We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to its reputation”
Review of Spirit

Spirit
Reserve with
Spirit is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #44 of 1,052 Restaurants in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Lives up to its reputation”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We visited Spirit on the basis of its excellent Trip Advisor reviews and the fact that it is 100% vegetarian. We loved the self-service buffet style layout. There were so many tempting dishes to try plus four different types of soup and around 8-10 desserts. Everything was freshly cooked and well presented. It is clearly popular (and rightly so) with many people collecting takeaway as well as dining in the restaurant. Spirit is just a 10 minute walk from Rotterdam's central train station so easily accessible if you're on a day visit to the city.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JZHendry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    67
    10
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“5 stars from me!”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This restaurant deserves five stars in my mind. I am not even vegan, and I loved it! My friends are vegan and they were fascinated. We kept talking about the place for days and even went twice! Fresh food, and great taste all in one. Staff are very friendly and you pay for your food by the weight! What a novel idea! Makes a lot of sense , such a great idea. Vegan food at its best ! And even vegan cupcakes and cakes. We really were spoiled! Flavour and taste dont get much better than this little place. Go and be happy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enschede, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love it, veggie heaven”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I am truly sad I don't live anywhere near Rotterdam, because I would be a regular customer here if I did. What an amazing place! All food is biological and vegetarian, home-cooked and delicious. Buffet-style restaurant (also take-away). You pay for the weight of the food you pile onto your plate. Lots of variety and choice, soups, salads, deep fries, desserts etc. Each dish has all ingredients listed, so gluten, sugar and lactose-free options are easily found. A true inspiration for the homecook who wants to try some new vegetarian/vegan dishes. I love it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
destelbergen
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“super!”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

A lot of vegan options, fresh, special, even vegan cakes & cupcakes, yummie!
Next door bioshop, yoga, etc...called "Green Passage"
Coming back soon!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank firidolfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado, USA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food and variety!”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Buffet style, pay-by-weight, and really delicious food! Lots of variety and dishes that are not often vegan unless you make them yourself. Vegan, vegetarian, gluten-free are labeled. They also sell beer and have a nice indoor dining area, as well as some tables outside.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathy_USA13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spirit also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Spirit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing