyards of Rotterdam especially if you are not interesting in Boatyards.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank NZcouple_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
260 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“How The Netherlands was created.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We arrived at the Kinderdijk by boat, not knowing quite what to expect, until we found the windmills. The museum in one of the mills was informative and interesting, giving details of life in the mills. How did the miller cope with his 13 children in one mill? The wrap-around film show gave us further details of how the land was drained using the mills, so that fields and building land could be created.

We hired bikes at very reasonable cost near the entrance, and cycled around the flat paths to explore the area a bit further and find a quiet place for a picnic. Well worth doing.

To get to Kinderdijk from central Rotterdam, we used the Waterbus from beside the Erasmus bridge. By purchasing a day pass on board for 12.50 Euros, we then had access to the waterbus for the whole day, the second ferry which connects to Kinderdijk, and entry to the museum and film show at Kinderdijk - it's excellent value. We could have gone further down the river to Dordrecht and beyond, if only we'd had enough time.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kompo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
221 reviews
134 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Another good day trip from Rotterdam”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

If you want to see Dutch windmills, this is the place to get your fill. Nice boat ride with a friendly and informative "captain"(?). I think my daughter enjoyed the boat more than the windmills ,but what could one expect from a 2 year old? Nice walk. Interesting (to a point) & informative. It certainly helps that it was a gorgeous day. Lots of nice photo opportunities. I'd think it worth the trip and I'd go again if given another stay in Rotterdam.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank theswissmister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
154 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Kinderdijk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

It's understandandable why this entire village of preserved windmills is a UNESCO World Heritage Site. We toured the interior of one windmill use d as a home. Talk about steep stairs! We also saw some other ingenious flood technologies at work. Since the country is below sea level, this is extremely important. If you imagine Rembrandt's etchings of windmill country, it's the same today here. We went here as a stop on a cruise to Amsterdam. Well worth it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 197marian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boottocht Rotterdam - Kinderdijk also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Boottocht Rotterdam - Kinderdijk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing