We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Cool' place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Student Hotel Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“'Cool' place”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This hotel is much different to most hotels I stay in. There's so much space in the lobby area and work. This place is actually, as far as I can tell, a top-end university accommodation and sell rooms on a nightly basis also. But if you're not a student (like me, well not anymore) it brings back good memories with lots of young people hanging around in the evening. If you were staying here for a few days, you could easily meet some new people I'm sure.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank benk90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    96
    31
    11
    7
See reviews for
24
87
60
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kailua-kona, Hawaii, Usa
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The beds were very comfortable and the bathrooms were very clean. Downstairs had very reasonable coffee, croissants, snacks and beers! Easy to get to you can take a direct tram into central station on 5 stops!

Room Tip: can upgrade for a executive room standard rooms are a bit stark but have everything you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pit B, Manager at The Student Hotel Rotterdam, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Sarah,

Thank you for your kind feedback; we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oost-Souburg
Level Contributor
105 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

Located real close to the university of rotterdam and easily accessible with public transport, this is a nice hotel. Hotel looks basic, but the atmosphere in the cafe, library and lounge is very nice. Good value for money.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Claudia_tripje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Everything was really great, very nice, clean, modern... Next time I visit Rotterdam I'll most definitely stay in Student Hotel again! Only thing that wasn't perfect was the window - we couldn't open it...but there was air condition so it wasn't really big problem....

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jelena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I dont want to be all negative, the concept is good, as well as the Website and the study rooms/wifi. The staff in 'The Kitchen' is great as well.
However,
- the rooms on the Website look bigger than the ones you are going to get + very vague description (ie 'enough' storage space -there is no bin (???)and not a lot of space)--the rooms are very basic!!
- the reception staff: the woman with the blonde, curly hair doesn't care at all + doesn't help
- the kitchens in our appartments are not like the kitchen online -small, dark, not as luxurious
- first Thing I had to do: dust my room
I was disappointed because it is quite expensive and i expected more in terms of my room, staff and space.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank abovetheroof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We were really happy with our stay in the Student Hotel. It's about a 15 minute walk to the center of Rotterdam and is quite a nice walk, there are two routes, one is along the river and is a nice walk but a bit longer. Staff were great and the receptionist drew us a map on how to get to the city centre.

The rooms were spacious and ours had a kitchenette, no pots and pans, or any crockery but there were 2 rings and a microwave. The hotel rooms are simply furnished, but are clean and comfortable. The public areas are decorated in a really modern style. There is a gym and restaurant.

There is parking outside which is paid, but is free in e evenings until about 8 I the morning.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairebear8182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

The Students Hotel has pro's and cons.
Pro's: Good location, nice lounge to study, good beds, good for meeting people.
Con's: service & staff, lock system, only 3 washing machines for the whole building, high prices (both for lodging and for the Kitchen next to it).

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ygroenen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank U, Manager at The Student Hotel Rotterdam, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
I would love to understand better what you did not like about the locks and staff and services. And hear how you think we can improve that! Email me via info@thestudenthotel.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#3 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,218 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#7 of 52 in Rotterdam
681 reviews
Novotel Rotterdam Brainpark
#10 of 52 in Rotterdam
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#4 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,072 reviews
Cool
easyHotel Rotterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Student Hotel Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Student Hotel Rotterdam

Property: The Student Hotel Rotterdam
Address: Oostzeedijk 182 / Willem Ruyslaan 225, 3063 ER Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Student Hotel Rotterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the stunning contemporary architecture of Rotterdam, the modern and classical museums, the lively bars and beautiful streets of Kralingen, all at your doorstep. We're perfectly situated just 10 minutes from the World Trade Center. Catch public transport right in front of our hotel and enjoy a leisurely 12-minute ride to Rotterdam Centraal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Student Hotel Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing