We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unimpressed”
Review of Roots Rotterdam

Roots Rotterdam
Reserve with
Roots Rotterdam is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #354 of 1,104 Restaurants in Rotterdam
Price range: US$5 - US$56
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Attached to the Hilton Hotel the restaurant is clean and well laid out. The service is attentive, well trained and fluent in English. The food is a disappointment and seems to be directed to northern European tastes (read: bland) rather than the international clientele providing most of the business. Recommend other nearby establishments to provide more diverse flavors and value.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

Yes, nice venue. Yes, good service. The food, however was disappointing. Bland and more in line with hotel restaurants in the US. There are many more options in the area,

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank D F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stadshal, Manager at Roots Rotterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you kindly for your feedback. We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations.
Please feel free to contact us when visiting us the next time so we can make this up with you.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

In June we visited the restaurant. It was great and very relaxing. We had a round table with very comfortable seats. The service was very good. They gave great advice what wines to choose with the dishes we had. The food was excellent. We are going to come back soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank robpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stadshal, Manager at Roots Rotterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013
Google Translation

Beste Rob,

Hartelijk dank voor je super leuke review over Stadshal, fijn om te horen dat jullie avond bij ons zo goed is bevallen.
We zien jullie graag weer terug! Op donderdag 7 november organiseren wij een jazz avond met live jazz muziek van 18.00 - 21.00 uur. Jullie zijn uiteraard van harte welkom.

Culinaire groet,

Team Stadshal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

This elegantly presented restaurant attached to the Hilton Hotel Rotterdam served a range of interesting a beautifully served meals.

A must for the adventurous type is the set surprise menu. At 32 Euros this three course dinner was random excellence at its best. It was fun to not know what was coming for each course, but at each one we were given something tasty and beautifully presented. There was a good children's menu that had a range of different foods for the smaller appetites.

There is a great choice of wines for a range of prices, and even the house wine was delicious. I am a ceoliac, and this was more than catered for as soon as I mentioned dreaded words 'Gluten Free'.

We stayed in Rotterdam for seven nights on a family holiday and went to a different place every evening for dinner. This was by far the best in every way.

A great place to go with friends, family, and for business meetings. A complete coveral restaurant with fantastic food for all.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GarynElisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stadshal, Manager at Roots Rotterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review!
It was a great pleasure taking care of you and your family, we hope to see you back again in our hotel and in Stadshal ofcourse ;)

Kind regards,

Kevin Prinsen - restaurant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We ate here the first night we stayed at the Rotterdam Hilton because it was convenient (attached to the Hotel). We ate here the second night we stayed at the Rotterdam Hilton because the food was excellent and the service was outstanding. The menu has a nice diversity in both selection and price. The décor is contemporary. Even though the restaurant was very busy both nights that we ate there, we never felt rushed or crowded. The tables are nicely spaced, allowing for private conversations. Many of the tables look into the open kitchen where you can watch your meal being prepared.

We are usually more adventuresome in trying different restaurants when we travel; however, we were tired both from our flight to The Netherlands from the US and from full days of sightseeing and walking. We were very happy that the Hilton had a restaurant of this quality.

Thank QueenGlassHalfFull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stadshal, Manager at Roots Rotterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind review of our restaurant. We apprechiate this very much.
We hope to see you back again here in Rotterdam were we willl be waiting for you ;)

Kind regards,

Kevin Prinsen - restaurant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roots Rotterdam also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Roots Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing