We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great mix of value and location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
68 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great mix of value and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

This hotel's combination of location and economy struck me as achieving a good balance.

Turning left out of the central train station, it's an easy 5-minute walk away. Seemingly half the city's trams pass through the station out front. I had a conference at the convention center, which is a 10-minute walk on mainly pedestrian streets.

The room was not especially large, but with one queen bed, did not feel at all cramped. Amenities were limited -- soap dispensers, instant coffee, no real closets or drawers (though some shelves), small TV -- but the construction was new and the decoration cheerful. Windows along the length of one wall were welcome, as was the substantial desk. The bed was comfortable and had no lack of pillows (a choice of soft and hard). Given the reasonable price, inclusive of wifi and a cold breakfast buffet, I felt that the hotel facilities more than met my expectations.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street have an entertaining view of constant tram traffic, yet little noise gets th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob4er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIEXRotterdamCS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to place your comments on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel. With kind regards, Marijn Neelen - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    397
    105
    15
    10
See reviews for
76
299
50
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
92 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

This was my first visit to Rotterdam, and sadly, it was only for an overnight stay from our trip from Paris to Amsterdam. To sum it up, this hotel made me want to come back to Rotterdam!

This is a new hotel (and it shows) that's very modern, chic and trendy (like the city of Rotterdam). It's location is unbeatable. It is walking distance from the train station, the trams basically stop in front of the hotel, and you only have to walk a few minutes to be in a plaza full of restaurants, bars and shops that it's so lively, you could make that place your only stop.

The hotel room was spotless, very spacious (considering European hotels standards), the bathroom was extremely ample, the a/c worked to perfection and we had free WiFi. It also offers a free complementary breakfast that was basic but complete (and again, free!)

I have absolutely no complains about the hotel and would recommend it with my eyes closed to anyone going to Rotterdam. This is the place to stay. Period.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alberto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIEXRotterdamCS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to express your feelings regarding our hotel and your stay with us. Good to hear you were pleasantly surprised!

Warm regards,
Ms. Marijn Neelen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wevelgem, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stayed here 1 night. Very nice room and bathroom (however lay-out of the bathroom good have been better). The bed is rather small (140cm), but comfy.
Large parking available, which was also a plus. Breakfast was basic but ok.
Would recommend for a short stay or business trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIEXRotterdamCS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

I look forward to welcome you back to our hotel in a not too distant future.

With kind regards,

Marijn Neelen - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Very simple. This hotel has everything that is needed. Clean rooms, good bathroom, free internet, good breakfast and central location. Staff is extremely serviceminded and will go the extra mile. Recommendable!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank S_Toft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIEXRotterdamCS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive comments and for recognizing our staff. This is absolutely great to read . Your comments are very appreciated. With kind regards, Marijn Neelen - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Holiday inn express Rotterdam is situated in the heart of town and very close to all attractions tram stops right out the front to take you to any part of town .The staff at the holiday inn are very professional and very helpful would recommend this hotel as its very clean and the breakfast was very good also hotel has free parking and hi speed internet

Room Tip: The hotel is of very good standard and l think all rooms would be very satisfying
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thetraveller8051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIEXRotterdamCS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your kind words, I am delighted to see you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

Warm regards,
Ms. Marijn Neelen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed there for one night only and we recommend it. It's basic, quiet, very clean with a nice breakfast. Perfect for a short stay, or for regular stays: you can be sure it will be clean and handy !
We were overall very satisfied with this hotel, fair value and not too far from nice areas of rotterdam (and centraal station)! May just add though that we found the afternoon staff way more helpful and friendly than the morning staff.

Also, there is a parking :20 euros for 24hours.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bertoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Rotterdam station surrunds don't have a lot of obvious breakfast spots (other than the usual station fare of course). The breakfast at this hotel provides a really good selection which is very handy and you can see why the hotel is popular with families and business people. The rooms were clean, comfortable and quiet. While the hotel is not in the most scenis part of town, you can walk or take transport to wherever you need to go. Note that the hotel is not actually part of the train station, so write down some walking directions as it is not immediately apparent where the hotel is located if you just wander out of the station.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Iristraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIEXRotterdamCS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for sharing your experience. It is a pleasure to read you enjoyed the time spent in the Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station. We are happy to see you appreciate the concept and the free continental breakfast we offer all our guests. I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,
Ms. Marijn Neelen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#7 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Cool
Hilton Rotterdam
Hilton Rotterdam
#3 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cool
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
#6 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#4 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
nhow Rotterdam
#8 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station

Property: Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station
Address: Weena 121, 3013 CK Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam – Central Station is perfectly located in the heart of Rotterdam. Whether you are visiting Rotterdam for business or leisure purposes, this hotel is your place to be!The hotel is located next to the central station of Rotterdam in close vicinity of the main shopping area of the city the Koopgoot and on the corner of the Hofplein and Coolsingel. Large companies such as Nationale Nederlanden, ING, Unilever, Houthoff Buruma and the Holland Casino Rotterdam are all on walking distance. The hotel has the perfect location for every purpose.The sound proof, well furbished and spacious rooms offer modern equipment like LCD TVs with 50 international channels, free wireless Internet, coffee/tea facilities and a spacious shower. On top of all these facilities, our guests are served a complimentary Continental breakfast. The hotel offers a modern decorated lobby and bar, where our guests feel at ease and can relax with friends and colleagues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing