We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top hotel, great location”
Review of Mainport Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mainport Hotel
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam NL
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Top hotel, great location”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed one night at this relatively new hotel. Room was very clean, with great massage and bubble bath. Friendly personnel. And breakfast next morning is well worth the money. Great buffet, great choice of fresh food. Also great views from the higher floors over the Leuvehaven. Location is excellent. Close to Witte de With shopping street with bars and café's, also short walk over the Erasmusbrug to the Kop van Zuid. Should you wish to go further away (including to The Hague) the metro stop is literally right before the front door. All in all: great hotel for a pretty decent price.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adamma22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDMgr_InntelHotels, Rooms Division Manager at Mainport Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Mainport!
I appreciate the time you have taken to give your feedback and tips to our future guests and I am very pleased that you have fully enjoyed your room, the breakfast and the beautiful city of Rotterdam!
We look forward welcoming you back soon!
Kind regards,
Simone van der Veen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    765
    305
    73
    26
    21
See reviews for
105
657
37
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Stylish, modern, comfortable hotel in a good location by the waterfront in Rotterdam. Lovely comfortable bed and stylish bathroom, with large deep bath with jacuzzi-type effects. Nude sauna and steam room, too. Ideal for a city break, with a chance to unwind and spoil yourselves.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koksijde Bad, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We spent 4 nights in a water view room with sauna. Room (with view), facilities, restaurant and location are worth the 5 stars, especially if you can get some discounts via an internet booking.

The (small) sauna in the bath(room) is not really necessary if you use the H2O spa on the 8th floor, which is larger, with hammam and relax zone (with view). The H2O spa does not allow bathing suites but you can also access the Innhotel wellness space next door where bathing suites are mandatory ... including a swimming pool.

The only downside is the cleaning personnel: the room was not clean at all, every day they took our towels, but left the used coffee cups and did not supply new soap or shampoo :(.

Though described as part of the room, we did not have bath robes with slippers. We ordered them via the reception and got them within reasonable time. The day after, the cleaning personnel took them from the room when cleaning and ordering them again took ages :(.

To conclude, 28 euro for the breakfast is too expensive for what you get. You can get a custom fresh egg which is made on demand and you have some 'champagne' if you like that in the morning, but the juices are not 100% fresh, neither is the bread (for 1 day out of 4).

Room Tip: The rooms with water view are worth the extra cost, the (small) sauna in the (bath)room not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDMgr_InntelHotels, Rooms Division Manager at Mainport Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your extensive and thorough feedback of your stay!
We are very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that you find our rooms, bar, restaurant and facilities truly worth the 5 stars!
Please be assured that we have taken note of your comments and will discuss this with our Housekeeping manager and Food & Beverage Director.

We look forward welcoming you back in the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Simone van der Veen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the Mainport over the Valentine's weekend. The room we had was modern, bright and well appointed. The bathroom is definitely a highlight. The sauna was a welcome distraction from the jacuzzi bath, from which the television could be viewed in comfort.

We had dinner in the hotel restaurant and although one or two people have complained about the service, we found the evening went extremely well.

All in all we both had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and would readily recommend the Mainport to anyone.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Silverplod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDMgr_InntelHotels, Rooms Division Manager at Mainport Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Mainport for this special and romantic weekend together and I am very pleased to read you have fully enjoyed your stay and the facilities. I will pass on your compliments to all our staff and we look forward welcoming you back next year's Valentine's day or hopefully sooner!

Kindest regards
Simone van der Veen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I spent Valentine's Day weekend here for a quick break. The location was fantastic: right next door to the stunning Erasmus bridge. We had a corner room with city view, which was very cool. The bed was amazing, whirlpool bath with tv in the mirror across was perfect for a rainy Saturday afternoon after exploring the city and doing some shopping. We arrived late on Friday evening in the rain and were surprised by the ice machine, the awesomeness of the pool area, the views and the limited though delicious room-service menu.

All in all, we've already decided that the Mainport will be a destination for another city break in the future. Neither of us has stayed in a hotel in Holland anywhere near so ideal.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDMgr_InntelHotels, Rooms Division Manager at Mainport Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Eric,

Thank you for your lovely review on Tripadvisor and the choice you have made for taking your loved one to our hotel on Valentine's day!
I am very pleased to read that you have fully enjoyed your stay and we all look forward welcoming you back soon for your next city trip to Rotterdam (with hopefully less rain then this weekend!)

with kind regards
Simone van der Veen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruxelles
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Nice design hotel. Nice view. The hotel keepers are all very nice but the service is awfully slow! We waited more than an hour and thirty minutes between the starter and the main course on our valentine's diner. And the next day, 40 minutes to get a cheese plate and an other 15 minutes for more bread. Only one very small slice came with the plate! Anyway, considering the price for one room, this hotel is not worth a 5 star hotel in witch the service should be impeccable!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurence G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDMgr_InntelHotels, Rooms Division Manager at Mainport Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your stay.
I am very sorry that we were not able to offer you the full Mainport experience. I will discuss your comments with our Restaurant manager and our Chef and I would really appreciate it if we could talk more about your experiences.
You can reach me via our Reception: info@mainporthotel.com or +31 (0)10 2175757

With kindest regards,
Simone van der Veen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We spent 2 days there to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday. Service is irreproachable, we had an accident with his trousers and the housekeeper cleaned the jeans within two hours. The hotel's design is lovely and the full glass elevator already offers a nice view on the port which we also enjoyed very much from our room.
We didn't test the breakfast buffet as we don't eat much in the morning, and there is a coffee machine with two espresso capsules for free in the room.
I decided to take the most expensive category of rooms, those with the round bathtub near the window, and it really is worth the price. Very relaxing, very nice bathtub (almost too big for two people) and a great view. At night the skyline is very beautiful, a little bit like NY.
Insulation is good, we weren't disturbed by any noise except water pipes noise when somebody presumably was emptying their bathtub?
The bed is XXL and very comfortable. There is a fitness area and a pool, all very nice.
Altogether a more than pleasant stay. We'll return for sure.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, go for the more expensive rooms with the round bathtub in front of the bed. Gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nipa27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Cool
Hilton Rotterdam
Hilton Rotterdam
#4 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,318 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,347 reviews
nhow Rotterdam
#6 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cool
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
#7 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,423 reviews
Suite Hotel Pincoffs
#1 of 52 in Rotterdam
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mainport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mainport Hotel

Property: Mainport Hotel
Address: Leuvehaven 77, 3011 EA Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Stadsdriehoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Mainport Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mainport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing