We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - really convenient location”
Review of Mainport Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mainport Hotel
Ranked #4 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Don't always write reviews of where we stay, however this hotel is particularly good (we are still here). When randomly looking at hotels to book in rotterdam I came across this one and it has been a really good choice. It is modern, staff are incredibly friendly and accommodating, the location is superb (overlooking Erasmus Bridge), has a metro stop just out the front door that connects directly to Rotterdam Central (a bonus if you need to catch trains) and it is reasonably priced for a five star hotel. Our room has a large spa and a sauna however would not choose this combo again - the only downside to our room is the functional layout - could be improved with some drawers for clothes and a toilet light that is not automatic (disruptive to partner in the middle of the night) However would definitely look forward to a return stay.

Room Tip: Overlooking the canal - don't book a room with large spa and sauna - there are rooms with a bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhondda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

481 - 487 of 1,248 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

Myself and my fiancé chose Mainport based on the strength of the feedback from Tripadvisor, and we were right to do so! I had noticed how the 'Rooms Division Manager' had been quick to respond to any issues previous visitors had, giving me the impression of customer satisfaction, and going from our experience, I was right.

As we were to visit Rotterdam by car and had I researched that free parking could be an issue, we contacted Mainport via e-mail who replied promptly with details of free parking locations and that travel to the hotel (and most other locations) could be taken by Metro as the hotel is situated near a Metro terminal (right across the road from the Leuvehaven stop).
Due to our ferry sailing being overnight, we arrived at the hotel very early in the morning aware that it was well before check-in time and that our room may not be ready. The reception staff were happy to look after our luggage by placing it in a secure room while we went off to check out what Rotterdam had to offer us.
When we returned in the afternoon, we checked in and headed off to our room. Our harbour view room was everything we had expected but for a misinterpretation of what we would class to be a 'double bed' as the room had a double bed that comprised of two individual mattresses. Although some people prefer this, myself and my fiancé prefer a complete double mattress, so when this was raised with staff on reception, we were promptly moved to another room that met our requests.

Our visit in Rotterdam from then on was amazing. Our stay in Mainport was everything we could have wanted with every encounter of staff being pleasant and helpful, from cleaning staff to bar staff. The room met out expectations (and then some), with the whirlpool bath making such an impression on us, that on returning home, we are now looking to fit a similar bath in our own bathroom!

I can easily recommend a pleasant stay at Mainport which we found to be both very welcoming and a great location for seeing the sights of Rotterdam. We look forward to staying at Mainport again in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here for a weekend visit to Rotterdam and could not have made a better choice. Our harbour view room was beautiful with an outstanding view and excellent facilities, including a large Jacuzzi bath with stunning views. Lots of lovely touches like an espresso machine and a mirror TV. The bed was wonderful and the room was very quiet. We also greatly enjoyed having a Hamam and massage in the spa and and using their great Sauna and steam room. The staff were very polite and helpful and the hotel is exteremely well located for business, great restaurants, museums, shopping and general sightseeing. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our Harbour view room was beautiful and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed one night in Mainport. This hotel is pretty new and open for just a year.
Had a city room, so no view on bridge or canals. As the hotel is in a busy street, you can hear cars and trams going by. But as I am a pretty good sleeper, had no issue with the noise, but would recommend if you stay for a few nights to pay the additional money to get room at the backside of the hotel.
Staff was very friendly, WIFI is a bit slow but free and the breakfast had enough choice.
I also had dinner at the restaurant and food was acceptable. Do not expect Michelin star gourmet food but for hotel food it was more than acceptable with enough choices.
Three minor points: not a lot of parking in front of the hotel to offload your bags (space for 3 cars all taken upon my arrival) , the parking fee is hefty (37 EURO per night) and over breakfast I could hear the staff gossiping about guests which is very unprofessional and lack of respect of your guests.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bart V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDMgr_InntelHotels, Rooms Division Manager at Mainport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Bart,

Thank you very much for your stay and we really appreciate your feedback.
We take every suggestion seriously and will look into the possibility to improve our service and standard.

I have discussed your points about the dinner, and our Director of Food & Beverage Jan van Belzen would like to get in contact with you to receive more information. If you have time to advise us your contact details via info@mainporthotel.com that would be much appreciated.

I can also advise you that there is a renovation scheduled of the road and area in front of the hotel. We will create more places for short term parking.
Finding cheap parking spaces in the centre of Rotterdam can be challenging but aside from the valet parking there is also an option to park your car at one of the 2 public parkings which are at a 2 minute walking distance for a rate of € 27 per 24 hours parking.

Thank you again for your stay and we look forward welcoming you back soon!
Kindest regards,

Simone van der Veen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed for 2 nights whilst visiting friends. Mainport was a great choice and fantastic value.

Our room was overlooking the water, with an oversized bed, crisp linen and an african decor theme on a feature wall that wasn't really our thing, but wasn't so overbearing that it couldn't be ignored. TV at the foot of the bed could be swivelled - much to my amusement. Free espresso in room was a nice touch.

Bathroom was great, huge spa tub by the window, walk in shower and TV in the mirror - Which did have a couple of surprise porn channels not available on the main TV, so brace ourself for them.

Location is a short walk to the centre of rotterdam and would absolutely recommend a stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon_Newman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDMgr_InntelHotels, Rooms Division Manager at Mainport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Gordon,

Thank you very much for your stay at Mainport while visiting your friends!
I am very glad that you have enjoyed your Waterfront Spa room and all it's wellness facilities!
The bathroom mirror tv is a great extra value but ofcourse the adult channels should have been removed. We have had an update on these tv's and this issue is now solved.

The hotel concept is a gateway to all the world's continents and every floor represents a continent with different design and colors. I am very sure that we can find a floor that will complete your Mainport experience!

We look forward welcoming you back to Mainport in the near future

With kind regards,
Simone van der Veen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The Mainport is one of our best hotel experience ever.
It definitely reaches the top 3 of our favorites hotels with the Arts hotel in Barcelona and the Bryant Park Hotel in New York. The rooms are perfectly designed with an impressive bathroom. The staff there delivers perfect service in all areas of the hotel and last but not least the breakfast is amazingly great. Only the city of Rotterdam didn't impress us during our stay... Ok, I should say it was raining the whole week-end which disserve the discovery of the city.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aple01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDMgr_InntelHotels, Rooms Division Manager at Mainport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for all your compliments about the hotel and the staff!
Our aim is to offer a great Mainport experience to all our guests and I am very glad to read that you have fully enjoyed your stay and the facilities.

Mainport has been selected to be a Design hotel (www.designhotels.com) and this decision was based not only on interior design and the staff but also on our knowledge of the local surroundings and the hotspots in Rotterdam. Aside from the hotspot / Explorer magazine in the hotel rooms, please challenge our Front Office staff and Concierge with questions where to go to on a rainy day! Our suggestions can be that one great bar in the city, a very limited Must see exhibition in the Kunsthal museum, a massage in our own Spa Heaven and more.

We look forward welcoming you back soon and will try to order better weather for you but in case it is a rainy day again, we will assist you in finding something special to do in Rotterdam.

Kind regards
Simone van der Veen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

IInteresting hotel and quite different from anything else I have stayed in recently. Concept is - well Im not sure - maybe to be different and stand out. Big lobby overlooking the waterfront, lifts running up the building with waterfront views.
Rooms are interestingly wallpapered with black floors and furniture. Desk was too small to work at. Although I slept well, I woke up with back ache. The bed or just too many hours travelling?
My SPA never happened. I phoned and they were supposed to phone back but never did. I had a limited window of opportunity and even if they were full, it would have been nice to hear that. Staff were nice however.
Review somewhere between average to good. I upped the rating to very good as the staff at the reception and the restaurant were very nice and the meal at the restaurant was very good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarkeinOman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDMgr_InntelHotels, Rooms Division Manager at Mainport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your stay at Mainport and your feedback on Tripavisor.
It is with this feedback that we can continuously improve our service.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the miscommunication about the Spa treatment. Our Spa Heaven is quite popular and we offer great Hamam treatments and massages. For a future stay in Rotterdam I would like to ask you to revisit Mainport. I would like to make sure that you can experience a great Spa Heaven treatment and tell you more about the concept as the hotel offers a gateway to all the world's continents. Every floor represents a continent and differs in design and color.

Thank you again for your feedback and I look forward to personally welcome you back!
Kindest regards,
Simone van der Veen
Rooms Division Maaager
info@mainporthotel.com
+31 (0)10 2175757

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Cool
Hilton Rotterdam
Hilton Rotterdam
#3 of 53 in Rotterdam
1,367 reviews
nhow Rotterdam
#6 of 53 in Rotterdam
1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 53 in Rotterdam
1,414 reviews
Cool
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
#7 of 53 in Rotterdam
1,474 reviews
Suite Hotel Pincoffs
#1 of 53 in Rotterdam
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mainport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mainport Hotel

Address: Leuvehaven 77, 3011 EA Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Stadsdriehoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range: £105 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mainport Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mainport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing