We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, apart from the breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station
Ranked #12 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Really nice and clean hotel.
Rather quiet, so your sleep won't get disturbed, but it's still quite centrally located.
Service is quite friendly, so I cannot complain about that.

The entrance however is hard to find, but that's because the hotel is located on the first floor in a building, meaning there's no big door signalling there's a hotel.

Also the breakfast buffet is, to be frank, horrible. Yes, you'll get fed, but that's really it.
Everything is basically just store bought and then put out for the residents to consume.
Heck, even the coffee is horrendous!

Overall though, it's a nice place, but if a good breakfast is important to you look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xixit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (887)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

416 - 422 of 887 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one night and was positively surprised.
The hotel looks new or at least newly renovated and is situated right in the city center.
The room was small but well equipped, including coffee and tea facilities.
The bathroom had a big shower.
Furthermore the complementary breakfast was very nice. I have seen worse buffets at places where you have to pay extra.
Internet was also free and easy to connect.
The employees were all extremely friendly and helpful.
I can totally recommend this place if you look for a place to sleep in rotterdam.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DominikMue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIEXRotterdamCS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your positive comments on Tripadvisor.

We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes me happy to read that you were positively surprised. It is also great to read that you experienced our staff as extremely friendly and helpful.

Again, thank you for your comments, I look forward to personally welcome you back in the hotel.

With kind regards,
Marijn Neelen - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Me and my wife stayed here for 2 nights in August 2013. Travelling by motorcycle so availability of underground car park was useful for peace of mind. If you are in a car, its even more essential as there is limited parking close by. Room and facilities were as you would expect - perfectly functional and clean. No real road noise in the room. Breakfast completely self service and not as much choice or quality as in more expensive hotels (eg, very little fresh fruit on offer, and limited hot items). Location is good for the main bars and restaurants to the south, and also close to the main railway station.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CoriniumTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIEXRotterdamCS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for your wonderful review. It is always nice to read our guests appreciating the location and facilities we offer in the midst of Rotterdam. I hope you continued to have a great trip on your motorcycle and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Ms. Marijn Neelen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We decided to choose this budget hotel to save money - big mistake! While the room looked decent enough, that is clean, cheap and cheerful, when we tried to lower the room temperature we were dismayed to discover that the thermostat wouldn't go below 19C which is too warm for a comfortable night's sleep. The air conditioning provided a cool blast for a while but then cut out, so we phoned to ask the receptionist and she confirmed that 19C was the lowest temperature. We decided to cut our losses and go to the hotel we usually choose but on attempting to check out the manager tried to engage us in a "management-speak" discussion (not wanted, I can assure you) while we just wanted to leave. However, my husband stuck with it and did get a partial refund. But - beware - the 'cooling' listed in their brochure isn't really what you'd expect but just a budget hotel gimmick (to 'condition' the air, as the manager put it!!!).

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear Jen L,

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am very pleased that you liked our breakfast and that you were satisfied with the room accommodation.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you had with our air conditioning system and deeply regret that this has negatively affected your sleep during your stay.

Your experience is definitely not reflective of the high standards we usually pride ourselves with. As such, your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future improvements where possible. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Excellent location for train and cruise. Very small rooms like on the ship, but well laid out except no towel racks seemed strange! Key didn't work three days in a row. A double bed is extremely small by North American standards so book a twin room!
Very nice breakfast! Lots of choice and pain au chocolat!

Room Tip: Book a twin. A double is like a 3/4 bed size!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bennybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The Holiday Inn was THE lodging discovery of our recent trip. We booked an overnight because of a lay-over in our schedule, but we had no expectations beyond something clean and safe. It was conveniently close to the train station; that was all that mattered. We were very pleasantly surprised at the functionality of the design and the quiet friendliness of the staff. The room is not large (even by Dutch standards) but everything works like a fine watch. The beds are somewhat hard -- great for someone with back troubles.I want to move the bathroom into my own apartment! They have free WiFi and even free computers with printing.

Staff were wonderful, allowing us to check in early after disembarking a cruise ship early Saturday morning and helping with printing boarding passes when we left. Breakfasts were Continental, but the quality was good (especially the cheeses) and we went on our way pleasantly full. Despite nearly continuous tram traffic, noise was never a problem. One great plus is that it is a short cab ride to the cruise terminal -- or you could could even take the tram if you're traveling light. No, this is not the Grand Hotel, but we would recommend this without the slightest reservation to anyone traveling through Rotterdam. Superb value for money!!

Room Tip: If you're into tram-watching, ask for a room overlooking Weena and the fountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Torontobert68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIEXRotterdamCS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Dear Guest, Great to read that you had a wonderful stay in our hotel. Your comments makes my day! I am looking forward to welcome you back in the near future. With kind regards, Marijn Neelen - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This hotel's combination of location and economy struck me as achieving a good balance.

Turning left out of the central train station, it's an easy 5-minute walk away. Seemingly half the city's trams pass through the station out front. I had a conference at the convention center, which is a 10-minute walk on mainly pedestrian streets.

The room was not especially large, but with one queen bed, did not feel at all cramped. Amenities were limited -- soap dispensers, instant coffee, no real closets or drawers (though some shelves), small TV -- but the construction was new and the decoration cheerful. Windows along the length of one wall were welcome, as was the substantial desk. The bed was comfortable and had no lack of pillows (a choice of soft and hard). Given the reasonable price, inclusive of wifi and a cold breakfast buffet, I felt that the hotel facilities more than met my expectations.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street have an entertaining view of constant tram traffic, yet little noise gets th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob4er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIEXRotterdamCS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to place your comments on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel. With kind regards, Marijn Neelen - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Cool
Hilton Rotterdam
Hilton Rotterdam
#3 of 53 in Rotterdam
1,367 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#8 of 53 in Rotterdam
807 reviews
Cool
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
#7 of 53 in Rotterdam
1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 53 in Rotterdam
1,414 reviews
nhow Rotterdam
#6 of 53 in Rotterdam
1,616 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#4 of 53 in Rotterdam
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station

Address: Weena 121, 3013 CK Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range: £74 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam – Central Station is perfectly located in the heart of Rotterdam. Whether you are visiting Rotterdam for business or leisure purposes, this hotel is your place to be!The hotel is located next to the central station of Rotterdam in close vicinity of the main shopping area of the city the Koopgoot and on the corner of the Hofplein and Coolsingel. Large companies such as Nationale Nederlanden, ING, Unilever, Houthoff Buruma and the Holland Casino Rotterdam are all on walking distance. The hotel has the perfect location for every purpose.The sound proof, well furbished and spacious rooms offer modern equipment like LCD TVs with 50 international channels, free wireless Internet, coffee/tea facilities and a spacious shower. On top of all these facilities, our guests are served a complimentary Continental breakfast. The hotel offers a modern decorated lobby and bar, where our guests feel at ease and can relax with friends and colleagues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing