We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for a city trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The hotel has an excellent location, close to the railway station, close to the pedestrian shopping area (Lijnbaan) and at a walking distance to the Erasmus bridge (20 min) or Bojimans art gallery (30 min). The area is full of tall new buildings, but is clean and quiet. It is a little odd the fact that the reception is located on the first floor, and the rooms are above, and the entrance is really ugly. Also the lobby at each floor is ugly, cold, with no design. Instead the room was big, clean and quiet. The free wi-fi functionned perfectly.
The reception staff is friendly and helpful, eager to give you information or help with the parking. By the way the parking fee is very high 20 euro/day, but I search and it could be even higher :(( In general, parking in Holland is very expensive, it seems they encourage the public transportation.
The breakfast was so and so. It's what I call an "improved continental breakfast" meaning that apart from regular coffee, milk,croissants, jam and butter, they added 2 sorts of cheese (gouda), ham, boiled eggs, some vegetables (cucumbers and tomatoes), cereals and yogurt (for the yougurt I have to praise them because I cannot easily find plain yogurt in the hotels; I do not understand why they are keep on proposing fruit yougurts, not everybody likes them).
The coffee from the machine was awful (ok, there might be people liking Dowve Egberts trademark, but for me it was undrinkable). Overall it was a good breakfast and the girls there were filling in the trays constantly.

Room Tip: I think the rooms in the back are more quiet, although the view is nothing.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanaLuxembourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (872)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

355 - 361 of 872 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Nice place to stay for quick visits. Breakfast is good but very busy area. Lots of business people stay there. Not really child/ family friendly. Good for single adults or couples. Very clean hotel and comfortable rooms. Friendly receptionists. Difficult to find the hotel when walking from central station. The hotel is situated on the first floor. We had to ask so many people. Central station so close. About 8 to 10 minute walk. Vapiano a great Italian restaurant to eat is nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NadaDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

for plus:
very good location, kind and helpful Staff, small football table as the amusing corner

for minus:
small rooms, small bed, no wardrobe, very poor breakfast without any warm meals, problem with water - we could use the water till 10 a.m. - we got apologies but not even small discount for that big discomfort:(
the hotel is good if you are on the business trip, just for one night.
if you go for little bit longer and with a family - its a disaster

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob188636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Rob188636,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay. We’re glad to know that our location suited your travel needs, and I thank you for your kind words about our courteous staff.

I'm sorry you were not 100% satisfied with your room conditions and the breakfast items. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

Again, thank you for posting a review. We look forward to serving you again when you return to Rotterdam.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam is a pleasant, clean and efficient hotel. Friendly and quick check-in. The hotel is so clean it even appears sterile. Location is good for public transport (bus and tram). It's a bit off the mark to call it after the Central Station which is a 15-minute walk away. It's not sign-posted well so you might easily walk by the hotel; reception is up a staircase or lift on the first floor.
Rooms are light and business-like. The double bed is on the small side. There's a good kitchenette with microwave and a (unstocked) fridge. Good, spic-and-span bathroom (with shower). TV etc. all okay, and the price includes WiFi as well as a continental breakfast.
Not many restaurants in the direct vicinity but the centre of town is only about 10 minutes away on foot: lots of restaurants and eateries there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stoic1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This was an excellant hotel to stay at. It is very close to everything and the reception desk is very helpful. Normal european breakfast is included in the room price.
Trams are at the door. I found that i could walk to everything that i wanted to see.
The centre of town is 10 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnno15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We spent 3 nights recently.....new, functional, clean and comfortable hotel room. Easy walk to train station. Tram stop just outside. Helpful and friendly staff - thanks for your assist with appointment for my husband to see eye doctor as he developed an infection! I also had the pleasure of visiting with the hotel manager in afternoon while I was using computer in lobby. Good breakfast selections in the a.m. Staff also helped us with restaurant suggestions and reservations for dinner. All in all it was a fun stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lover-of-Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIEXRotterdamCS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely words! I will share your compliments with the team.
It was such a pleasure meeting you and spending time talking while you stayed with us. Hope your husband felt better during the remainder of your trip.

Hope you enjoyed Amsterdam as well!

Warm regards,
Ms. Marijn Neelen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The hotel is clean and functional. Nothing fancy but perfect for a city trip. The perfect location and very friendly staff make up for the bed that was quite hard.
Bike rental is a very big plus, the (push) bikes are well maintained.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Cool
Hilton Rotterdam
Hilton Rotterdam
#3 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,342 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#8 of 52 in Rotterdam
786 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cool
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
#7 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,443 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#4 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,225 reviews
Novotel Rotterdam Brainpark
#11 of 52 in Rotterdam
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station

Address: Weena 121, 3013 CK Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range: £75 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam – Central Station is perfectly located in the heart of Rotterdam. Whether you are visiting Rotterdam for business or leisure purposes, this hotel is your place to be!The hotel is located next to the central station of Rotterdam in close vicinity of the main shopping area of the city the Koopgoot and on the corner of the Hofplein and Coolsingel. Large companies such as Nationale Nederlanden, ING, Unilever, Houthoff Buruma and the Holland Casino Rotterdam are all on walking distance. The hotel has the perfect location for every purpose.The sound proof, well furbished and spacious rooms offer modern equipment like LCD TVs with 50 international channels, free wireless Internet, coffee/tea facilities and a spacious shower. On top of all these facilities, our guests are served a complimentary Continental breakfast. The hotel offers a modern decorated lobby and bar, where our guests feel at ease and can relax with friends and colleagues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing